We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad, friendly staff, great location!”
Review of Dar Jameel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dar Jameel
Ranked #4 of 46 Tangier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful riad, friendly staff, great location!”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed here one night on a side trip from Spain. Being our first time to Morocco, we wanted to get the whole experience, so booked a suite at this traditional Moroccan guest house. We stayed in the Bergach suite, ground floor. It is the most traditional room. Lovely decor, big bed, nice bathroom. All of the staff is very friendly, and Layton provided us with a map, and directions, things to do/see, etc. Having the English speaking staff is a nice comfort in the zoo that is Tangier! Breakfast was wonderful, rooftop terrace, offers amazing views!

We loved staying here, would recommend staying here, and would definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kalephrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    98
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
70
159
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This is a great place to stay. We took a taxi from the ferry dock as we had luggage but it easy to walk there if you would rather- it is well signposted. From the second we walked in the front door we were amazed at the decor. The check in staff were very friendly and helpful throughout and greeted us with some lovely mint tea. I had booked this place to try and experience some authentic Morocco and it did not let us down. The decor is amazing throughout and the rooms were great too. Our Sheherazade suite was amazing- nice furniture and bathroom. The view from the roof is great- the harbour one way and the Medina the other and the sunrise from here was stunning. Breakfast was superb with great service from the staff and nice Moroccan food. Would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picknage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The Dar Jameel was quite a nice surprise! The hotel itself was beautiful with very high ceilings in the entry way. We walked straight from the port to the hotel and it was very close. The host was very nice and recommended a nice restaurant where we had dinner (it was obvious that the restaurant was for tourists, but that's what we are anyway! They had live music and very good food). The room was beautiful, very clean and comfortable. We had a private bathroom, but we had to leave our room to access it which wasn't a problem for us, but perhaps someone else might not be as thrilled. Breakfast was amazing, not very typical Moroccan, but none the less delicious and hearty. Breakfast is served upstairs with a nice view of the entire port. All the staff were very friendly.

THE ONLY THING TO KEEP IN MIND: We were given a room with a window overlooking some yards of other residents, one of which had a rooster! I think the rooster was sick because it had some weird crow and for the first hour we thought it was someone's alarm on their phone. Finally, we figured out that it was an actual rooster downstairs which crowed at least every hour from 3:00am on. (This is why we give a 3 for "Sleep Quality" - the bed was amazing, but this rooster did not want us to sleep) So keep this in mind when booking your room and request a room with a window that DOES NOT overlook the back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

When your new in any medina everything can be hard to find. Even Google Maps sometimes has trouble, though not in Tangier. The taxi drivers are able to find this place easily though.
When we arrived we were quite anxious because it was dark and the entrance was located in what looked like a back alley. When we entered, however, we walked into a beautifully ornamented Riad with nice and clean rooms, hot running water and helpful and kind staff.
The breakfast deserves special mentioning since it was excellent. Tasty and it varied by day.
I would definitely recommend this Riad to anyone going to Tangier.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaysan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namur, Belgium
Level Contributor
394 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This place is fabulous, as it is a little Tangerine jewel of a house converted carefully into a modern hotel. The tasteful traditional deco and high stucco ceilings are a delight.
The legendary breakfasts on the topfloor with panorama of Tangiers bay are not overrrated in the reviews. The breakfast itself is worth a lot of praise.
The staff is courteous and helpful. A document printing and faxing abroad was done for me with no extra cost.
Wifi is working well and is free.
Some claustrophobic people may suffer from few windows to the outside, but this is the Medina!
Finally the price of 55 EURO/single is extremely good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barreiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Dar Jameel it's the perfect place to spend some days in Tangier. It's perfectly located (2 min walking from Petit Socco) and in a quite area despite being in the heart of the Medina.

But this wouldn't be perfect without Dar Jameel great staff! Leyton, Idriss, Mustafa, and the rest of the persons (wich I don't know the name), treated me very well and I felt like home since first minute. The breakfast is great and the terrace is perfect spot to chill out a bit.

Hope to return some day to Dar Jameel!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miguelgrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This was the first time I had visited Morocco and was very nervous since I'm female and I was traveling alone. The staff at the riad made me feel extremely comfortable. I was impressed by their knowledge and was delighted by their hospitality. The architecture was absolutely beautiful, the breakfast was delicious, I felt incredibly safe and it was an overall great experience. In addition, they put me in contact with other females that were traveling and I made some life-long friends. Their mint tea is also fantastic. I couldn't have asked for more. It was a little more expensive than other riads I was looking at, but I'm glad I paid a little extra because I couldn't have asked for more. I want to send a warm thank you to the entire staff at Dar Jameel. :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangier hotels
7.5 km away
Mnar Castle Hotel Apartments
0.0 km away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#8 of 43 in Tangier
572 reviews
0.6 km away
El Minzah Hotel
El Minzah Hotel
#7 of 43 in Tangier
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Grand Mogador Sea View - Luxury Hotel
0.2 km away
Dar Chams Tanja
Dar Chams Tanja
#1 of 46 in Tangier
346 reviews
0.2 km away
Dar Yasmine
Dar Yasmine
#6 of 46 in Tangier
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Jameel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Jameel

Property: Dar Jameel
Address: No.6, Rue Mohammed Berghach | Oued Arhadan, Dar Baroud, Tanger, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dar Jameel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Jameel, the House of Grace and Beauty, your sanctuary in the medina of Tangier, is a beautifully restored, traditional riad style guest house on the edge of the medina next to Tanger Ville maritime port.. An oasis of peace and tranquillity, Dar Jameel is a secure, intimate and calm space amid the bustling life of the medina and is ideally located near the International Port, the town beach and the new town. Wi-fi is available throughout the house. The house is built on five levels with eight large bedrooms, six with with bathrooms inside the rooms and two with external private bathrooms near the rooms. By January 2017, all rooms will be en-suite. The house is richly decorated in traditional Fes style,with magnificent stucco ceilings combined with a more modern Moroccan look. There is a large terrace, where a relaxation room with 360 degree views to Spain, the Bay of Tangier and the medina, is located. There are a number of steps inside the house, therefore, travellers with mobility issues are advised to reserve rooms on lower floors. There are many communal areas to rest, read or simply enjoy the view located throughout the house. There is a small library and a collection of music CD's or a bluetooth soundsystem to play your personal preferences. A generous breakfast is included in the price of rooms. Local, organic food is used whenever possible.Multi-lingual staff are available 24/7 to answer your needs. Dinner for groups of six or more can be provided when ordered in advance. A personal laundry service is also available at a small charge per item. Dar Jameel recommends that you use only trusted registered guides and taxi services. A list of these and other tourist information is available from the reception area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar Jameel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Jameel Hotel Tangier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing