We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The poor old lady of Avenue Mohammed VI.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlas Rif Front Beach Tanger
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Tangier
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The poor old lady of Avenue Mohammed VI.”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Having stayed at the Rif in the 80's and 90's, it was interesting to see the old girl again. As always the staff were helpful and the overall cleanliness was good. But the decline in tourist trade of Tangiers in general, together with a greater choice of hotels, has affected the Rif. It is now a hotel catering for the domestic market - nothing wrong in that indeed we
found the mainly Moroccan clientel very polite and quiet - unlike some drunk northern european tourists we have experienced on other holidays.

However we do think that the four star rating is out of date. The dining room was one example where standards have slipped. In the two weeks we were there the polished wooden floor was not buffed once. Table recovery was ad hoc with items of cutlery missing. We witnessed used cloth napkins being refolded and presented at new place settings and have seen them being used to dry crockery and cutlery - NOT A GOOD PRACTICE.

The main reason of returning to the Rif was the new title of "Spa". Be warned everything on the 6th flooor comes at an extra charge, even to the hotel guests, NOT ON!! and the whole operation had a dubious feel about it - heaven knows what a full massage entails.

We will not be staying again and just feel sorry that a hotel that once had such a reputation (Churchill staying there etc) is on its way down. Shame on you Atlas Hotels!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    68
    89
    35
    30
See reviews for
43
91
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

I cant believe some of the reviews posted here. The Hotel is FIRST CLASS. perhaps it has been refurbished/changed hands? The whole place is beautifully decorated, in tasteful colours. The staff are fantastic and the service is great. My room, 3rd floor rear, with a view to the pool, is excellent. Yes - the hotel is a bit noisy tonight - but the Morocco National Film Festival is based here. Lively is a better description. Altogether fabulous and on the list of my top ten hotels. -oh and free WiFi - in the bar - but it works in my room.

And if you read some of my other reviews - I dont give praise easily!!! and I travel for 6 months of the year.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derrickbAucklandNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2011

The best thing about this establishment is its location, close tpo the sea (and sea views!) and a whole load of shops and bars nearby. Although the place is a tiny bit dated I think this place still represents the best value for money and also the safest location in Tangier. I did have a couple of issues but the management sorted them out quickly and efficiently. The price we paid through luxury-riads.com was also much cheaper than the walk in rate and also cheaper than the price other people we spoke to paid. I usually go to Agadir but French retirement villages’ are not really my scene anymore! Would recommend this hotel if asked if only for the location and the service. All in all very happy and very convenient to get here from the South of Spain.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmyp83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

I stayed at this hotel at the start of a foray into Morocco. Arriving in the pouring rain I was greeted at the front desk by staff whose english was not great but still managed to check me in quickly with no hassles.

The room itself was clean and comfortable with a great view of the beach and plenty of room. That night I dined in the hotel restaurant where the staff were very friendly and put up with my poor attempts at trying to order in French (and for this I was extremely grateful). The food was very good, as was the selection offered at breakfast the next day. The surroundings are very dated (the hotel has a very 70's style) but in a way this is quite charming. Definitely do not expect modern, despite the spa.

My only gripe with this hotel was the inability to change my euros to dirhams. Despite having an exchange desk in the lobby it was closed the whole time I was there, leaving me stranded without local currency and thus forcing me to use the hotel restaurant. Thankfully there are banks and other hotels nearby which offered this service the following day.

Despite this glitch I would still recommend this hotel for those people making a short stay in Tangier.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwiboyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
409 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

This is the best location you can get ...that apart there is nothing to recommend this hotel .When I checked in there were guests complaining about air conditioning not working ...when I checked out there were other guests complaining the same ...and I was one of them ...The aircondition in this hotel does not work for wifi you have to go down to the lobby ,and when aircondiiton is not working you cannot open windows on sea facing ,premeium paid rooms because the noise of traffic and night owls from opposite night club is too loud for you to go to sleep .Spend your money elsewhere if you bother about it unless you want to party all night

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pilgrim_gsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tangier hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Checked out of a different hotel to check in here. Location is good, and most rooms have views of the sea, and walk across the street to the beach, food, and bars. No women on the beach, but many places to dine on the strip and better then staying extremely down town. All hotels are less than a five minute walk from on another (except Marriott), but the others are all clustered together and feel conjested (previous hotel was very dark 'Tanjah'). Decent pool, nice bar, has room service (but very limited menu-12 items, no vegetarian). Staff seems to sleep walk, but I noticed that with many people at work. No tours from hotel, unless you want a 'private tour' which is a taxi (car was crap). Walk to office of tourism is less than 10 minutes, but we went four times and it wasn't open. Need a taxi for co-ed beaches. Claims wifi, but doesn't work in the room (I was on the fifth floor) so I had to go to the lobby to use it. All in all I would book again for the location and room comfort, because its a few blocks from the hustle and bustle which gets overwhelming. But if you want that, it's less than a five minute walk (uphill). One noticable thing about this Hotel; there where other Europeans staying--the other hotels I stayed in had none; which means using the pool for females wasn't uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmb812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel-Aviv
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2010

with a group of 30 travelers, we all liked the hotel.
Lovely design of the public area, friendly stuff and good location.
Chanan

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chanan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangier hotels
0.4 km away
Atlas les Almohades Tanger
0.6 km away
Kenzi Solazur
Kenzi Solazur
#10 of 43 in Tangier
463 reviews
0.5 km away
El Oumnia Puerto
El Oumnia Puerto
#27 of 43 in Tangier
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Rembrandt Hotel
Rembrandt Hotel
#18 of 43 in Tangier
361 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#8 of 43 in Tangier
574 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#39 of 43 in Tangier
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas Rif Front Beach Tanger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Rif Front Beach Tanger

Property: Atlas Rif Front Beach Tanger
Address: Avenue Mohammed VI, Tangier 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tangier
#10 Luxury Hotel in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlas Rif Front Beach Tanger 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Atlas Rif Front Beach Tanger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rif & Spa Tanger Hotel Tangier
Rif And Spa Tanger
Rif Hotel Tangier
Rif Hotel Tanger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing