We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
81
186
175
60
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
186
175
60
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant executive floor first floor business center short stay airport transfer christopher dar africa gym zanzibar traffic indian ferry
Filter
Updating list...
319 - 324 of 533 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

In the heart of a buzzing city centre, lies this hotel and though it is pleasant enough, it's definitely not one to go to for leisure. The whole set up of the hotel is for a business venue. The rooms were nice enough but, glad I only spent one night here. However, the rooftop bar with shisha is a nice touch.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahI487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your positive comments, the Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam is very well located for business in the city. Our central location places business travellers within easy reach of all significant Embassies, NGO's, Banks and Corporate Head Quarters.

Our Al Dar rooftop venue is the home of Sheesha in the city, and togeather with the live big screen sports, live music nights and fantastic food, the Al Dar is the premier rooftop venue in the city.

We accept we are not a Leisure destination, however we are ideally located for a one night stopover with the Zanzibar Ferry service on our doorstep. Next time you are in Dar es Salaam, please enquire at our Reception Desk, we can recommend a host of available leisure activites for guests on a short stay.

Best regards
Paul Ferguson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2013

the ladies at reception are quite insensitive, wasted over 6 hours trying to get help for my internet data cable which was not working.
Have an early lunch seminars held here mean food runs out!
Finally the IT manage fixed the same in 5 minutes! Great work SIr.

Room tip: get the executive wing if you can
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seme l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Seme,

Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Dar es Salaam, we appreciate you taking the time to post your comments on the hotel.

We are delighted our IT Manager was able to solve your problems so speedily, and we apologise that our Reception Team were unable to complete the same.

Best regards
Paul Ferguson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Sadly this hotel does not resonate with what one should expect of the brand Holiday Inn. Check in took almost two hours. The reception is crowded and stifling.

Rooms are OK - not very good but habitable. Staff fairly ok. Nice bar at the roof top (but the washrooms were under renovation while there which meant taking the lift down to the room).

Location is central enough for business.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djinn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Djinn3

We sincere apologise that your room was not ready for you on arrival, please rest assured that we have addressed this issue and on your next visit you will notice a difference within our front office team.

We glad you enjoyed the visit to the Al Dar rooftop, the new restrooms and the Panoramic Conference suites should be finished within the next few weeks. The new Panoramic Conference rooms will be able to accommodate upto 120 people in each room, with unique views of the Dar es Salaam city centre.

Please let me know when you are next visiting the city, and we will provide you with a complimentary upgrade to one of our terrific Executive Floor rooms as a gesture of apology for the delay experienced on this visit.

Best regards
Paul Ferguson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 13, 2013

will give it a 1.7

check-in was OK but rooms and common areas just look filthy

the bathrooms were a disaster, incredibly poor workmanship, they looked like hell

just expect much better from an international chain

Room tip: go to a different hotel
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Sam S,

Thank you for your review of our hotel, please rest assured that we are working to resolve the issues you highlighted. We are currently in the process of refurbishing our bathrooms, and trust that on your next visit to Dar es Salaam you will visit our hotel again. Please contact me directly, when you are next coming to Dar es Salaam, and I will ensure you stay is to your satisfaction.

Best regards
Paul Ferguson
General Manager
gm@holidayinn.co.tz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here one night in January, and another in February this year. The first visit was ok, though the check in was very slow. On the second visit there was no hot water, and just before we checked out the water went off completely. I also had a bad experience with the food; I suspect the tuna was somehow contaminated, as I had a severe allergic reaction to it. I did not get chance to complain at the time, as we had to leave very early.

Date of stay: February 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank chapyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eclipse22, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear ChappyBritsol

Thank you for your review of our hotel, unfortunately we had a boiler failure during your visit last week. The problem was resolved within six hours of the fault first occuring, and we now have a fail safe system in place to prevent this type of issue reoccuring.

Our sincere apologies for your expereince with the Tuna Steak, had this been brought to our attention when it occured we could have sent a sample for further analysis. Our fresh fish supplier delivers on a daily basis, and we have verified that the Tuna was delivered on the actual day you consumed it. Of late we have been receiving exteremly positive reviews for our food, and please rest assured that you report incident was the first time anything like this has been brought to our attention.

I trust that you enjoyed your Tanzanian adventures, and on your next visit to Dar es Salaam I would like to invite you to be our guest for a meal at the hotel again.

Best regards
Paul Ferguson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews