We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
148
148
52
24
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
148
52
24
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indian ocean mbudya island beautiful resort conference venue ample space clean beach seafood ocean view mosquito net sandals whitesands dar tanzania meeting tide gm traffic
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 405 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

Stayed with a family of 4 in the 2 bed apartment. Room was really great, good size, well furnished and great sea view. Pools were also good and kept sparkling. Beaches were a let down, management are not taking seriously the numerous travellers pointing this out, if cleaning twice a day is not effective then post permanent cleaners - don't blame the tides. We went across to the water park which was very run down and shouldn't be open to the public. As a family this was a drawcard so borders on false advertising. Whilst overall the food was really great by Dar standards we ended up with food poisoning on the last night. The staff handled it well but really it shouldn't have happened in the first place.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Ashton76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard T, General Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2018

Thank you for the valuable feedback. The beach is always an ongoing battle. We have seen an big improvement in the beach, but while your visit, experienced bad weather which from the ocean side affects the beach area. We will try our utmost to keep it clean at all times, and I do think we succeed in this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2018 via mobile

White sands is my absolute favorite , from staff to hotel itself ..wonderful people & real authentic ! Great food, relaxing atmosphere, No complaints only an Unforgettable unique experience , always a pleasure

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank aliaaaa6132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard T, General Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2018

Thank you for the Amazing Feedback. It was an pleasure having you and you Mom with us, and hope we could welcome you back here with us soon. Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2018 via mobile

Great venue. So many different options for dinners and functions. Very willing staff. A few stand out - Mr Kumaran, Vinay, Anil, Bernard (GM), Raja, Diana - conference co-ordinator. Not as technically jacked as what Joburg venue wld be but never hesitated to try.

Food was awesome. Weather didnt quite play along

Successful event done

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank BerniceH157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard T, General Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2018

Thank you for the amazing comments and the awesome conference. You guys definitely made use of all rooms. It was an pleasure hosting your Team, and we are looking forward in welcoming you back here with us soon.

Keep well, and see you soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2018 via mobile

We had a conference at this hotel and they were quite accommodating to all of us. They have some good facilities which we made use of. Their gym facilities are decent and the staff are quite friendly and helpful.

There's also swimming towels available and a pool at the hotel. I didn't swim at the hotel but we did go on an island trip to a nearby island which left from the hotel. That was an awesome day out which we really enjoyed. If you're not a vegetarian you can get fresh lobsters on that island and you get to take quite an interesting boat ride out. It's quite a fun day out :)

The venue is quote a distance from the airport and the main city centre especially with Dar es Salaam traffic so keep this in mind when deciding on your venue.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank GlobalSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard T, General Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Thank you for the great feedback. I hope our iced cold distilled Sayona waters made the trip more comfortable from the airport. It was an absolute pleasure hosting your team for the conference, and glad you had an fantastic experience. It is also good to hear that you visited Mbudya Island, and used our boating facilities to get there. Also know that if you would like, next time we could pack you an picnic basket to take with to the Island. I will pass your compliments through to the staff. I am sure we would see you back here soon with us.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2018 via mobile

omg i love this beach its so peaceful,u can hear the waves a perfect place for meditating and exercising, their Pier is so romantic and also has ample space for u n your family to enjoy,u can enjoy volley ball too their service is amazing,they also have 2 pools and their rooms are so comfortable,also has beautifull scenarios perfect for photo shoots.recommend every1 to go. oww and view a beautifull sunset on the beach its the best part of the day and the most beautiful scenario a not to miss. cant wait to go there again.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Inspiration742251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard T, General Manager at Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Thank you for this amazing feedback and comments of our lovely property. I am glad that you enjoyed the entire property, and took the time to explore due to the property being so big and spacious. It is always great to hear of the guest having the time of their lives here with us, and enjoying the simple things in life like the beautiful sunsets on offer on our private beach. We hope to see you back here with us soon, for more relaxation and meditation.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews