We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (806)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveller rating
456
262
56
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
262
56
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews asian restaurant palm restaurant level bar infinity pool great rooftop bar the executive lounge excellent hotel fitness center breakfast buffet is top floor main restaurant an oasis clean hotel nice pool business trip rooms are spacious sea view
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 806 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2018

We visited the Hyatt between our flight from Zanzibar and our terribly timed Turkish airlines flight at 3:30am. Upon our arrival, the front desk expediently checked us in and showed us to our room. The room had a nice view of the city and was an acceptable size. The linens in the room were nice (up to Hyatt standards) and the bathroom had a nice soaking tub. My only irritation was that the shower seemed to run out of hot water. Perhaps, is common in Africa but I've never had this happen at any other Hyatt I've been to.

We visited the rooftop bar to have a drink, and could not have had a more pleasant experience. The staff were friendly and efficient, promptly taking our order and being very responsive to additional requests. The view of the city and harbor were also nice on a cool afternoon. After the joys of traveling from Zanzibar and Dar traffic, it was a nice treat.

We also ate in the hotels Asian restaurant (which given the location) was surprising good. We both got some sort of fried rice dish and dumpling, and both were enjoyable.

At 1:30am, as requested, our car was ready and took us to the airport. All and all it was a great experience, and we'd gladly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maxwell706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency D... T, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Dear maxwell706,
It was indeed a pleasure having you stay as a valued guest at Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro.
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful review, we truly appreciate your business and your trust in us. I am happy to hear that you had a great experience with us, truly appreciated. I will certainly pass on your feedback to the team.
Thank you again for sharing your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,
Garry Friend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

Another excellent stay with my family over three days at this wonderfull hotel..always perfect in every detail, we always feel so special here, the food is of excellent in all their restaurants, the breakfast buffet is huge and has a lot of choices.
The rooms we stayed in had been refurbished, so everything is new again though it never did get old
Thankyou all so very much.
See you soon

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank himidmansoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency D... T, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Dear himidmansoor,
Thank you for your kind review and for staying with us again. We appreciate your loyalty and your continued trust in our hotel and our staff. Rest assured that we will do everything it takes to make us deserving of your loyalty. We hope to see you again soon.

With kind regards,
Garry Friend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018

The hotel is very nice and the staff could not have been more friendly and efficient. The room was extremely comfortable and well appointed. We had a wonderful meal at the Asian restaurant called the Oriental.We went to the casino across the hall from the restaurant and it had an unusual way of operating.
We asked to have a private city tour booked for us and they responded immediately and arranged for a great driver. When we asked if they could arrange a trip back to the airport , they had it booked and asked if we wanted the $40.00 or $65.00 ride. Based on our luggage, it was suggested we pay $40.00.
When we checked out we inquired why we were offered a $40.00 ride to the airport now but were told our only choice was $65.00 when we booked the ride to the Hyatt over the phone while in Zanzibar. The response was that the person making the reservation should have given us a choice but failed to do so . Therefore we had to pay the additional $25.00. They admitted an error but took no responsibility. By the way, the people we spoke with were a receptionist and the reception manager. The Hyatt could have reduced the charge due to the incompetence of an employee but decided that we should eat the $25.00. That left a bad taste in our mouths.

Room Tip: Our suite was fine with a view of the river.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency D... T, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Dear Martin A,
Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I am happy to note that part of your stay was positive, particularly the hotel, staff, meal at the Oriental restaurant and guest rooms. However, I am sorry to hear that the price for the ride to the hotel didn’t meet your expectations. Needless to say the matter has been taken up with the concerned department and his team and I can assure you that corrective action has been initiated. We do apologise if this has negatively impacted your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
With kind regards,
Garry Friend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018

My wife and I decided to celebrate our wedding anniversary at the Oriental restaurant of Hyatt Kilimanjaro. As usual, neither the service or the food could be faulted. The hostess who took our reservation was pleasant and kept a romantic table in the corner for us, the service was attentive and the food excellent. The only negative I need to mention is the A/C, the room was just to cold and we had to request few time to have the temperature better adjusted.
The next day, we invited the entire family for the brunch, another great choice. The spread of food very good, the sparkling kept flowing, the music was very nice and kept us dancing until way passed the closing time of the brunch. The there good part is the children play area. it kept our children well entertained all afternoon.
No regrets in choosing Hyatt Kilimanjaro for our 2 days of celebration, we shall be back for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank YvonnickJ-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency D... T, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Dear YvonnickJ-D,
Thank you for your positive comments and for choosing our hotel for your 2 days celebration. We are thrilled that we were able to contribute to making your wedding anniversary a special memorable occasion. We certainly look forward to your next visit. These comments have been shared with the food and beverage team who remain committed to ensuring the best possible care is extended to our guests at all times. We also, would like to apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your recent stay in particular the ambient temperature in your room. This has been communicated to the concerned department head who will closely monitor.

Thank you sincerely and regards,
Garry Friend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Nice stay at a good location. Appreciated the gym, pool, and staff. Staff went out of the way and were very accommodating. Felt safe and enjoyed rooftop view at sunset visiting with colleagues.

Thanks for a nice stay

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank bende002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt Regency D... T, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Dear bende002,
Thank you for your kind review and for choosing our hotel.
I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel location, facilities and staff. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. I am glad we could meet your needs and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,
Garry Friend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews