We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
388
17
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
388
17
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mara river chef john northern serengeti game drives other guests wildebeest migration bucket shower hot water within sight wish list black rhino long table sitting area our honeymoon once in a lifetime spent nights wonderful experience
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 414 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2017

We loved everything at Olakira! Wonderful place to stay with the friendliest staff at the camp, very skilled and experienced guides on the game drives. Lunch and dinners are amazing and prepared with love. We had a wonderful time at Olakira!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank yvonnemarending
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Hello,

Thank you so much your amazing review - we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for your kind comments about our staff and guides, we are so happy that you enjoyed all the meals at camp. We loved hosting you and hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2017

The second of three Asilia camps we stayed in during our recent family safari, Olakira, was perfectly located for the migration and it's remoteness from other camps. Being a semi-permanent camp, it had a true bush feeling, while at the same time being very comfortable, charming, and intimate. The manager, Michael, did everything to make us feel welcome, as this the staff who were amazing with our
grandchildren. Our Asilia guide, Elissa, who accompanied us from Oliver's in Tarangire, is a star! Together with Mussa, the two of them were amazing, both in their knowledge, their calm and patient demeanor, their bonding with our grandchildren, and Elissa's own joy in observing the many wonderful wildlife sightings, added to our joy. We witnessed three migration crossings, two from the ground, one during our balloon ride - what a thrill! As at Oliver's, also an Asilia camp, Olakira arranged a special surprise for us on our last day - a celebratory sundowner with cake and champagne and singing and dancing by the camp staff, who had set up everything in advance and stayed hidden in the bush until the 'big moment'. And this, in a beautiful spot next to the river filled with hippos, bit and small. Who can beat that?! This was another Asilia 'find; all aspects of which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hurdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review - we are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for your kind comments about our staff and guides, we are so happy that you were able to see so many spectacular river crossings. We are so ecstatic that you enjoyed the celebratory sundowner! We absolutely loved having you and hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2017

Our family had the BEST stay at Olakira Camp! The staff there went above and beyond to accommodate us. The food was delicious and the service was always given with a smile.
My husband has Celiac Disease, which can sometimes be difficult to accommodate, but the chefs were on top of it and made a variety of baked goods for him.
One afternoon, a very cute visitor, with a very long tail, snuck into the bar area and tried to take some cookies from the jar! Besides monkeys, we saw elephants, a rhino and a giraffe, without even leaving our camp!
One day, just before my safari outing, my purse strap broke. No problem is too big for Michael, He had my purse sent out to be mended and back to me in perfect condition by the end of the day! Wow, thanks again Michael, Abuu,Emmanuel, and the rest of your smiling team!

Stayed: June 2017
Thank ococozza2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Hello,

Thank you so much your lovely review - we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for your kind comments about our team, we are so happy that we were able to make your trip memorable. We are so ecstatic that you were able to see so much wildlife right from camp. We loved having you and hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2017

The camp exceeded our expectations. As experienced safari travelers we can assure this is a high standard camp. It keeps the simplicity of authentic mobile camp with the perfect dose of luxury and comfort anyone needs, and it blends perfectly with the nature around. The staff is adorable and very committed to achieve guests' maximum grade of satisfaction. Our sharp-eyed guide has delivered many spectacular wildlife sightings, and acted very professional conduct throughout all gamedrives during our 4-nights-stay, specially the wildbeest migration crossings of Mara River.- the most impressive crossing we have ever seen in many years of photographic safaris. The camp is suitably located amongst the main crossing points of Mara River intensively used by the massive herds of wildbeests and zebras that flow from Serengeti towards Maasai Mara, so the perfect spot to be based in North Serengeti between June and August. Never tired of thanking again our guide Nathan, the managers Abu and Michael, John, the chef, and the whole staff that made all that happen.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cassio_G_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Hello Cassio,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review - we are so pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you so much for your lovely comments about our team, we are so ecstatic that you were able to witness a magnificent river crossing during your stay! We really enjoyed having you and hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2017

The most memorable trip of my life. I stayed at 3 Asilia camps in the Serengeti and Ruaha and can't wait to return.
Perfectly appointed camps and amazing guides. The staff and management are quick and eager to accommodate any request.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Hello Valerie,

Thank you so much for your amazing review - we are so ecstatic to hear that we were able to make your safari memorable! Thank you so much for your kind comments about our staff and guides. We loved having you and hope that we can welcome you back soon!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews