We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
388
17
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
388
17
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mara river chef john northern serengeti game drives other guests wildebeest migration bucket shower hot water within sight wish list black rhino long table sitting area our honeymoon once in a lifetime spent nights wonderful experience
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 414 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2017

We stayed in Olakira Camp for 4 nights. Came to celebrate my husbands 70th Birthday. It was great experience. The most memorable were people , who were taking care about us.
We had feeling, that we are staying with family

Room tip: Tent is so comfortable. Has everything , like regular hotel room
Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Raisa1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2017

Hello Raisa,

Thank you so much for your lovely review - we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We are so happy that we had the opportunity to help in celebrating your husbands 70th birthday with you. Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our team. We loved having you and we hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2017

My husband and I recently traveled on our honeymoon to Tanzania with the help of True Africa and Asilia. From the start we were excited about Olakira Camp, but in reality it was our favorite location of the entire trip. From the incredible staff to the facilities we kept wondering if we were living in a movie. Our guide Nathan was exceptional and his knowledge really set the experience apart. If you're thinking of traveling to see the migration look no further, this is your camp.

Room tip: Every tent is a good tent. Exceptional.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elizabethrose21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2017

Hello Elizabeth,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review - we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon! Thank you so much for your sincere comments about our team and guide, Nathan. We are so happy to hear that we were able to make your stay memorable, we absolutely loved hosting you and we hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a safari trip to Tanzania. The staff running the camp were as helpful and friendly as possible. They made every effort to see that we were happy and cared for. The two managers of the site (Michael and Goodluck) ran a really effective team. Our guide (Musa) was incredibly knowledgeable and helpful.
We were at the camp for 3 nights and felt really sad to go. I know that this was an expensive few days but when you see the obvious care in setting up and running a camp in such a remote place it is clear where the money goes. Despite being in the middle of nowhere, the food, drink and accommodation were all excellent.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BobCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Hello Bob,

Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review - we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for your kind comments about our staff and guide, Musa. We are so happy that you enjoyed all the meals at camp, we absolutely loved having you and we hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2017

We loved everything at Olakira! Wonderful place to stay with the friendliest staff at the camp, very skilled and experienced guides on the game drives. Lunch and dinners are amazing and prepared with love. We had a wonderful time at Olakira!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank yvonnemarending
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Hello,

Thank you so much your amazing review - we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for your kind comments about our staff and guides, we are so happy that you enjoyed all the meals at camp. We loved hosting you and hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2017

The second of three Asilia camps we stayed in during our recent family safari, Olakira, was perfectly located for the migration and it's remoteness from other camps. Being a semi-permanent camp, it had a true bush feeling, while at the same time being very comfortable, charming, and intimate. The manager, Michael, did everything to make us feel welcome, as this the staff who were amazing with our
grandchildren. Our Asilia guide, Elissa, who accompanied us from Oliver's in Tarangire, is a star! Together with Mussa, the two of them were amazing, both in their knowledge, their calm and patient demeanor, their bonding with our grandchildren, and Elissa's own joy in observing the many wonderful wildlife sightings, added to our joy. We witnessed three migration crossings, two from the ground, one during our balloon ride - what a thrill! As at Oliver's, also an Asilia camp, Olakira arranged a special surprise for us on our last day - a celebratory sundowner with cake and champagne and singing and dancing by the camp staff, who had set up everything in advance and stayed hidden in the bush until the 'big moment'. And this, in a beautiful spot next to the river filled with hippos, bit and small. Who can beat that?! This was another Asilia 'find; all aspects of which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hurdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review - we are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for your kind comments about our staff and guides, we are so happy that you were able to see so many spectacular river crossings. We are so ecstatic that you enjoyed the celebratory sundowner! We absolutely loved having you and hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews