We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and amazing game drives”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Staff are amazing! So very friendly and willing to do whatever possible for you. We saw so many amazing animals and multiple wildebeest river crossings. Food is pretty good in camp but not all that great in the field. This place tries to be fancy camping but if you compare it to places like Sala's Camp it's not quite there. Of course this isn't a permanent camp so that is the difference. You will get tea & coffee to your tent in the morning, hot water bottles in your bed in the evening. There are robes and slippers and the bed was comfortable. Drinking water is provided in your tent. Group dinners are in the main tent or outside weather permitting and they are a friendly affair where you get to know your fellow campers. Dinners were particularly good. There are no power outlets in your room but you do have solar lighting. They will do laundry for you but not undergarments. WIFI is supposed to be available in the main tent but it's sketchy at best. We had no cell service. Showers are a bucket system so you let them know and they'll prepare hot water for you. The game drives are excellent & guides knowledgeable which was the best part of the experience for us. You will definitely see a lot of animals on drives and hear them around you at night. You need someone to walk you to your tent after dark and from your tent in the early morning. There were hippos at our tent on two of the nights but staff know how to deal with them and keep you safe. Our tent had massive spiders which was an issue for me. Of course camping (especially in africa) you expect to see insects but attempts to rid the corners of the tent of webs & cocoons should be the responsibility of the guys who clean up. I have no fear of bugs but a can of spray left in the tents so we can handle it ourselves is not exactly customer service. Sounds like I'm griping but I'd come here again.

Room Tip: Try and get a tent closer to the main tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vanc0uver_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to submit a review. We are so happy to hear that during your stay with us you were able to see such diverse wildlife and a river crossing! Thank you so much for your kind words about our guides, we are very pleased that you found them to be knowledgeable.

We are very sorry to hear that you weren't entirely satisfied with your stay at Olakira Camp. We have noted all your points and will investigate and make improvements where possible.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2017

Olakira Camp was wonderful. The tents were great. The setting was spectacular. We could see a crossing from the camp -- at which point all the land cruisers went racing over for a closer view. Elephants in camp, hyenas at night, but, of course, totally safe. The staff was great. Very attentive. They cared about us. We stayed there 3 nights and didn't want to leave.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Hi Richard,

We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us at Olakira Camp, and that you had some excellent wildlife experiences. We enjoyed having you with us and would love to welcome you back again in the future.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Loved every minute at Olakira from the location of the Camp with views onto the Mara river, spaciousness and decor of tents to the very friendly and attentative staff. The food is fantastic, ate way too much! I thought 6 days maybe too long but I'm really pleased as we saw 4 crossings with 2 being really exciting. The sheer mass of wildebeest was amazing. Emanuel our guide was great in showing us as much as possible ( which I'm really grateful for) but he really wanted us to see the leopard up in the rocky area. We made the trip up there at least 10 times, missing out on all the action on the plains. I just never tired of the wildebeest and found their behaviour rather comical. Abuu and Michael were most attentative and took really good care of all our additional requests of rebooking flights. Eliah is the star of the party with an excellent sense of humour. Abuu arranged a surprise for our Wedding Anniversary at the river . We stopped for sundowners as usual and out of the Bush suddenly appeared half the camp staff, singing and dancing. Once again Eliah had us in stitches with his dancing abilities. We were presented with a cake and popped a bottle of champagne. More signing and dancing. The most memorable anniversary ever!
Thank you very much for an amazing stay. Highly recommended!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NiciNam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thank you so much for sharing such wonderful feedback. We're so glad that you enjoyed your anniversary surprise and had great wildlife sightings. We'll certainly pass on your comments to Eliah and Emanuel - they'll be thrilled to hear them. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed the camp and the overall experience. We loved getting to know you and would love to welcome you back again in the future.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Absolutely perfect! The staff and camp manager, Micheal, were very attentive and went out of their way to make us feel special. They sang and danced for us and we felt like we were always waited on and appreciated. Our 75 year old Bebe was made to feel like the most special person--she was smiling from ear to ear the whole time. The food was delightful! All the meals were candlelit and some of the staff joined us for dinner every night. Our guide, Nathan, was phenomenal! He went above and beyond for us and was truly the best guide we have ever had. He made sure we saw everything there was to see and made the effort to really get to know us all. He was so friendly and professional, just a class act! He even helped us come up with a new classification of animals--"The Cute 5" --you heard it here first folks. All in all we couldn't have asked for a better Serengeti experience.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thank you so much for sharing such lovely feedback. It's lovely to hear that you all felt at home with us, including Bebe. We're so glad that you had such a great time on your game drives with your guide, Nathan - we'll definitely pass your feedback on to him. It's possible that "The Cute 5" may catch on and become the next best thing in safaris! We loved having you with us and would love to welcome you back again in the future.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

We stayed in Olakira Camp for 4 nights. Came to celebrate my husbands 70th Birthday. It was great experience. The most memorable were people , who were taking care about us.
We had feeling, that we are staying with family

Room Tip: Tent is so comfortable. Has everything , like regular hotel room
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Raisa1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Hello Raisa,

Thank you so much for your lovely review - we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We are so happy that we had the opportunity to help in celebrating your husbands 70th birthday with you. Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our team. We loved having you and we hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

My husband and I recently traveled on our honeymoon to Tanzania with the help of True Africa and Asilia. From the start we were excited about Olakira Camp, but in reality it was our favorite location of the entire trip. From the incredible staff to the facilities we kept wondering if we were living in a movie. Our guide Nathan was exceptional and his knowledge really set the experience apart. If you're thinking of traveling to see the migration look no further, this is your camp.

Room Tip: Every tent is a good tent. Exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elizabethrose21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Hello Elizabeth,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review - we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon! Thank you so much for your sincere comments about our team and guide, Nathan. We are so happy to hear that we were able to make your stay memorable, we absolutely loved hosting you and we hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a safari trip to Tanzania. The staff running the camp were as helpful and friendly as possible. They made every effort to see that we were happy and cared for. The two managers of the site (Michael and Goodluck) ran a really effective team. Our guide (Musa) was incredibly knowledgeable and helpful.
We were at the camp for 3 nights and felt really sad to go. I know that this was an expensive few days but when you see the obvious care in setting up and running a camp in such a remote place it is clear where the money goes. Despite being in the middle of nowhere, the food, drink and accommodation were all excellent.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BobCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Hello Bob,

Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review - we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for your kind comments about our staff and guide, Musa. We are so happy that you enjoyed all the meals at camp, we absolutely loved having you and we hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
84.8 km away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#6 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
529 reviews
44 km away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#9 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
291 reviews
119.1 km away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#16 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.1 km away
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
#4 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
412 reviews
101.3 km away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
480 reviews
73.8 km away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the Great Migration at Olakira Migration Camp. You will feel the earth vibrate during brave winter crossings of the mighty rivers in the north, or be moved beyond measure by the mass summer calving on the south's grassy plains. Olakira follows the massive herds of wildebeest to two spectacular locations in the north and south of the Serengeti National Park. Home from December to March is the southern Serengeti, where herds of wildebeest calve simultaneously and the plains throng with new life. As the dry days of winter arrive, Olakira relocates north to the confluence of the Mara and Bolongonja rivers for spectacular game viewing at the Mara River itself and around the Lamai Wedge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing