We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$435
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$646
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Serengeti Simba Lodge(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
US$367
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
US$375
US$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ikoma Safari Camp(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$212
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Soroi Serengeti Lodge(Serengeti National Park)
US$1,121
US$1,088
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Serengeti Sopa Lodge(Serengeti National Park)
US$579
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Asanja Africa(Serengeti National Park)
US$593
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Pioneer Camp(Serengeti National Park)
US$1,265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti(Serengeti National Park)
US$1,543
US$1,457
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
340
17
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
17
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmara riverchef johnother guestsnorthern serengetigame driveswildebeest migrationbucket showerhot waterlong tableour honeymoonsafari storiesbottle of champagnewonderful experiencea king size bedspent three nightspicnic breakfastevery meal
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 366 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2017

If you only do one African Safari, Olakira Camp is the place to go. The manager, Michael, runs a top notch mobile camp situated in the Serengeti Park. All the staff was excellent, always looking to make our visit more perfect than it already was, including breakfast and cocktails in the bush. The food from Chef John was the best we ate in Africa (we visited four camps). The animals are literally right outside the tents at night and we went to sleep listening to animal sounds. Our night walking escort flashed on a hippo not 100 yards away from our tent! (Yes, guests are completely safe.) Our safari guide, El Asante (sp) was extremely knowledgeable and we had tremendous animal experiences on our drives. Just one example, at lunch we noticed the zebra running across the plains and the serving staff ran to get the guides who arrived within minutes with their vehicles to rush us down to the river to see the zebra crossing. I would give them ten stars if I could!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CHO881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2017

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to put down all of your experiences and thoughts about your stay with us - we are thrilled that you had such a wonderful and action-packed stay!

Thank you for your lovely comments - we really do appreciate them and do hope to welcome you back to our camp in the future for more fun and adventure.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Ol Pejeta Bush Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2017

I cannot say enough about how wonderful our experience was at Olakira. We are already dreaming of going back!! I had arranged Olakira as our second camp on our 10 day family safari, and it was definitely our highlight. My father, who is 62, had never been on safari and was a bit wary of the idea of the canvas tents in the wild, and the bucket showers, however all of those concerns faded away within minutes of arriving in camp and by the end of our stay he was like a changed man--thanks to all of the staff and the pure wild luxury of the camp! Waking up each morning to the African sunrise over the Mara river laid out in front of the camp was magical, and theres nothing like going to sleep with the sounds of the wild all around you. The tents themselves are very comfortable, and very well appointed particularly considering this is a mobile camp.

Speaking of mobile camp, it is so worth it to stay in a mobile camp if you are interested in the migration. One of the main crossing points is right in front of camp!!! and in the distance you can watch the herds wandering down to the river while you eat lunch.

Our guide Mussa was an all-star (Mussa #1!!). Within minutes of us starting our drive from the airstrip to camp, he spotted a leopard that had just killed a baby wildebeest and was still strangling it! Unreal. He was so friendly, knowledgeable and attentive, he really made our stay above and beyond amazing. If you can request Mussa, do it!! One morning, we had been waiting for a crossing for a long time, but another safari jeep messed it up by cutting off the flow of the wildebeest--Mussa suggested we go back for lunch as it was already late at this point, and that he would keep an eye out for another crossing and we could leave as soon as we were done lunch if we wanted--he kept his word, and we waited for Mussa's signal then we tore out to the crossing point and arrived just as the wildebeest started to cross!! even better---we had the whole thing to ourselves, a private crossing!! It was unreal, and thanks to Mussa!

One afternoon, just about 10 minutes into our afternoon game drive, a freak storm hit with crazy winds and downpouring rains (later, we would hear from all the guides that it was the worst storm they'd ever seen in all their years of guiding!). Mussa stayed calm and utterly professional, and kept us all safe and sound. When we returned to camp, the rest of the staff was already busy hard at work cleaning up the effects of the storm and it was unbelievable how quickly everything was back in top form. This storm had made my father quite nervous, and so the next afternoon, when it looked like it might rain, Mussa was on top of it and made sure my dad was back at camp so that he felt comfortable--above and beyond and we are so grateful.

The food was delicious, and the meal times (particularly dinner) were always so much fun.

The staff are superb, from the chef to the other guides to the guards. Special thank yous to Michael, Goodluck, John, Philipo, Vincent, Ramadan, and Elia for truly making our stay perfect.

This is how safari should be, and we are so thankful we picked Olakira. We can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank runtheriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful and sincere review of your time at Olakira. We are so pleased to hear that we were able to make your family safari so memorable! Thank you so much for your amazing comments about our team and guide, Musa, we will relay all of your lovely feedback to them. We are so happy that you were able to have such special wildlife encounters and that you were able to see a stunning river crossing. We absolutely loved hosting you and your family and we hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017

Great staff! Loved staying in the tents to be close to the environment of the animals. All around wonderful experience! It was great to be near the river where we saw 7 crossings of the migration. The safaris were great and we saw all of the Big 5!!!

Room Tip: All tents are "glamping". Loved hearing the animals at night. Bed was comfortable and the tent very accommodating.
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Travelover58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Hello,

Thank you so much for your kind comments about our team! We really appreciate you taking the time to give us such wonderful feedback - we are so happy that you were able to see so many river crossings and the Big 5 during your stay. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and we hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2017

Perfect location by the Mara River. Wildlife in abundance, you can even see a crossing in the distance from the bar! The Tents a perfect mix of camping and luxury, the staff and guides are all amazing, nothing is too much trouble, and the food superb.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kathymN8513SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Hello Kathy,

Thank you so much for your wonderful 5-star review - we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Olakira Camp! We are so happy to hear that you were able to see so much wildlife during your stay and that you enjoyed the food at camp. We enjoyed hosting you and we hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2017

Staff are amazing! So very friendly and willing to do whatever possible for you. We saw so many amazing animals and multiple wildebeest river crossings. Food is pretty good in camp but not all that great in the field. This place tries to be fancy camping but if you compare it to places like Sala's Camp it's not quite there. Of course this isn't a permanent camp so that is the difference. You will get tea & coffee to your tent in the morning, hot water bottles in your bed in the evening. There are robes and slippers and the bed was comfortable. Drinking water is provided in your tent. Group dinners are in the main tent or outside weather permitting and they are a friendly affair where you get to know your fellow campers. Dinners were particularly good. There are no power outlets in your room but you do have solar lighting. They will do laundry for you but not undergarments. WIFI is supposed to be available in the main tent but it's sketchy at best. We had no cell service. Showers are a bucket system so you let them know and they'll prepare hot water for you. The game drives are excellent & guides knowledgeable which was the best part of the experience for us. You will definitely see a lot of animals on drives and hear them around you at night. You need someone to walk you to your tent after dark and from your tent in the early morning. There were hippos at our tent on two of the nights but staff know how to deal with them and keep you safe. Our tent had massive spiders which was an issue for me. Of course camping (especially in africa) you expect to see insects but attempts to rid the corners of the tent of webs & cocoons should be the responsibility of the guys who clean up. I have no fear of bugs but a can of spray left in the tents so we can handle it ourselves is not exactly customer service. Sounds like I'm griping but I'd come here again.

Room Tip: Try and get a tent closer to the main tent.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vanc0uver_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to submit a review. We are so happy to hear that during your stay with us you were able to see such diverse wildlife and a river crossing! Thank you so much for your kind words about our guides, we are very pleased that you found them to be knowledgeable.

We are very sorry to hear that you weren't entirely satisfied with your stay at Olakira Camp. We have noted all your points and will investigate and make improvements where possible.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Olakira Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews