We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most genuine Africa experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We were two couples staying at the camp for 3 nights. We just loved everything about the camp, the highlight of our Tasmania experience (after having stayed at 3 different very good lodges). The camp set-up is ideal, with a comfortable and attractive lounge and dining area, and the 9 sleeping tents short walks away. The tents are quite spacious and comfortable and the Housekeeping is fantastic. We found the service of the rooms, including personalized wake-up with fresh coffee and biscuits, turn down, amenities, a 5-star quality.
The food at the camp is amazing. We had to ask for a tour of the kitchen to fully appreciate the spectacular variety and quality. They bake all their breads, biscuits, granola bars, etc. Everything is made on site. The food service augments the outstanding quality to make the meals just amazing. The staff are friendly, attentive, and clearly enjoy what they are doing. The staff's attention and smiles made us feel so welcome and really make the stay so enjoyable.
We had a fantastic guide (Yustus) who was so knowledgeable and competent. We were able to site all the "big 5" as well as a crossing, quite rare at this time of year.
We highly recommend this camp to everyone who want a genuine experience, even those who may be cautious about tents. This is not camping!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hello Carolyn,

Thank you so much for taking the time to put down all of your experiences and thoughts about your stay with us - we are thrilled that you had such a wonderful and action-packed stay!

Thank you for your lovely comments - we really do appreciate them and do hope to welcome you back to our camp in the future for more fun and adventure.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Ol Pejeta Bush Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017

We stayed for a glorious 3 nights with our two teenage boys. The location was spectacular !!. We had a family tent with the boys sharing a room to the side. The fit out of the"mobile" tented camp was exquisite. Camp showers - hots and welcoming after a day out.
The evening drinks around the fire with other travellers was a highlight. The staff were amazing and the meals produced were some of the best we had in Africa given the only power was solar.
The staff and experiences provided by the staff ( don't want to ruin any suprises) were above and beyond expectation.
I would suggest if budget allows to have a private vehicle this gives your greater autonomy and space in the vehicles.
Our guide was fun with the boys and exceptionally knowledgable - this made every day out in the vehicle a new adventure.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kyliem380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hello Kylie,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your time with us - we appreciate all of your lovely comments about our team. We really do look forward to having the pleasure of having you stay with us again sometime in the future!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Ol Pejeta Bush Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We have stayed at Asilia four times now - twice at this camp. All the people there are all amazing! The service is better than a 5 star hotel - staff attends to your every need - and with a smile on their faces! They all gather to greet you when you come, and to wish good fortune as you leave. Not just when you arrive and leave the camp, but also every time you go on a game drive. The accommodations are comfortable, the food excellent (they try to give you twice as much as you need), and the guides very knowledgeable. Asilia is also very "green," minimizing on plastic (giving you a very nice water bottle), purchasing their food from locals, and hiring locals whenever possible. This is a 10 star company and operation!

Room Tip: This is a mobile tent-camp, but the tents are more like a hotel room than a tent. A room steward en...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EricandVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hello Erica & Val,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your time with us - we loved hosting you in our camp and really do look forward to having the pleasure of having you stay with us again sometime in the future!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Ol Pejeta Bush Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

This was a most amazing lodge for our northern Serengeti safari. The staff was so welcoming and accommodating. The guides so knowledgeable, passionate and really experts at driving those jeeps! Chef John prepared meals that were truly delicious, and took great pains to accommodate my dietary restrictions. From the moment we woke up with coffee brought to our tent to shutting down for the night, Olakira Camp was outstanding!

Room Tip: I'm not sure how to categorize how expensive the lodge is, given it includes everything, You may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank leahrosenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hello Leah,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments about your stay with us, we loved having you and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us - we appreciate all of your comments and do hope to welcome you back to our camp in the future!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Ol Pejeta Bush Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

If you have the option to stay at a mobile camp while on Safari choose Olakira Camp! Olakira camp is tucked away in the Northern Serengeti surrounded by the Mara River and endless animals (including animals that like to visit at night (don't worry the night guards keep you safe)). The views were gorgeous, tents were beautiful and well maintained, and bucket showers were hot and plentiful. Manager Michael and crew were always going above and beyond ensuring our stay was enjoyable. It was obvious the staff have a lot of passion for their jobs and love working at Olakira. Chef John was an amazing Chef. The food was by far the best I had on my two weeks in Africa; and we were lucky enough to enjoy breakfast and cocktails out in the bush. Our safari guide, Elisante, knew so much about animals and kept us laughing and entertained all day. We gave him unrealistic bucket list items we'd like to see and he actually met him, more than once. He found us a leopard on a hunt. Go to Olakira! It is worth the trek and I promise you will leave wishing you would have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 288kateo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hello Kate,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of your time with us - we are so happy to have helped tick some of your bucket list items off! We really do look forward to having the pleasure of having you stay with us again sometime in the future.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Ol Pejeta Bush Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

My family and I spent three nights in the Olakira camp. It was an absolutely wonderful experience. The staff (Phillipo, Maximillian, Chef John, etc.) were all excellent. They even surprised us with "breakfast in the bush" which entailed a formal sit-down breakfast in the Serengeti. We got to know them very well and it was difficult to say goodbye to them at the end.

Our guide Elasante was also phenomenal. He knew the land very well and was extremely entertaining. We saw everything we could have hoped for (Leopard catching its dinner and brining it back to its cubs, a crocodile catching a Topi in the river, lion cubs playing with each other, etc.).

The camp itself is situated in a gorgeous location. We were sitting down to lunch one day when a large herd of zebras decided to cross the river the camp overlooks. At night time, animals such as elephants have been known to walk through the camp. You are truly out in the bush. You feel safe 100% of the time though because their are guards every where. If you truly want the African Safari experience, this is the way to go.

I cannot recommend Olakira enough. It was a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffersondarcy2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hello,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your time with us - we loved hosting you in our camp, it was hard to say goodbye at the end of your stay! We really do look forward to having the pleasure of having you stay with us again sometime in the future!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Ol Pejeta Bush Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

If you only do one African Safari, Olakira Camp is the place to go. The manager, Michael, runs a top notch mobile camp situated in the Serengeti Park. All the staff was excellent, always looking to make our visit more perfect than it already was, including breakfast and cocktails in the bush. The food from Chef John was the best we ate in Africa (we visited four camps). The animals are literally right outside the tents at night and we went to sleep listening to animal sounds. Our night walking escort flashed on a hippo not 100 yards away from our tent! (Yes, guests are completely safe.) Our safari guide, El Asante (sp) was extremely knowledgeable and we had tremendous animal experiences on our drives. Just one example, at lunch we noticed the zebra running across the plains and the serving staff ran to get the guides who arrived within minutes with their vehicles to rush us down to the river to see the zebra crossing. I would give them ten stars if I could!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CHO881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to put down all of your experiences and thoughts about your stay with us - we are thrilled that you had such a wonderful and action-packed stay!

Thank you for your lovely comments - we really do appreciate them and do hope to welcome you back to our camp in the future for more fun and adventure.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Ol Pejeta Bush Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
84.8 km away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#6 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
528 reviews
44 km away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#9 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
291 reviews
119.1 km away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#16 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.1 km away
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
#4 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
411 reviews
101.3 km away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
480 reviews
73.8 km away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the Great Migration at Olakira Migration Camp. You will feel the earth vibrate during brave winter crossings of the mighty rivers in the north, or be moved beyond measure by the mass summer calving on the south's grassy plains. Olakira follows the massive herds of wildebeest to two spectacular locations in the north and south of the Serengeti National Park. Home from December to March is the southern Serengeti, where herds of wildebeest calve simultaneously and the plains throng with new life. As the dry days of winter arrive, Olakira relocates north to the confluence of the Mara and Bolongonja rivers for spectacular game viewing at the Mara River itself and around the Lamai Wedge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing