We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveller rating
382
17
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
382
17
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mara river chef john other guests northern serengeti game drives wildebeest migration hot water bucket shower within sight wish list black rhino long table sitting area spent nights wonderful experience bottle of champagne once in a lifetime
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 408 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2017

We stayed for a glorious 3 nights with our two teenage boys. The location was spectacular !!. We had a family tent with the boys sharing a room to the side. The fit out of the"mobile" tented camp was exquisite. Camp showers - hots and welcoming after a day out.
The evening drinks around the fire with other travellers was a highlight. The staff were amazing and the meals produced were some of the best we had in Africa given the only power was solar.
The staff and experiences provided by the staff ( don't want to ruin any suprises) were above and beyond expectation.
I would suggest if budget allows to have a private vehicle this gives your greater autonomy and space in the vehicles.
Our guide was fun with the boys and exceptionally knowledgable - this made every day out in the vehicle a new adventure.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kyliem380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2017

Hello Kylie,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your time with us - we appreciate all of your lovely comments about our team. We really do look forward to having the pleasure of having you stay with us again sometime in the future!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Ol Pejeta Bush Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2017

We have stayed at Asilia four times now - twice at this camp. All the people there are all amazing! The service is better than a 5 star hotel - staff attends to your every need - and with a smile on their faces! They all gather to greet you when you come, and to wish good fortune as you leave. Not just when you arrive and leave the camp, but also every time you go on a game drive. The accommodations are comfortable, the food excellent (they try to give you twice as much as you need), and the guides very knowledgeable. Asilia is also very "green," minimizing on plastic (giving you a very nice water bottle), purchasing their food from locals, and hiring locals whenever possible. This is a 10 star company and operation!

Room Tip: This is a mobile tent-camp, but the tents are more like a hotel room than a tent. A room steward ensures you always have a clean room and the supplies you need, including fresh water and towels. Daily laundry is also included; it is nice to return after a long, often dusty day on safari, to find a clean set of cloths waiting!
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EricandVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2017

Hello Erica & Val,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your time with us - we loved hosting you in our camp and really do look forward to having the pleasure of having you stay with us again sometime in the future!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Ol Pejeta Bush Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2017

This was a most amazing lodge for our northern Serengeti safari. The staff was so welcoming and accommodating. The guides so knowledgeable, passionate and really experts at driving those jeeps! Chef John prepared meals that were truly delicious, and took great pains to accommodate my dietary restrictions. From the moment we woke up with coffee brought to our tent to shutting down for the night, Olakira Camp was outstanding!

Room Tip: I'm not sure how to categorize how expensive the lodge is, given it includes everything, You may hear animals roaming around at night!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank leahrosenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2017

Hello Leah,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments about your stay with us, we loved having you and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us - we appreciate all of your comments and do hope to welcome you back to our camp in the future!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Ol Pejeta Bush Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2017

If you have the option to stay at a mobile camp while on Safari choose Olakira Camp! Olakira camp is tucked away in the Northern Serengeti surrounded by the Mara River and endless animals (including animals that like to visit at night (don't worry the night guards keep you safe)). The views were gorgeous, tents were beautiful and well maintained, and bucket showers were hot and plentiful. Manager Michael and crew were always going above and beyond ensuring our stay was enjoyable. It was obvious the staff have a lot of passion for their jobs and love working at Olakira. Chef John was an amazing Chef. The food was by far the best I had on my two weeks in Africa; and we were lucky enough to enjoy breakfast and cocktails out in the bush. Our safari guide, Elisante, knew so much about animals and kept us laughing and entertained all day. We gave him unrealistic bucket list items we'd like to see and he actually met him, more than once. He found us a leopard on a hunt. Go to Olakira! It is worth the trek and I promise you will leave wishing you would have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 288kateo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2017

Hello Kate,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of your time with us - we are so happy to have helped tick some of your bucket list items off! We really do look forward to having the pleasure of having you stay with us again sometime in the future.

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Ol Pejeta Bush Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2017

My family and I spent three nights in the Olakira camp. It was an absolutely wonderful experience. The staff (Phillipo, Maximillian, Chef John, etc.) were all excellent. They even surprised us with "breakfast in the bush" which entailed a formal sit-down breakfast in the Serengeti. We got to know them very well and it was difficult to say goodbye to them at the end.

Our guide Elasante was also phenomenal. He knew the land very well and was extremely entertaining. We saw everything we could have hoped for (Leopard catching its dinner and brining it back to its cubs, a crocodile catching a Topi in the river, lion cubs playing with each other, etc.).

The camp itself is situated in a gorgeous location. We were sitting down to lunch one day when a large herd of zebras decided to cross the river the camp overlooks. At night time, animals such as elephants have been known to walk through the camp. You are truly out in the bush. You feel safe 100% of the time though because their are guards every where. If you truly want the African Safari experience, this is the way to go.

I cannot recommend Olakira enough. It was a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffersondarcy2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Olakira Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2017

Hello,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your time with us - we loved hosting you in our camp, it was hard to say goodbye at the end of your stay! We really do look forward to having the pleasure of having you stay with us again sometime in the future!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Ol Pejeta Bush Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews