We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa
Nearby Hotels
Serengeti Pioneer Camp(Serengeti National Park)
US$1,265
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kiota Camp(Serengeti National Park)
US$579
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp(Serengeti National Park)
US$1,771
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Alex Walker's Serian(Serengeti National Park)
US$1,686
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Melia Serengeti Lodge(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
US$647
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asanja Africa(Serengeti National Park)
US$593
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Migration Camp(Serengeti National Park)
US$1,253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Tanzania Bush Camps(Serengeti National Park)
US$1,034
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti(Serengeti National Park)
US$863
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge(Serengeti National Park)
    US$2,617
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Breakfast included
    • Pool
    Reviews (220)
    Filter reviews
    220 results
    Traveller rating
    203
    12
    3
    2
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    203
    12
    3
    2
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsking davidgame drivesnorthern serengetiwildebeest migrationhis teammara riverenjoy the experiencewild dogsgreat migrationsafari experiencethe entire stafffantastic guidedriver guidebucket showerhis knowledgememorable stayevery meal
    Filter
    Updating list...
    66 - 71 of 220 reviews
    Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

    This place is something everyone should live once in life! The colours of the savana, the sound of nature, thousands of gnu and zebras just walking in front of the tent, the amazing food and the staff is something unforgettable. 3 night are enough.

    Don't miss it!

    Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    3  Thank lorenza m
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed November 16, 2015

    We loved our stay in Asilia's Ubuntu tented camp in the northern Serengeti, and it was an undoubted highlight of our trip. We spent 4 days there, and could have stayed longer, as each day turned up new experiences.
    The staff were very friendly, totally professional and caring, and were focused on making sure that you enjoyed every minute of your stay.
    David, the manager, was always accessible and most helpful if you had any concerns or queries. Our guide Lucas was very knowledgeable and worked hard to give you good views of the wildlife. We had many memorable moments, including 3 excellent viewings of wildebeest crossing the Mara River.
    Lucas was only too willing to answer our many questions.I was interested in photography, and he took care to position the vehicle to ensure the viewpoint was a good one for photography and the light was coming from the right direction.
    The quality of the tent and facilities was first class, and the food was varied and extremely good. Dining in the outdoors at the end of a day's safari was a most enjoyable experience. We will also remember lying in our tent at night listening to the zebra calling and the wildebeest chewing grass and calling to each other.
    Altogether, this was a most enjoyable and memorable safari experience. Thank you, David and staff!!

    Room Tip: The tents are all well set up and located, and all share a good view.
    • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    3  Thank John R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed November 5, 2015

    If you go on a Serengeti safari once, stay at this camp. If you will do multiple ones stay here later or plan multiple times. We have been spoiled by the staff and guide at Ubuntu. We came as a family for the migration. Our guide put is right at a crossing of a few hundred wilbebeests, one of which was unlucky enough to get taken out by a croc right near the shoreline. Afterwards we were driving and he spotted out of thin air not just a rhino but accompanied by a baby! Not bad for an arrival drive in.
    Once at the camp we were warmly greeted with moist towels and a friendly staff ready to whisk our bags to the tent and serve us a refreshing beverage. We had the family tent which was enormously spacious and comfortable. Looking out over the savanna filled with animals enjoying a beverage is wonderful. Make an effort to get in a sunrise as they are spectacular from this vantage point.
    Laundry service was prompt, plan for longer return times during rainy or cloudy weather. Water can have sediment so don't bring a family heirloom or wedding dress to be laundered just in case. Bugs and such exist within the confines of the camp. Torches(flashlights), bug spray (not repellent) and air fresheners were all provided. Bring your own sun block and personal bug spray. Water is provided for brushing teeth and drinking in personal containers. Power supply for charging eThings is in the main tent but not the personal tents. The tent floor can be uneven and the odd rock might poke through so tread lightly in the dark even inside the tents.
    Food at the main tent is very good and varied for the remoteness. Plenty of starters, mains and desserts. My favorite part is the fireside drinks before dinner. Great way to meet other guests and enjoy being outdoors.

    Room Tip: Family tent has a great view with a large patio and separate central gathering area suitable for a large group.
    • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    2  Thank Jeff T
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed October 28, 2015

    We LOVED Ubuntu Camp!!

    As soon as we landed in the Serengeti we were met by the camp's manager who drove us to our safari open vehicle. It was amazing to get right into the game drive as they were waiting for the crossing! We were surprised we were on a shared drive vehicle as everything else had been private but it worked out. We had a full vehicle of 6 people with our guide.

    Ubuntu Camp was an excellent experience, one we will never forget. This was a very good version of "glamping". We were in a zipup tent but had a flushing toilet and hot bucket shower. No complaints with the tent at all. The staff were so amazing at bringing us hot water to shower in and making sure we had clean water to brush our teeth and warm water to wash our faces. It was incredible. Every morning they would wake us up with our morning coffee right outside our tent as we watched the sun rise. Incredible service. We enjoyed the breakfast with the group every morning, the food was fantastic!!! The staff was so professional and completely on par to whatever any guest needed to drink, eat, etc. We felt like we were at the Four Seasons camping style.

    We had an amazing time eating meals with the group, enjoying drinks and conversation by the fire and playing games in the main tent with the staff. We even got a tour of the bush kitchen, which was VERY cool!

    On our final night at Ubuntu Camp, our safari guide drove us to this beautiful cliff in the Serengeti where the staff had set up a bar with drinks and appetizers for our group to enjoy the sunset. It was literally unbelievable. Upon returning from our final evening game drive, the staff had set up a beautiful private dinner in front of our tent. There was a little fire and candles everywhere. It was such a cool experience! This camp stops at nothing to ensure everybody has an amazing, unique time. We loved listening to the animals during the night, we never felt scared but just really enjoyed the experience.

    We loved Ubuntu Camp and would recommend everybody to go and really live the bush life :)

    • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Heidi R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed October 24, 2015

    Ubuntu Mara Lodge was our first stop on our safari and was amazing. The staff (more that one per guest) is so friendly and helpful and welcoming. You need not lift a finger. They treat you like Kings and Queens and the food is amazing. Hyenas and lions were nearby at night. Campfire drinks were fabulous and sunset second to none. Did I mention the food? Wow wow wow.

    • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    2  Thank OilerFans
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews