We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
213
12
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
12
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives king david family style dinner other guests wildebeest migration his team mara river enjoy the experience wild dogs safari experience great migration incredible staff hot shower the entire staff driver guide bucket shower his knowledge
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 230 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

We had a great 2 night stay at Ubuntu. Abel, David and the rest of the staff were extremely friend and service oriented. We had great food, clean private 2-person tents with bathroom and shower, and very comfortable beds. We were there at the peak of the wildebeest migration (mid June) so the place was teeming with wildlife. Only piece of feedback: they need to offer better wine (even if with a surcharge) and more ice (or colder beer). I would definitely go back.

Also - this is a mobile camp so at other times of the year it sets up in other parts of the Serengeti and Masai Mara, following the migration.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed the Western Corridor with its remoteness and lack of crowd, as compared to Central Serengeti. The camp is amazing led by David. He and his staff made us feel at home. The meals were wonderful.

Our first experience with bucket showers was a little comical. We ordered two showers and the 2nd person had 10sec of water before it ran out. The staff was quick to bring extra water after we asked for it. We were very comfortable in our tent. The only downside is tsetse flies and mosquitos in the surrounding areas.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Efyshum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile

David and his staff are incredible. There Chef is beyond belief. In the middle of Gods country, he made some of the best food we've eaten in Africa. I'd personally recommend a two night stop here. We saw a huge 19 lion pride plus drove they the migration of wildebeest for 6 kilometers. Von fire at night and great new friends.

Stayed: May 2016
1  Thank Trans A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2016

We spent 2 nights at Ubuntu and were surrounded by the great migration of wildebeests and zebras. We knew there would be a lot but wow there were literally many thens of thousands - they were everywhere as were the flies - lol. Be careful with them by the way, flies are bothersome but tsetse flies are mean they just land and bite and it does sting.

The camp moves three times a year and given that fact it is remarkable that you are treated to an all inclusive experience. Granted there are bucket showers and no hot running water but meals were good and the beer cold!

We saw lions, cheetahs and other predators as well - all in all a very good experience.

The staff was GREAT!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank panamaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2016

If you are looking for the authentic African safari, this is it. We visited in January when the Wildebeest migration was expected to be nearby - and it was! Thousands of wildebeest and zebra and many, many predators. If you haven't seen the migration up close go for it - but be prepared for the flies!
Our visit was suggested to us and arranged by TrueAfrica and couldn't have been better. Great, spacious tents, excellent food and brilliant staff all expertly managed by camp manager, David. Above all, great game drives often lasting 6 or 7 hours with our excellent, friendly, knowledgeable guide. We had been concerned it might be busy with other safari vehicles nearby but need not have worried - very occasionally we might see 4 or 5 other jeeps but that was all..
Evenings spent swapping tales around the camp fire and nice touches like a hot water bottle in our bed - we needed it!. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdventurerCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews