We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,002)
Filter reviews
1,002 results
Traveller rating
524
350
92
26
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
524
350
92
26
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdik dikafter darkbuffet styleswimming poolevening entertainmentwild animalssecurity staffmosquito netmain buildingcape buffalonice poolboxed lunchlake manyaratwo nightswater buffalogift shoprooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 1,002 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2018

This lodge is in the middle of the park and has no fences to prevent animals entering the grounds. hence after dark it is compulsory to be escorted to your rooms which are set in buildings (4 to each) spread around.
Rooms very nice and lovely to sit on balcony in the evening watching dik-dik, squirrels, hyrax, spring hare etc.. Had a large bat land above us and eat the large beetle it had caught!
Weaver birds nesting near reception.
Nice restaurant and friendly staff.
Were provided with packed lunches and they were reasonable but not sure about chicken legs being in them as not able to get in vehicles cool box.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank WorcesterMoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2018

Dear Worcester,

We are delighted to read your wonderful review and encouraging feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Kindly allow me on behalf of the team extend our heartfelt appreciation.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I will share the same with the team. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Vincent Matei.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2018

I stayed here for 2 nights & I enjoyed my stay.

The rooms are a bit old but they are comfortable. Since the room is located in the middle of the jungle you can expect some harmless insects to be in the room.

The staff, including the reception, housekeeping & restaurant were all very friendly.

The buffet had the best spread among all Sarena hotels in my opinion. The Indian vegetarian food was 'ok'. The pasta was excellent.

There is also a nice bar area where they have tribal dancers & performers every other day.

You will not be spending much time in the resort as you will be in the park pretty much the whole day.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mntolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2018

Dear Mntolia,

We appreciate for taking time to share your wonderful feedback.

Kindly note that we do value every guests' feedback as this will motivate us to improve better. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff made your stay more memorable and I am sure that they equally enjoyed catering to your need.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.

Regards,

Vincent Matei.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2018

I booked a safari with Warrior Trails and let them handle on the accommodations. i was too busy prior to my trio to check out the accommodations they had been reserved for me. I trusted Warrior Trails, they were highly recommended by a friend. I was so happy i did! The Serengeti Serena Lodge was fabulous. I shared the space with another solo traveler and we were both delighted with the roominess and the well appointed space. The rooms are in separate out buildings, it gives the impression of being in your own cabin. The lodge: reception, dining room, lounge, and pool area are beautiful. The space mirrors the beauty of the surroundings and the views are spectacular. The food was very good. There was a good variety to choose from for both dinner and the breakfast buffet. We were surprised by the entertainment. A very energetic troupe consisting of a band with singers and a group of dancers that also performed incredible balancing displays in line with acrobatics. The only caution I would mention is the fact that there are pockets of tse tse flies in the area. The Travel Vaccine clinic I attended did not see Tanzania on their reference material for the tsse tse fly. However, we did run into pockets of tse tse flies in several areas not just the Serengeti. I would recommend any one planning to travel to Tanzania to be aware of this and to bring this up at their appointment with the Travel Vaccine Clinic before coming to Tanzania.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2018

Dear Anne,

We appreciate the time taken to to share this wonderful review, but most important for choosing Serengeti Serena Lodge as your second home.We are also delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that our offer and service delivery met with your satisfaction.

We look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.

Regards,

Vincent Matei.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2018 via mobile

We were a group of 7 people and stayed in the same hut with three rooms.
We were told that they serve really well Indian meals and that came out to be true. Since we had already been traveling since the past seven days we were bored of eating certain kind of food. On special request by my family members and a little receipe that we gave them and more of their research chef Angela specially prepared a portion of Egg curry, khichdi, dal, vegetable rice and curry! It tasted very well. I loved how they were so enthusiastic to learn different cuisines to serve their customers.
The WiFi connection is strong!
The staff is very courteous and they make sure to drop you to your rooms post 7pm in the evening since there are some wild animals roaming in the area since the property is in the middle of a national park.
It was fun watching the dig-dig from our rooms balcony every morning.
The view from the pool is amazing; wish we had more time to spend at the hotel to enjoy it thoroughly.
There is dance and music entertainment by the staff in the evening near the bar area everyday.
The rooms are well kept and equipped! There are innumerable multi pins to charge your gadgets! This helped us charge our phones and camera for the next day.
We had some issue with the locking system of our rooms door. But the staff was very prompt to come and help us.
The staff is very courteous.
The only issue that we faced was the warm/hot water for bath in the shower. Since there is only one tank of hot water amongst three rooms in the same hut. The 7 of us were using the shower around the same time. hence the last 3 people ended up taking bath in cold water; because by then the hot water got over.
Probably to solve or avoid this problem a group of people should not be staying in the same hut so that the chances of clashing the timings for shower reduces.
In all it was an enjoyable stay!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Aashna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2018

Dear Aashna,

Thank you for taking time to share your wonderful experience, but most important for choosing Serengeti Serena as your second home.
I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay more enjoyable and I am sure that they equally enjoyed catering to your need. I will be sure to let them all know how much an impact they made on your experience.

As regards to the hot water, please note that the management takes attention to details in service delivery very seriously and lack of hot water you experienced is highly regretted. However, please rest assured that we have rectified the problem.

We thank you for bringing this to our attention and hope that you can give us another opportunity to be of service to you.

Regards,

Vincent Matei
Lodge Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2018

The first impression of this lodge is impressive.
But once you get in your room, you will not feel the same way as the facility is not as new as other relative newly built lodges. But you still have a decent view of the Serengeti from your balcony. Still beautiful but can certainly be improved.
The service is generally fine but we encountered an unhappy incident over one dinner but it was fixed subsequently so we are still fine with their service overall.
There are performances and shows in the outdoor bar area which is quite fascinating to watch. Just that they might approach you after the show to promote their DVD and stuff which is totally understandable and not annoying at all (no irony here just to be clear).
Because it is a well established brand and has been there for a long time (20 years or something), be expected for crowds of guests throughout the year.

Room Tip: ask for the upper level rooms
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Monte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaHotels, Manager at Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2018

Dear Monte,

We appreciate the time taken to share your experience. Please note that our core aim is to surpass guests' expectations and your feedback is very important to us as it would enable us to improve on our offer and service delivery.

Kindly note that the lodge renovation is ongoing so as to improve on our product and enhancement of the guest comfort. The management takes attention to detail in service delivery very seriously and an unhappy incident you encountered in the restaurant is highly regretted. Please rest assured that we have taken remedial measures through re-training our service staff so as maintain our quality service in the restaurant.

Thank you once again for sharing and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Vincent Matei,
Lodge manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews