We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
351
34
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
34
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool outdoor shower central serengeti tented camp buffet style lunch box the main lodge beautiful lodge masai guards thatched roof beautiful room water pressure rooms are amazing heard lions food was great king size canvas walls
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 387 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2018

We stayed here for two nights, we were greeted with glasses of champagne and cold towels which was a very nice start to the stay, infinity pool is class with great views and also the restaurant terrace, its the best place we stayed for views of wildlife roaming the plains. Would recommend to have a good set of binoculars to take best advantage of viewing the animals. Our tent was called Jua and was on the lower level which is better cause u are not looking down on another tent but straight out, sunset was class watching the color changes across the landscape. The tent was great but the highlight was the outdoor shower which had same views as the terrace and had endless amounts of piping hot water coming from a rainfall shower head.. Food was great, first night was a wood fire BBQ of chicken and lamb and both were delicious.. and selection of food was great, we had all inclusive and they really were too generous with the drinks and topped up our glasses non stop !!! Alex looked after us for two days and was friendly helpful and always smiling.. special mention to Ghana the chef ( not her real name ) who made ugali especially for us on the 2nd night as we hadn't tried it before..
On our 2nd night we heard a lion roar close to the tent but know that their roar can travel long distance but when the masai brought us to reception early next morning they were able to show us the lion prints just outside our door and all the way up the track to reception, makes u realize u are surrounded by wildlife when u stay in Kubu..
A separate bar area away from the restaurant would have been nice but was not an issue. Thanks to all at kubu for making our stay wonderful.

Room Tip: lower level rooms so u r not looking down on another tent but straight out at the beautiful views, our room was called Jua
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BBK-IRELAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2018

After a long but memorable day we appreciated the warm welcome, cold towels and glass of champagne on arrival.
Our 'tent' was spacious and well appointed with a separate dressing area and stylish outdoor shower (with a plentiful supply of hot water in the morning and evening).
The balcony was a great place to relax and enjoy the wonderful views over the Serengeti.
The breakfast buffet was plentiful with pancakes, omelettes and eggs cooked to order.
The packed lunches (personally selected and efficiently prepared) included sandwiches, boiled eggs,cake and juice.
Dinner was buffet style and included meat, fish and vegetable dishes as well as some local options.
We particularly enjoyed relaxing on the outdoor terrace with a cold drink whilst watching the sun set over the Serengeti.
All the staff we encountered during our stay at Kubu Kubu were truly excellent. They took pride in their environment and were keen to make our stay memorable. A special mention must go to Priscilla whose cheerful demeanour was infectious and Joseph, one of the Maasai guards who guided us to and from dinner each evening. (On one occasion he arrived breathless after running from another task as he did not want to keep us waiting).
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Kubu Kubu.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sils55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2018

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at this camp, which was the best of all our safari accommodations and the height of luxury. I wish we had stayed longer. Our room ‘Pumba’ had every possible amenity. I was glad for this as I was feeling ill when I arrived and decided to take a sick day off our Safari. Chef Daniel was so kind he personally brought me a fresh ginger drink to help settle my stomach and later brought me some dinner to entice me to eat. My husband said his charcoal grilled lamb was the best he has ever tasted. Besides the amenities and food, the views were magnificent and it was so nice to have our own private balcony over looking the Serengeti. We were very thankful for the Maasai warrior guards who walked us to and from our tent and we felt very safe with them especially knowing the animals freely roamed the property, especially at night. This is a very special property and if we ever return to Tanzania we will want to stay at Kubu Kubu.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RedTraveller2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2018 via mobile

My fiancé and I spent 2 nights at Kubu Kubu and were very pleasantly surprised. We had stayed at another “tented” camp a few nights earlier and were somewhat underwhelmed. We knew Kubu Kubu was going to be nice, but didn’t realize how nice. The “tents” were immaculate and well appointed. The outdoor showers were amazing for taking in the view of the surrounding plains and animals.

As with many of the places we encountered on our trip through Tanzania though, it was the people that really made the difference. The staff here were fantastic. We had Alex as our server in the restaurant both nights and he was amazing. The staff made us feel so welcome and comfortable. The Masai they have working security at Kubu Kubu were phenomenal and such awesome guys. So happy to help and honestly probably the bravest guys I have ever met.

The food at Kubu Kubu was very good. If I had to say one negative thing about the whole experience it was that the boxed lunches were a bit of a letdown considering how good the dinners and breakfast were. You get to box your own lunch here which is nice, but the selection could have been a bit better.

Thanks Kubu Kubu for making our time so memorable!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandsman1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Kubu Kubu Tented Camp belongs to the same group as Mara Mara, and by chance we met the owner whose tent was besides ours; he is always busy to visit his several camps; the story about his background, upbringing and becoming a successful operator in the Serengeti would fill a book.
The greeting at check in with refreshing towels and champagne after a long game drive is so welcoming. The spacious room with king size bed, sitting area with a bottle of wine placed on the table, WC, desk, and outdoor shower is well appointed. The view from the veranda is spectacular with zebras, buffalos, and wildebeest grazing not far away; one buffalo even used the walkway leading to the main house. Minor issues were that there was no light installed at the desk and lack of house shoes. Unlike mentioned in a previous review there was ample hot water for a shower in the morning. The tent cannot compete with Mara Mara but still is a very luxurious and comfortable accommodation.
We didn’t use the infinity pool but preferred relaxing sun-downers before dinner on the veranda of the main house. Food was delicious with a buffet for breakfast and dinner each day, Chef Daniel took great care of the guests. At breakfast time a lunch box was provided with all the food one picks from a separate table. Maasais are around to escort one from/to the tent especially after dark.
We stayed two nights and every evening one of the guests had birthday, and the entire staff were singing and dancing, very touching. The service is excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Lower row of tents
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helmut S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews