We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful cathedral and mass”

More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 1987 Romanesque cathedral’s stately spires can be seen from the sea as you approach Stone Town.
Reviewed May 7, 2016

I attended the 9am mass, which is in Kiswahili. The unexpected part is that the mass took two hours; it seemed this is the normal routine, so if you are going to the 9am, plan for that. But staying the full two hours is so worth it, because they have an AMAZING choir! This is the first time I've heard a church using hymns in an African language and style but accompanied by an organ, and it's fantastic. I run the music program for my parish in Kinshasa, so this was a very special treat for me. I had to pull out my iPhone and record some of the music to share with family at home.

If you're looking for an English mass, I'd guess the 7am is a good bet. When I arrived at 8:30, there were several Indian families and a couple other ethnicities milling around who had attended the earlier service. Don't know anything about the 4:30pm mass.

Date of experience: May 2016
2  Thank ColleenSreya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"stone town"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful church"
in 2 reviews
"narrow streets"
in 2 reviews
"twin spires"
in 2 reviews
"sunday mass"
in 2 reviews
"community"
in 2 reviews
"marseille"
in 2 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 17 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2015 via mobile

This was a beautiful old church, unfortunately we were not able to go inside. The exterior was very pretty and the history related to us by the guide was fascinating.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank AtlanticTyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2014

The mass times on Sunday for this church are:
1) 7:00am
2) 9:00am
3) 4:30pm

The mass at 9:00am (which I attended) was conducted in Kiswahili. Not sure about the other times.

Date of experience: November 2014
21  Thank SRI P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were wondering around Stone Town and stumbled across St. Joseph's Church. It took us a bit to find the entrance since the regular front entrench was locked, but once we figured out how to get in - it was great! We walked around the grounds and eventually went into the church where there was a wedding taking place! What an experience to get to see the ceremony with an amazing choir!

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank kbeetham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is an area abundant in religious monuments and buildings. Over 50 mosques and many Christian churches and Hindu temples. This cathedral would be the best choice to see as a building representative of the Christian faith in this area.

Date of experience: May 2013
1  Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Joseph's Roman Catholic Cathedral also viewed

Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
Pemba Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
 
Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
 

Been to St. Joseph's Roman Catholic Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing