We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Busy street with interesting architecture

Busy, crowded city street that houses most of the large French buildings from a bygone age. Not... read more

Reviewed January 19, 2015
Steven M
,
Sacramento, California, United States
Very Crowded !

it was a very crowded street with many shops and so , if you want to buy something you will find it... read more

Reviewed October 30, 2014
Mostafa E
,
Alexandria, Al Iskandariyah, Egypt
Read all 74 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Tunis
from US$1,375.00
More Info
from US$1,600.00
More Info
from US$282.00
More Info
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
10
16
30
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
16
30
10
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 74 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2015

Busy, crowded city street that houses most of the large French buildings from a bygone age. Not something that's a must-see but offers a glimpse of urban life in Tunisia. Plenty of good sandwich shops and a few stores (like the date candy place) worth visiting but otherwise just a highly-trafficed city street.

Date of experience: January 2015
1  Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2014

it was a very crowded street with many shops and so , if you want to buy something you will find it at good price there but you will not enjoy the crowded street very much

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank Mostafa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2014

What would a tourist do on that street. Do not waste your time it is not worth it. Dirty, crowded and unsafe.

Date of experience: July 2014
3  Thank MeM543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is mainly a pedestrian street downtown Tunis with plenty of shops and fast food places. Many of the local people shop in the areas from clothes to spices. Central to this street is Marche Central. The local market for selling fruit and vegetables. We decided to visit the marche / market central and we didn't regret it. Very Tunisian, and it gives you some flavor of the culture. The produce there is so fresh, we went back to our hotel loaded with lovely figs and some of those delicious round peaches that Tunisia is well known for. The fish market is a story in itself! We saw such varieties of fish we never saw anywhere else. Next to the fresh, home-made cheese section, there is a very small shop where you can see how they make cheese and meat ravioli from many years ago. Don't miss this market if you want to experience a feel of real Tunis and get away from the touristy places.

Date of experience: July 2014
4  Thank Rainbow2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2012

This is a busy street in the center of Tunis. There are lots of clothing shops and prices are very inexpensive. I would not consider it a "tourist attraction." Maybe the architecture is the attraction. Traffic can be a challenge. But if you like shopping then I'd say give it a go, especially if you are staying in a downtown hotel. The Monoprix Store in the center of the city is one of the few places where you can buy a bottle of wine. There may be others but, I've not found one.

Date of experience: January 2012
3  Thank Roberta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews