We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience of a lifetime”
Review of The Elephant Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Elephant Camp
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Elephant Camp for 3 amazing nights. The rooms were incredible, spacious clean and well designed. The food was first class and the staff were amazing. We both travel a lot all over the world and agreed that this was the best place we have ever stayed for so many reasons. I cannot believe there isn't a waiting list to get in here....They even do complimentary Laundry !!
We combined this with a trip to Imbabala and I strongly recommend doing both, Elephant camp is more relaxed, but the views are stunning and there is plenty to do, the Staff will take you anywhere and treat you like royalty. We will definitely be back !

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms, all are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kidtango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    66
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
194
384
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

My husband I just recently got back from Elephant Camp and all I can say is WOW! Truly a unique and unbelievable experience! Everything from the rooms to the food and especially the service was impeccable! To say it was a trip of a lifetime is an understatement! There is no question we will be back! Thank you again to the staff at the Elephant Camp.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJNWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
246 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

The rooms are spacious, private and tastefully decorated. The views from the rooms are of the rolling hills of Victoria Falls National Park and the spray from the Falls in the distance.

The camp is well managed. Staff attentive. Food is very good. You will enjoy meals! The location is a short 15 minute drive Victoria Falls Town and staff will take you to the town for any activities you might want to do.

But the real highlight of this property are the elephants. The lodge gives guests morning elephant interaction with the resident elephants as part of the room. You can also pay an extra $120 for a extra more in depth interaction and ride. All of these elephants camp to reside in the camp as they were saved from the culling operations in Zimbabwe. The elephants seems well taken care of and happy. There is also a resident orphan ambassador Cheetah named Sylvestor. You can find him on facebook. The only cheetah on facebook to learn his story.

This is the best place to stay in Vic Falls!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

My wife and I stayed their for two magical nights. I had read a lot about the Elephant Camp, so I came in with very high expectations. The staff and management blew my expectations out of the water. The level of service was a cut above any other place I've ever stayed at. The food was amazing!! My only regret was that we didn't get a chance to ride the elephants and stay longer.

Room Tip: Its a drive to get to town. There really isn't much of a town or a night life, but if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dicksonenteprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Life is full of surprises and this one was exceptional. Secluded and exclusive this is a wonderful place to just be. If you come off safari as we did to this magic place make sure you spend at the very least 2 nights, 3 if you can manage it and set one day aside to just enjoy all The Elephant Camp has to offer. The whole team do everything possible to make sure you are indulged and feel loved for the length of your stay. Wonderful food, wonderful bed, wonderful fun. Thanks Jonathon and the team.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoddessPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Fabulous rooms, every comfort and so much attention to detail (e.g. scissors in the tea/coffee chest to open the tea bag pouches)

Great food and staff who go so far above and beyond to help - just the best stay.

I cannot praise this place highly enough!

Perfect for arriving into Vic Falls or leaving - easy airport transfer to VFA

Room Tip: All great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

If you are visiting Victoria Falls and want an exceptional experience, stay at Wild Horizons Elephant Camp. From the staff's greeting upon arrival, to their farewell, the service was perfect. The tents are beautiful and perfectly adorned & stocked with every amenity you can think of, even down to delicious cookies in a private cookie jar! The food was the best we experience in Southern Africa, light, creative, fresh and beautifully presented. The "elephant experience" is a must and adds so much to the stop at Victoria Falls - already a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRS33414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
4.8 km away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
6.9 km away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
5.4 km away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
62.1 km away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
7.5 km away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
6.8 km away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Camp

Property: The Elephant Camp
Address: Wild Horizons Wildlife Sanctuary, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elephant Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Camp has breathtaking views of the Victoria Falls' spray and the spectacular gorges which separate Zimbabwe and Zambia. The Elephant Camp is a luxury, intimate lodge under canvas within easy reach of Victoria Falls (approximately 10 km) and all its attractions and activities, yet secluded in its own private game reserve. The Elephant Camp offers exclusive suite accommodation for only 24 adults in 12 luxury tents. The 'Elephant Camp West' consists of 4 luxury tents that sleep 8 adults and 8 children (all are equipped to become family rooms with comfortable sleeper couches). (Children not included in total occupancy) All suites are gorge facing and boast a private viewing deck and plunge pool, private lounge area, air-conditioning and fans, bath (with a view), inside and outside shower, mini bar and tea/coffee stations. INCLUDED: Accommodation and all meals, drinks (excluding premium brands), complimentary mini bars in the rooms. Return Victoria Falls Airport transfers & two transfers to Victoria Falls town per day. Laundry & Emergency Medical Evacuation cover. Lunch at the Lookout Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Elephant Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Camp Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing