We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveller rating
50
118
88
55
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
118
88
55
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the club lounge under renovation overlooking the sea negative reviews well prepared food great place to chill cul de sac an update van der took ages kind staff small private beach took great care hotel is great couple of nights african countries restaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 347 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rooms are rather spartan but clean and functional. Water pressure and temperature were variable the entire time i was there (5 days). The internet worked fine. The staff were friendly but slow as can be - even by African service standards. The food was ok. The buffet meals are the quickest way to get some food and the breakfast was not bad. Ordering from the menu in the restaurant or the cafe took FOREVER. A sandwich and fries took at least an hour even when the bar was not busy. This was normal as happened a couple of times and others had the same experience. Had to make repeated requests to get SPG number added to my account (finally happened). Even check out took ages. The shuttle to and from the airport worked well and is a good option.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank 2deer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018

Thank you for the people at the reception, they are very nice and understand the guests' needs.

The service is a bit slow at the restaurants, breakfast and dinner. Otherwise the hotel is good and the rooms are OK.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018

I expected more from a Sheraton and given the cost was very disappointed. Three days no hot water and about the same for air conditioning in my room. Room was clean and comfortable and the staff was very good. Saed, who was responsible for the Sheraton Room, consistently took great care of any of your needs and would go the extra mile to help you. Food in the restaurant was average and quite expensive for what was offered. At +$300 a night definitely not up to standard.

Room Tip: Sixth floor is considered business floor with a food/beverage lounge. I don't recommend considering the extra cost involved
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonHotel2014, General Manager at Sheraton Djibouti Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Dear Jim H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Sheraton Djibouti with us.
We are very sorry our current appearance was not what you had anticipated. We strive to maintain the highest standards, not only in service, but also with regards to maintaining the overall look and feel of the hotel.

We are currently undergoing the installation of the hot water system for the guest rooms. And regarding air conditioning We have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to ensure that this was an isolated issue.

We would like to thank you in addition for your very kind words and compliments about the service staff such as the cleanness of the rooms, and Mr. Said Sheraton club lounge manager.

Although we fell short of meeting your expectations during your past stay, please accept our sincere apology we hope you will consider Sheraton Djibouti on your next visit to Djibouti so that we can better deliver upon the guest experience you deserve.


Sincerely

Daniel van der Heijden
General Manager
daniel.vanderheijden@sheratondjibouti.com
+253 21 32 80 00



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Our 6th floor assistant, SAID, made the stay worthwhile. He was very attentive to anything we needed. The cleaning service personnel were also good. They kept the room clean and comfortable, checking on it various times thorough out the day. Overall, this is a fairly good hotel with outstanding service. Unfortunately, the amenities are limited. They seemed surprised that I expected hot water. The air conditioning has a hard time keeping it with the hot climate. There is a pool and gym, but no spa services. The dining facility is pretty good, but a somewhat limited menu.The hotel is rather isolated with not much around, but taxis are readily available.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mporterretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonHotel2014, General Manager at Sheraton Djibouti Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Djibouti Djibouti.

Thank very much for your interest in our Hotel and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.com.

We are very glad to know that you have nice experience during your stay in our Hotel.

All your great words will be shared with our team. Your positive feedback is always a source of motivation for all of us to enhance our guest experience.

It appears from your feedback that there were a few challenges during your stay with hot water which is on the process of installation.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused by the air conditioning and the limited amenities and menu,rest assured that we do take your feedback very serious and do our utmost to better meet your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back

Sincerely,
Daniel van der Heijden
General Manager
daniel.vanderheijden@sheratondjibouti.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018

All amenities and ambience is good, All the facilities provided were very good to the mark. Room service and quality of items kept in the room well organised. All meals were very good and currency is djibouti franks, outside going to take always a good cab driver trustworthy.

Room Tip: Very nice swimming pool area and very widely located around sea side
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vijay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonHotel2014, General Manager at Sheraton Djibouti Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2018

Dear Vijay ,

We are delighted to have been your chosen hotel during your recent stay in Djibouti. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We appreciate your business and value your honest feedback. Your comments have been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver exceptional service to guests like you

Thank you for staying at the Sheraton Djibouti and we hope you choose to create more memories with us whenever your travels bring you back to Djibouti.


Sincerely,
Daniel van der Heijden
General Manager
daniel.vanderheijden@sheratondjibouti.com
+253 213 280 00

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews