We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old villa with friendly staff”
Review of Africa Pension

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Asmara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Africa Pension
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Asmara
Reviewed 4 January 2009

The Africa Pension is one of the better known hotels of Asmara, and with good reason. This old Italian villa opposite the Italian ambassador's residence is set in a quiet street 5 minutes from Harnet Avenue (the main street). A marble staircase leads to a pretty little garden surrounding the villa itself. The rooms are spotless and large with high ceilings, comfortable beds, and the added advantage of armchairs, wardrobes, and sinks in each room. We stayed in three different rooms, all of which were fine, but the first floor is slightly quieter and the rooms seem brighter. The rooms on the right (eg. room 1 and 11) have views of the ambassador's residence; the other side looks over rooftops. The bathrooms are shared, but clean with hot showers. The reception staff are very friendly and obliging. On one occasion there was a mix-up of dates we intended to stay, and we found the pension full. The receptionist was extremely apologetic and walked with us to various other local hotels until he found one that suited us for the night. They arranged a taxi for us to go to Filfil which was cheaper than any other quotes. They happily stored our luggage. On our last night, the staff held a coffee ceremony. This is a simple pension, but it was our favourite hotel in Eritrea.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ms_scotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2007

The Africa pension is in a real good location, very calm with a good view of Asmara and in a part of the city full of gardens and flowers.
The staff is really helpfull and the rooms are kept really clean.
Only problem is the shared toilette.
I recomend it.....

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank shiama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le camere con bagno privato, non sono eccezionali ma meglio delle altre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albertopiccardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gabriele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Angiolino S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank わたか
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank halimyousif o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asmara hotels
3.4 km away
Hotel Asmara Palace
Hotel Asmara Palace
#1 of 7 in Asmara
63 reviews
0.0 km away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Asmara
45 reviews
0.5 km away
Albergo Italia
Albergo Italia
#2 of 7 in Asmara
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Embasoira Hamasien Hotel
0.3 km away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#1 of 7 in Asmara
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Africa Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Africa Pension

Address: Keskese St 25, Asmara, Eritrea
Region: Eritrea > Maekel Region > Asmara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Asmara
Number of rooms: 50

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing