We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden in Piazza is a little slice of Italy”

Castelli Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 380 Restaurants in Addis Ababa
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed June 1, 2012

A really atmospheric restaurant in the heart of Addis. Avoid the grill but the pasta and salads are very well made and they also have some good wines. Best of all is the authentic atmosphere if you've been in Ethiopia a while and want an Italian that does more than just serve spaghetti.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RBagnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 344 of 477 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

The food is excellent. I visited after 42 years I found the food the same excellent northern Italy food It is over priced or they will bring to you menu with no price. The custmer service is horiblethe owner Carletto is a bit arogant, hope one day will change.

Date of visit: May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tesfaye a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2012

this is really good place you can ever find in Addis :) we enjoyed our meal also my doughters they like it so much...

Date of visit: June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SeniyeY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I stumbled upon Ristorante Castelli by accident when googling where to eat in Addis. Ethiopian food is fantastic but gets a bit much after a while. Great online reviews for this place so thought i'd try it. Queue was 10 strong when doors opened at 7pm and restaurant filled up quickly. Great selection of homemade, freshly prepared dishes. Pasta dishes fantastic, i had roast lamb as a secondi, but wouldn't recommend it. Meat quality in Ethiopia not great. Prices surprisingly reasonable. Great deserts, wine and coffee. A must see for those who enjoy Italian, and those who are tired of local cuisine while traveling. I'll definitely be back! 2 points to bare in mind: 1)BOOKING IS A MUST! 2)Restaurant doesn't take credit cards, cash only so ensure you have cash on you.

Date of visit: May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Donovan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Our best dinner in Addis was at Castelli's, a true, old fashioned Italian restaurant. Very clean and lovely. This is a famous spot in Addis and clearly a gathering place for the well heeled. The dinner was not expensive and there was a good wine list. I highly recommend the homemade tortellini with cream and spinach as well as the tiramisu.

Date of visit: April 2012
1  Thank kayak41952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castelli Restaurant also viewed

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
 

Been to Castelli Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.