We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay with Excitment”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #55 of 120 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Reviewed 6 November 2010

i was in Bole Ambassador hotel on Oct. i had a very good time,the room,food and resturant staff was nice but some time the Internet On & Of .reseptioni staff they are profetional specially ABRAHAM he was help full and knowlagebel he has good relation with all guest ,always he assist me so if you go ambassador hote you dont need to worry about Internet b/c abraham is their,

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidbony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Ambassador Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2010

The hotel is very near the international airport and in a good part of town with restaurants, banks etc. withing close walking distance. Food in the restaurant is fine. Unfortunately the hotel is surrounded by building sites but presumably this is temporary. Rooms are a spacious with separate bedroom and sitting room. Satellite tv means you can keep in touch with what is going on internationally though internet connection (free in the rooms and in the business centre) is slow and very unreliable. There is a surprisingly good fitness centre. If you are interested in traditional crafts and produce, make sure you visit the shop just down on the Bole Road which is run by a Women's Group and sells items made by the members - much cheaper, a greater selection than you'll find in the airport shops and the money goes directly to the producers!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PMontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

As a newly wedded man I stayed with my wife for nearly four weeks in Bole Ambassador Hotel, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. Our plan was just to stay for few days, however the great service that we received made us to change our mind and stayed for almost four weeks, even beyond our plan and budget. The Hotel has its own free gym, sauna, steam and internet for who stay. We used to most out ot it. Most of all we enjoyed the buffet breakfast that they offer for anyone who stay a night in the hotel. They also have an excellent room service.
The hotel's location is brillint, its located in a prestigious place called Bole and you feel safe all the time. Its close to restaurants and shopping centres, that makes everyones life easy to pick what you want. www.boleambassadorhotel.com
I can't pass without mentioning their wonderful manager (Kumneger) and all staff members (Receptionists, waiters, porters and securities) were very friendly, made as feel at home. I never expected to get such a quality service..
I would love to forward my thanks to all staff members of the hotel, thank you. You made us feel at home. You all are great, see you on our next visit!!

Melaku, London England

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meluu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

I stayed at the Bole Ambassador Hotel for 4 nights and I stayed there last year. The stay last year was fine but this time, I am never going to stay there again.

When I checked-in, i found the floors to the room completely dirty. it looks like it has not been vacuumed for a long time. Also the smell from the toilet was foul. The toilet was clean - its just the smell coming from the pipes. I asked to change my room but other rooms were not available. (I am pretty sure that they were not sold out - they just did not want to move me to a room that cost more.)

They also kept asking me for a deposit or asking me to pay for the whole stay up front. I said that I can pay by my credit card but was informed over several days that their credit card machine was not working. It had not been working for 5 days. (this seems incedible to me that for a business that says that they take credit cards to have their credit card machine not work for 5 days). They said that I had to pay by cash but of course, this being ethiopia, the atm machine was not working on the days that i tried to get money. So, when i infomed them that i was only able to withdraw some money but not all because the ATMs were not working... the credit card machine miraculously started working within 30 mins after not working for 5 days!

Overall, I just felt like the front desk just lied to me during the whole trip.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelinginAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Would not recommend this hotel unless there are no other choices, credit card charges are ridiculous by local (Dashen) bank and deposits are asked for longer stays without guest being told in advance made the place pretentious.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank palaver123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

The hotel apartment that I received I think it was room 104 or 105 first floor, it was on the corner right side of the hotel. Good size living room comfortable also the bed was I think a king size was pretty big and yes like in the other review it was hard, great for travelers who have back problems like me. A good view of the convention center with two small separate balconys one from the side of the hotel and one in the front. You can see the locals walking up and down the street from time to time. The staff was great. Especially when I called room service for ice almost every hour they was on time very quick response. The food was good too.

Two issue I had with the room was in the bathroom the ceiling was leaking water is was like a drip here and there that landed right on the toilet paper dispenser making the toilet paper wet LOL, but sometimes it was dry. I could have moved to another room if I wanted to, but I was already was situated and comfortable so It was ok. The other was one of the window blinds were missing from the kitchen sink ( the one on the right side) and guests from the other side of the apartments could see me walking in my bedroom back and forth from the bedroom to the bathroom or to the living room, but after a while I got use to it. Other than that it was a good stay. O one more thing if you pay cash for you room afterwards, when you check out make sure you have the receipt where you exchanged you money into Birrs cause they will ask you for it if their credit card system is down like it happpened to me.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NuY0rican75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Nice enough hotel, close to friendship center mall. They have great room service, try the spicy ethiopian soup, best in addis. They have a great gym, it was the best one that i have found in any hotel in ethiopia. The staff is very nice. Paid around $110 for a suite, includes breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dufferdakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addis Ababa hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Lobelia
Hotel Lobelia
#12 of 120 in Addis Ababa
105 reviews
0.0 km away
The Residence Suite Hotel
The Residence Suite Hotel
#15 of 120 in Addis Ababa
79 reviews
0.0 km away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#13 of 120 in Addis Ababa
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Harmony Hotel
Harmony Hotel
#21 of 120 in Addis Ababa
310 reviews
0.0 km away
Friendship International Hotel
Friendship International Hotel
#35 of 120 in Addis Ababa
129 reviews
0.0 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#18 of 120 in Addis Ababa
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: Bole Road | 400 meters from Addis Ababa Bole International Airport, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Addis Ababa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 120 Hotels in Addis Ababa
Price Range: $72 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMBASSADOR Hotel is a four star hotel located in a walking distance from Bole international Airport and a door step to the millennium hall. It is also surrounded by tourist attractions, shopping malls, ticketing offices, entertainment establishments, embassies and International Organizations. AMBASSADOR Hotel is free from noise and visual pollution which gives your guests safety and comfort. Our newly opened expansion increase our capacity to 196 luxuriously appointed all types of rooms that feature high speed WI-FI internet access, satellite TV and amenities to present you with the perfect balance of comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing