We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place and very friendly people.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summer Grove Villa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Banjul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Summer Grove Villa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Banjul
Lagos
1 review
“Lovely place and very friendly people.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

We stayed here for 9 days with our three little kids and two nannies. We stayed in a three bedroom apartment. Being our first time in Gambia, we found the location to be perfect. A few minutes walk from the "strip" with all the bars and restaurants. We found Alan and Sharon to be a very hospitable and friendly couple. They made our stay a most memorable one. Sharon baked a lovely cake for our daughter's birthday (5 year old) and Alan gave her free swimming lessons. The apartment was cleaned daily and the staff were polite and friendly. Summergrove villa is a safe and secure place to stay. Being the off season period, we found Gambia to be quiet, peaceful and to our liking. We had a lovely chap (Peaceful), who took us around Gambia. He was introduced to us by Alan and we found him to be very honest and pleasant. The only negative for us at Summergrove was the malfunctioning airconditioner in our bedroom (apartment 1). It made sleeping at night very uncomfortable. We would definitely stay here on our future trips to the Gambia and would be looking forward to Sharon's lovely Yorkshire Pudding. Bini's just across the road is a lovely place to eat out at night. Ian & Carol.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanLagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
10
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london,england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

i travel to the gambia alot and this is by far the best place to stay clean tidy and sharon will make anything you want - alan took us to some graet beaches some my gambian friends didn't even know about ! cant wait to go back

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank towergilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2009

You'll probably hear those phrases alot in Gambia! Relaxing and enjoying the non stop sunshine!

Arriving in the Gambia can be quite hectic what with the taxis, bumsters and other misfits. But Alan and Sharon from the Summer Grove Villa make the experience painless and enjoyable with a airport to villa transfer all arranged so after the ardulous 7/8 hours flight (hopefully not with Thomas Cook!) all you have to do is turn up.

On arrival you are greeted and instantly feel welcome and relaxed. The room have air conditioning, and all mod cons which are kept to high standards and are cleaned daily.

For someone's first time in Gambia I do thoroughly recommend the summer grove villa over and above the Hotel experience. Sharon and Alan will fill you in on the pit falls, lines etc that you will hear regularly from the locals helping you avoid the usual scams ( something that you dont get with the hotels which are always surrounded by the bumsters.

The welcome you get isn't just on arrival but continues throughout your stay and are always willing to recommend and arrange trips and taxis through their contacts (again preventing you from getting ripped off) They are always around to have a chat and truely make you the villa feel like a home from home.

Another great thing is the location, just a couple of minutes from the strip (central area for restruants, pubs and clubs), beach and monkey park, which is always handy for those late nights.

We will definitely be coming back and after hearing some horror stories of other hotels we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

PS. If you like games ask Sharon what granny bought when she went to market?

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ingented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2009

Great apartments, nothing to envy from any hotel. Great staff and great owners that help you out with everything, recommendations, trip arrangemeys, etc... The apartments are very spacy and confortable, elegant, calm and peceful and secure. They provide airport transportation and room service. Very close to Senegambia strip, 3 min walk. If I go back to The Gambia I would definitely return there.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teresaviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England Rodley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

We have just returned from a week long trip to Summer Grove Villa in the Senegambia area of Gambia. We booked for pretty much the same reasons as the previous reviewer and just like them it was our first trip to Gambia.

Firstly accomodation.

We found Summer Grove because of the previous review on Trip Advisor. We looked at the website and decided to book a one bedroom apartment. Because it was over the internet you are never quite sure what you will get but Summer Grove did not dissappoint. What you see is what you get, very clean comfortable western standard apartments, as much hot water as you need and a daily maid service. Summer Grove is also on a great location just a few minutes from the area where the bars and restaurants are. Sharon and Alan are always on hand if you need them but were never intrusive on our privacy. Perfect for us in all aspects.

Restaurants

We were expecting to find specialist Gambian restauants but quickly found this not to be the case. There are many different places to eat offering all types of food but then offering a limited number of Gambian dishes on thier menu as well. We tried many different Gambian dishes, Affra, Yassa, Benachin, Domado and Cow foot soup (yes really). All of it was great. The one restaurant that stood out for us was the Jewel of India Indian restaurant, the food and service here was second to none, also the Mandarin Chinese was first class as well. It is not on the main strip but just on the main road past the strip if you are walking from Summer Grove.

The one place we would not recommend is the Clay Oven we had looked at thier website before we went to Gambia and it looked fab, DONT BOTHER, it is twice the price of anywhere else and really horrid food, we went, we ordered, we started to eat our first course and decided to leave, it really is that bad. Overpriced microwaved rubbish is just not for us.

The Beach

Totally beautuful, clean, and stunning. To get to the beach we walked down the strip and through the Senegambia hotel. There are a number of beach bars on the beach but the one that we used was Seaview, the food here was really good and the staff cant do enough for you. To get to the seaview go through the Senegambia hotel, at the beach go right and the Seaview is the blue beach bar. I also had a massage and my husband a pedicure at the Voodoo beach bar, that was A1 as well. The Voodoo is right at the end of the beach if you turn left out of the Senegambia hotel.

Bumsters/Hassle

We had read that that the Bumsters (boys selling stuff and taxi drivers) could be a real hassle, we did not find this at all, they are just normal people trying to make a living. We saw and heard some people being really rude to them but it is just not necessary, if you politely tell them that you dont need what ever they are selling they will leave you alone. The other thing we did was never promise "tomorrow" when tomorrow comes they will remember.


Is it safe

Summer Grove is in a gated complex that has a 24 hour security guard on duty so that is totally safe. We also felt safe walking about at all times even late at night. You just have to use the same common sense that you would at home or anywhere else on holiday.

In Summary

Summer Grove is a great place to stay both in terms of location and standard of accomodation, Gambia is a fab country to visit. If like I was you are unsure whether to visit Gambia or not dont hesitate any more, get booked up and visit, its a real gem.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bijilo, Gambia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2009

have recently arrived back from the Gambia and can honestly say i (or the kids) did not want to come home. we chose the Gambia as we usualy holiday in January and have to do long haul to get the weather but after much research discovered this place to be only a six hour flight with no time difference and weather hot enought to lie in. First overall impression is very similar to Goa but this place is nowhere near as big or as busy.We stayed at summergrovevilla not actually a villa but luxury apartments in a small compound with 24 hour security, it is owned and run by english people alan and sharon who are brilliant, they are happy to help with any questions you have and give you their advice on places to go, eat and days out. The apartments are really beautiful we could have happily lived in ours we had a three bedroom with two bathrooms living room dining area and kitchen with cooker etc.There is a pool in the central area with an open bar where you can order snacks through the day and even a sunday roast if you like. we also looke at the other apartments as we will definatly be going back next year and they are all of excellent standard.it is only a five minute walk from the strip, this is the main touristy area (two streets really) of restaraunts and bars. there is a great choice we ate indian, chinese, lebanese and local dishes all with no complaints. the wild monkey was often then visited as it had the most entertainment drumming, fire eating and dancing and limbo dancing most nights.We did a couple of trips out a jeep safari arranged by alan and sharon which was much cheaper than using a tour company and there was only our family in the jeep so we chose what we wanted to do. We also hired quad bikes off the beach (haggle for a good price). The girls and i did a trip to Banjul shopping which again sharon arranged with a local girl who helped us with haggling. We were also shown some lovely stretches of beach, we went to a couple of local schools as we had brought supplies for them (pencils pens crayons etc) which they are very grateful for.Also we visited the monkey park which is just accross the road from the accomodation, we did not take a guide just strolled through at our leisure. Also you can go to a crocodile park where you can actually stroke a croc that was scary!Overall we loved the Gambia and summergrovevilla,The local boys are a little overbearing but you soon get used to them and they mean you no harm they just want to earn money off you by selling you trips or ofering taxis if you dont want their help tell them so and they tend to respect that.

Helpful?
4 Thank tinateaspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banjul
0.0 km away
Kombo Beach Hotel
Kombo Beach Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kotu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.0 km away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
0.0 km away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 7 in Kotu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.0 km away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Kololi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Grove Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Grove Villa

Property: Summer Grove Villa
Address: Banjul, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Banjul
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Banjul
Number of rooms: 44

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing