We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special, but pretty good for Ghana”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Accra Airport
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nothing special, but pretty good for Ghana”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed here twice, two weekends running, reception at airport after a long haul flight definitely appreciated as it meant a relatively pain-free arrival into Ghana as I was whisked off to a comfortable aircon club-style lounge as soon as I departed the Immigration area. Wasn't offered a cool drink though, and nothing available for sale which I found a bit odd. Reception at hotel itself 2mins drive away was friendly and efficient, and I was given a large room on a high floor. Room was large and comfortable, everything worked OK.

And then the guy next door came home.........and I realised the interconnecting door was doing ZERO in noise abatement between the rooms as he was having a (very loud) conversation on the phone and I could hear every single word very clearly over the TV programme I was watching. As this was late at night I waited a while for it to stop, which it did eventually, but then I started hearing everything else going on in the room, and I mean everything!! Turning over in bed, etc etc, you get the picture. Too much information from where I was sitting.

Rang Reception, explained the situation, and they quite happily transferred me to another smaller room without interconnecting door after someone came up to the room and listened for a coupla minutes to the noise level. I happily went off to sleep in my comfy bed in my new quiet room. Yes moving was irritating, but it was managed very nicely by the staff.

Service in the restaurant and bar was underwhelming during both stays, took literally one hour to get a menu in the bar, let alone a drink! Breakfast was packed with American military types, bit odd, felt like I was on an army base not in a hotel. So if you need to eat there, allow plenty of time, food was average, nothing to rave about.

I have been using Golden Tulip for my transit business stays, but will now stay here purely for ease of access to/from airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not have interconnecting doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DameDuFerAustralie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Accra Airport, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear DameDuFerAustralie,

Thank you for your recent stays with us and leaving feedback. We are pleased you liked the convenient location of our hotel as well as your room accommodations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry for any inconvenience the noise from the other guest caused you. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    202
    145
    44
    17
See reviews for
21
19
50
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We are a hard working team of doctors needing somewhere comfortable and efficient to stay and Holiday Inn delivered. We have stayed in Accra before, and this was the best hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLCUK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

With all my travel experience here are some points that are to me a disadvantage
- music too loud at the pool and everywhere in the hotel, no place to rest or nap ( hardly can discuss with colleagues outside )
- rooms are clean but towels have an old grey color and some show old spots, inconsistency in cleaning depending on who cleans your room,
- food ... Buffet was terrible , a la carte my order did not match so did my colleagues order as well
- equipment at the pool ... Old and poor only 2 umbrellas for 10 chairs around the pool ( you better get sun cream or avoid pool)
- very expensive for all they offer
- walking distance from airport
-

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Accra Airport, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Julia S,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Accra hotels

Hollywood, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed here on three different occasions
The price they charge per night does not match the quality of the rooms.. The rooms needs to be upgraded..
The lobby is crowded most of the time. Looks like a hang out place to me (not a good thing)

Room Tip: It is a good place to stay though !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Accra Airport, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear F N,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I'm sorry you were not satisfied with cost of your room. Prices do vary depending on the market. I also sorry for the room accommodations and the unusual situation of our hotel lobby that did not live up to your expectations. I assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you again should your travels bring you back to Accra, Ghana.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

It is the second time i am staying at Holiday Inn Accra Airport-the first in December 2011.
By and large, it is a great place.
This time round i had rather a bumpy start when i got here and they had no room for me yet it had been booked earlier so i had to be taken to Africa Regent Hotel. The receptionist- a one gentleman did not seem bothered about this but it was an inconvenience.

I love Africa Regent hotel where i had also stayed twice (November 2011 and February 2012). The problem is that this time, i came to stay in holiday Inn and not Africa Regent. I hope they can work on this as people do not want such an inconvenience.

Well, they picked me after a day and the atmosphere -rooms helped me forget the inconvenience i had experienced. Very comfortable beds with very soft pillows and pretty clean rooms. I love the rooms at the swimming pool side- looking at the swimming pool and all. However, they need to have more towels in the rooms and also improve on the quality of towels.

The breakfast is fresh and deliciously wonderful. I enjoyed the best of it. The place is also very near the airport-walkable distance-though the hotel has pickups and drop off to the airport.
Like i said, by and large, i love the place.

Room Tip: I love the rooms facing the swimming pool for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abuja, Nigeria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I had a wonderful time there. The hotel is very beautiful and clean. The room I was in had a selection of quality pillows which were all super comfy so I slept very comfortably. There was a hair drier and electric trouser press in my room also. It was spacious and everything worked well. I'd definitely love to go back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Taffy_16P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Well, as this was a business trip i cannot say it was a bad experience as it served the purpose intended. The food was ok, the drink was ok, the facilities were OK if not lacking a bit of soul. As with this chain of hotels, the rooms were spacious and well kitted out. The aircon was not functioning as it would have expected as the sheets felt a bit damp and also there was signs of condensation on the inside of the windows. However, i have stayed at a few places in Accra and although some may provide better quality, the location of the Holiday Inn is unrivalled.

Room Tip: View over the pool area (South)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goviegovie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
5.9 km away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
5.9 km away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
586 reviews
0.2 km away
ibis Styles Accra Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Golden Tulip Accra
Golden Tulip Accra
#16 of 92 in Accra
488 reviews
5.8 km away
Kempinski Hotel Gold Coast City
2.0 km away
The African Regent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Accra Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Accra Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Accra Airport
Address: 19 20 Plot | Airport City, Accra, Ghana
Phone Number:
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Accra Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only one kilometer from Kotoka International Airport, and only seven kilometers from the city centre, Holiday Inn Accra Airport, part of the African Sun group, is ideally located for the business traveller or adventurous tourist.The Holiday Inn Accra Airport has 168 appointed rooms and all have high-speed internet access (Wi-Fi), satellite television and a mini-bar. The Wiase Restaurant, overlooking the sparkling pool is open all day and caters for the large appetite to snacks for the not so hungry.La Cabona Pool Bar and Restaurant gives guests variety and an opportunity to relax.The staff at Holiday Inn Accra Airport are proud of their can-do approach to guest requests which start with free airport transfers. All you have to do is advice them of your flight details and they will do the rest.Exceptional conferencing facilities are matched by the skills of the dedicated conferencing and banqueting manager, whose team can cater for a reception for 450 people, a banquet for 250 or 300 people seated for a conference. A total of five meetings rooms and all ancillary equipment are available and Holiday Inn Accra Airport staff expertise and experience is on tap.What will be unfamiliar though, is the particular flavour given to the traditional African Sun Welcome by the Ghanaian staff. This part of West Africa has a charm all of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, IHG, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Accra Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Accra Airport Hotel Accra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing