We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Korkpalm hotel in Asylum Down (Not Korkdam)”
Review of Korkdam Hotel

Korkdam Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Accra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Korkdam Hotel
Ranked #42 of 91 Hotels in Accra
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Not expensive,

Very nice staff.
Some examples:
They carried my suitcase and did not ask for tip.
There was a problem with the water supply, so at a certain moment, the shower didn't work. I went to the reception and within 5 minutes he came back with a full bucket of water, with much enough water to shower.

Sure it would have been better if the water was working, but I appreciate it when staff is attentive.

Rooms: simple and clean.
Airco: could not turn it on, however they also had a fan.
Internet cafe: forget it, go to the Accra mall
Breakfast: Oke
Restaurant: cannot tell, I went to a restaurant elsewere.
Safety: reliable staff
I have been told in 2010 there will be a new owner and all staff proberbly loses their jobs, which is a pitty, because in my opinion that was the real value of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghana_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2010

The hotel has a good size room and clean staff are friendly and we had no problem I will stay there again the only bad thing is the access to the hotel the road is shocking muddy and not fit for a car to go through.. the road look like a track in a rugged bush land at the outback but other then that all was good.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MsK16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

Hotel is poor, but relatively clean and qiet, our room was spacious, air condition was technically fit.
But staff... horrible - Daniel manager of Korkdam Hotel promised to pick up us from Kotoka Airport. Of course he didn't come, and we have to look for hotels phone number without acces to internet in midle of night, to catch taxi, pay for it (20 GhC + 10 for guy who helped us). Next day in hotel Daniel just say "sorry" without explanation what hapens. Our room was on 4 floor and lift was switch of (just for economy). Breakfast poor and small. Internet in room was working only one hour and was very slowly, for better connection you should go to hotel lobby. To city center is about 20-30 minutes on taxi. We decide to leave Korkdam after one day (plan was - 3 days in Accra). When we wanted check out nobody was able to recive a payment with credit card and we must payd with cash what was very uncomfortable for us (additional visit to bank for cash). Staff looked tired and dissatisfied with his job. It was realy unpleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jacek65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

After travel in Ghana for 9 days my oldest daughter and I need to stay at a hotel that was clean, had hot water, and was confortable. We stayed at the Kordam hotel on Kordam street in New Achmoter. This hotel was clean, the staff was very helpful and friendly, and the bathroom had hot water with power. This was a great place to stay before heading back to the states. When we went to lay down on the bed, we noticed that the mattress was hard, and we felt like we were sleeping on a box spring or the floor. The next morning we asked the house attendents if all the beds were hard like ours was . she said yes, and we were ready to find another hotel for the next night. but to my surprise the maid came into our rooms with a softer mattress that made our stay more confortable.
They said they had a bussiness center, not true. The front desk clerk let me use the mangers computer in his office.
As for the resterant it needs some improvement. It took them to long for our order to come to the table, but thats most of Ghanas places to eat.
The price was right $85.00us a night.
you can find a better hotel in Ghana at the same price. you just have to look. If they improve there mattress and food service maybe the next time i come to Ghana I may say there.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lglenda169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

I stayed at this hotel comfortable for a budget travel restruant very good and outside bar and the people are wonderfull about 10 usd a night i will stay again

1  Thank LORI7734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2008

Korkdam Hotel, which enjoys a prime location in a quiet area at New Achimota, is the embodiment of style, comfort and convenience.

Korkdam hotel has never changed it's name to Korkpalm. Korkdam Hotel has always been Korkdam Hotel. It has been relocated to Achimota. The friendliness of the staff will blow you away.

I have stayed at this hotel and it is one of the best places in Accra.

Check it out at http://www.korkdamhotel.com

Phone: +233.21.400423
Phone: +233.21.400916
FAX: +233.21.400259
E-mail: info@korkdamhotel.com

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank wintec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2008

Central, friendly, clean, cheap (as low as USD 22 for singles). Better take the doubles with A/c or fan. Modernisation has improved things immensely but don't expect the Hilton.
Has own generator, which is needed these days. Restaurant food around USD 4, Ghanaian or international. Just off Ring Road and easy for taxis, tro tros, etc. Cash is king, no credit cards.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank OsuGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Accra hotels
0.0 km away
Pemicsa Hotel
Pemicsa Hotel
#39 of 91 in Accra
17 reviews
7.0 km away
Niagara Hotel
Niagara Hotel
#70 of 91 in Accra
60 reviews
13.0 km away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 91 in Accra
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
8.9 km away
Tribeca Hotel
Tribeca Hotel
#79 of 257 in Accra
34 reviews
7.1 km away
Pink Hostel
Pink Hostel
#21 of 205 in Accra
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Korkdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Korkdam Hotel

Address: 49 P.O. Box at | No. 8 Korkdam Avenue, New Achimota, Accra, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 91 Hotels in Accra
Hotel Class:2 star — Korkdam Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Korkdam Hotel is located at New Achimota, Accra, Ghana. It offers 55 air-conditioned guestrooms, all of which have Satellite TV, High-speed Wireless Internet, and Mini Bar. Some of its amenities include massage service, travel services (airport transfer, car rental, and complimentary parking), and restaurant and bar. While staying here, you can visit some interesting places like National Museum of Ghana, Osu Castle, and Labadi Beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing