We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
3 island catamaran day cruise

Fabulous day.. special thanks to Marcel and his crew for taking care of me. Must have looked older... read more

Reviewed March 11, 2018
Helen N
,
Lincoln United Kingdom
via mobile
Full-Day Cruise to the North

We had an amazing Full-Day cruise trip to Flat Island and Gabriel Island. The water surrounding... read more

Reviewed September 23, 2018
Global800151
via mobile
Read all 29 reviews
  
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
9
2
1
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
2
1
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wind dancer flat island coin de mire gabriel island day cruise bbq lunch crew catamaran beaches
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 17 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing Full-Day cruise trip to Flat Island and Gabriel Island. The water surrounding them is amazing, turquoise and shallow. The three crew members were really friendly, cheerful and skillful. We had some winds and rains on the way to the islands, but the crew gave us a smooth journey and we enjoyed the whole trip. There were other catamarans following a similar route, but we were the first to arrive at Flat Island and enjoyed some quiet time on the beach before other people arrived. The swimming stop at the Laguna was also an amazing experience.

Thank Global800151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2018 via mobile

You should avoid them at all costs! The worst experience I have ever had at sea, I am from a family of sea men and despite this I along with many others were petrified.

It was 9 in the morning, and we were not provided with the breakfast that we had been promised on the itinerary beyond a few miserable slices of cake.

This was only the beginning of this traumatic boat ride and complete waste of a day.

The waves out of Grand Baie were strong and scary, I read the forecast after the cruise and we went out in winds of 1017 units which is incredibly strong. There was an anti cyclone we should NEVER at been at sea. However, we were not given any safety jackets and the skipper did not advise anyone of what was happening. Instead, we kept heading into the huge waves and at one point the deck was even getting completely sprayed by water with us rocking up and down terrified. We tried to ask to go back to the island but it was clear they wanted to force us to do the trip so no refunds will be issued. Three of the female passengers onboard felt sick of terror but when someone asked for a towel or blanket to comfort them we were told that they have nothing to give us. One lady was crying of fear. Trip felt long and scary, there was nothing pleasurable about this experience.

We were dumped on flat island in wind and rain with no cover and told "go enjoy the beach" whilst skippers were preparing our lunch. We were wet and freezing cold.

After (a very average) lunch - similar scenario, we had huge waves and froze on and off the whole way back. Stopped at coin de mire where waves and current were strong.

This trip was scary, unprofessional and rough with no regards for how we felt. Someone on the beach told us that they usually cram 41 passengers on the boat to make sure they meet their quota, so it is not a surprise that our cruise was not cancelled by them when it clearly should have been.

There are plenty of reputable operators who might charge a bit more but who will put your safety and comfort first. Go with one of those and avoid this organisation at all costs. Some of the cruisers had done this route multiple times and shared with us - they had never been so scared so those conditions 100% could have been avoided.

Unsafe money trap.

Thank Aloveforgoodthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2018

This company has very little regard for how customers will feel during the trip - it is not
a pleasant trip, it is a trip where they take you to a spot like you are catching the bus. Participated in a cruise to the northern islands and as soon as we stepped into the open ocean, it was the most frightening experience of the cruisers at sea. The waves were enormous with additional wind and rain, we were rocking up and down and even the crew looked unnerved by the experience.
A young girl was crying her heart out on her mother's arm. Another girl was having a panic attack. A couple was so scared they never left the boat.

The crew does not even have a towel to provide in case of someone feeling ill. When we landed back to the islands one of the girls who was upset was told by the crew " mo ti truv ou pe plore avant " which means " I saw you cry earlier." Zero regard for the discomfort and no life jackets given.

We landed back to Grand Baie and got told that numerous catamaran trips had been cancelled that day due to an anti cyclone and the risky conditions. Food was average, crew was rough especially in the condition we went in.

Never again.

2  Thank Luca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We joined the Wave Dancer as a party of 8 to the Mauritius North Islands. The catamaran was crammed with 38 guests, overcrowded with poor food which was not at all as per the brochure. We pointed out to the captain that a fellow guest removed coral from the ocean and he did nothing about it in-spite of advertising themselves as eco cruising. Rather avoid this operator and try one of the many competitors as the islands are beautiful

1  Thank Biba6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

Fabulous day.. special thanks to Marcel and his crew for taking care of me. Must have looked older than my 62 years but the helping hands were welcome. The crew do a great job of providing bbq lunch on board in such a confined space. I wish I had known to take a sunshade and drink for time spent on Gabriel Island. Trip was good value and good fun

Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 23, 2017 via mobile

Finally in Mauritius and managed to booked a catamaran day trip to the northern islands of flat island, Gabriel island and coin de mare...

Booked the tour via Ibrahim tours in Grand Baie, another highly recommended tour company. Tour included breakfast and lunch, unlimited drinks including alcohol and snorkeling. Sounded great... our catamaran has such a cool name, wind dancer 2

What you are not told and some pointers :

Catamaran tours take up to 32 - 50 people, yeah that’s a lot !!! 99% of tourist are Europeans and most don’t speak English.

Ride to the first island takes about 1hr 45 min

Ride is very rough, so take motion sickness tablets or bring with.

Coffee, teas and juice is served before departure from Grand Baie but thereafter no drinks are served until lunch time.

Lunch is served after spending some on the first island, flat island. Which is about 1,5hrs of beach time. So you will only eat about 3hrs 15mins after departing from Grand Baie.

Beach time includes time taken to get to islands in rubber bouy.

The first island we stopped at was flat island, enjoyed some beach time, back to the catamaran for lunch and then there is the option of going to Gabriel island which is right across from flat island.

Flat and Gabriel island- white beaches , no shade on the beaches, beaches had many rocks which make it difficult to walk into the water. Beaches are beautiful but more for sun tanners and snorkeling. Bring plenty of sun screen, min SPF 50.

After the islands the catamaran will stop on the way back to Grand Baie at coin de mare for snorkeling for about 20mins. But it’s really more like 10mins. They will throw bread in the ocean for the fish, but really one only sees 2/3 types of fish and that’s it. Snorkeling gear is provided but it’s old and rubbish. Best to bring your own snorkeling gear.

After that it’s a quick trip back to the Grand Baie which is strange since it takes forever to get to these islands, perhaps some cheating involved by tour operators.

As we departed back after snorkeling, the drinks started flowing, perhaps as the skipper and crew had to meet their quota.

Tips

Take with bottled water.

Bring your own snorkeling gear and shoes for walking in the water. Lots of loose rocks on the beach.

If possible a beach umbrella

Your own bottle of wine or spirits.

Beach towels for sitting in the catamaran.

Motion sickness tablets

Don’t expect too much from the lunch; food portions will be small, food will be bland. Good thing is that there is enough food for seconds and 3rds which you will likely have.

Skip this tour and rather do the dolphin swimming tours.

Go in a large group, take over the catamaran and have a party.

Research the cruise operator, as tour companies use several cruise operators.

I would highly recommend that you do not use this cruise operator.

4  Thank Nate05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2017

Day trip on a large Catamaran to 3 islands, with time ashore to swim/sunbathe, and snorkelling over the reef. BBQ lunch and drinks (Tea/coffee, soft and alcoholic) included. Food was very good and plentiful. very friendly, informative, attentive crew.

We had 20 on board which was fine, but if full, could carry 40.
Take suncream!

Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2016

We and close friends of ours, had an amazing trip with Passion Oceane!! The staff were highly skilled in their job, and they treated everyone with utmost respect and professionalism, they went out of their way to make everyone feel at home and at ease, while still keeping an expert eye on the safety of all passengers and their well being. The vistas, sounds and overall experience was mind blowing, you cannot completely put it into words. We had exceptional food and beverages served to us that further enhanced our feeling of well being and added to the total pleasure of the cruise. We were the first catamaran leaving Grand Baie, and the last to return, after visiting Flat Island and Gabriel Island as well as stopping over at Coin de Mire for snorkelling that was the absolute highlight of the day. We will highly recommend Passion Oceane to anyone looking for the experience of a life time to explore the wonderful sights and heritage of the Mauritius Islands. Money well spent, with a memory to last a lifetime!!! (Nico, Aldo, Petro and Lizette)

Thank _petrovanre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2016

I cannot recommend this company enough. We held our wedding with Passion Oceane recently and we had a very positive experience. We researched a number of different options and quickly discovered all sorts of hidden costs, though this was not the case with this company.

It was unfortunate that the weather reports said conditions would not be good for the scheduled date. They were very quick to tell us that we could reschedule or cancel if necessary, and that we would receive a full refund if we had to cancel. Fortunately we were able to go ahead with an evening ceremony and everyone on board had a fantastic experience.

Fabienne, the wedding coordinator, was present for the ceremony and went to great lengths to make sure everything ran smoothly. She consulted us regularly before making decisions (what time to serve champagne etc.) but we were mostly happy to take her recommendations. It meant that we felt very much in control but didn’t have to do any organizing as she had everything taken care of.

The catamaran went to a secluded area of Pereybere and we had the ceremony as the sun set, then we went back to Grand Baie where we had the dinner, still onboard. It was a fantastic evening for everyone involved and if we could go back and do everything over again we wouldn’t change anything about it.

Thank AlexAlex8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2016

We agreed a private charter rate with Bruno via e-mails and everything went very smoothly including an early start that gained us access to "our" own private island (before the other catamarans arrived!).
Crew were excellent with just the right blend of great humour and great service, meaning that we thoroughly enjoyed our day out in a beautiful part of the world.
Saw rays and small turtles thanks to the local knowledge of skipper Nezam.
Only minor disappointment was that due to the windy conditions we did not see any dolphins - next time I would love to go out during whale-watching season as the experience is definitely worth repeating!

Thank Shinergise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews