We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last min find on Tripadvisor not at all disappointed”
Review of selFish

selFish
Ranked #132 of 1,137 Restaurants in Mauritius
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Healthy, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: SELFISH IS A COSY RESTAURANT MAINLY SERVING FRESH FISH AND SEAFOOD, OUR SUSHI DISHES ARE BASED ON MAURITIAN FLAVOURS SUCH AS GUAVA AND TAMARIND AND ARE A NICE TASTY TWIST ON TRADITIONAL SUSHI. WE ALSO SERVE DELICIOUS BURGHERS WITH HOMEMADE FRIES AND A BEEF FILLET TO DIE FOR. OUR LOVELY TROPICAL GARDEN SITUATED AT THE BACK OF THE RESTAURANT IS WELCOMING YOU TO RELAX AND ENJOY A DRINK WITH FRIENDS OR FAMILY. SO TREAT YOURSELF, BE SelFISH!
Reviewed June 3, 2018 via mobile

Had a 5 min scan on TripAdvisor for lunch today. I felt like grilled seafood (of course) and found Selfish to be a convenient 5 min drive from where we were staying.

It’s not a fancy place out front by the road but it’s fine. The secret garden in back (open for dinner) looks lovely.

Food is excellent , I was there with my Dad who’d never had clams or Razor clams so we got a plate to share ...garlic , white wine , sweet , not over cooked and delicious!

Seared tuna for main was great , perfectly done , the pina colada sauce still troubles me (maybe just my taste) but not unpleasant at all and the local veg and salad were amazing .

My Dad had Dorada fillet with lemon herb sauce , impeccable.

Some of the reviews here suggest it’s on the pricey side , could be compared to the local market but for me the plates were very nicely presented and this compared quality wise to decent French /Italian Kitchens. I didn’t think it was expensive at all .

Service is very friendly.

Thanks for a lovely lunch

Thank LukashB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nodor, Propriétaire at selFish, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Good day Lukash,
Thank you very much for your review,I am really glad you enjoyed your meal and the service.
We hope to see you again soon.
Nora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 222 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed a relaxing evening tonight at Selfish. Food came out quick and was delicious. Well done very enjoyable. Beef teriyaki starter was my highlight.

Thank heeepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nodor, Owner at selFish, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again at Selfish

Regards,
Nora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2018

nice little restaurant next to the main street with a pretty garden in the back.
The service was super friendly and also the food was great - and very cheap compared to other places we visited in Grand Baie.
Can only recomment this place, we came back two more times :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gerald_Wetterstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nodor, Propriétaire at selFish, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Thank you very much Gerald for your nice review.
We hope to welcome you again at Selfish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2018

This small roadside restaurant has the most delicious selection of seafood. Dont miss the giant prawns-delicious.
There is a quiet 'secret garden't the rear and three or four tables at the front.
Friendly service and good value. Worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Oxacademic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nodor, Owner at selFish, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Thank you so much for your review, we hope to see you again soon at Selfish.

Regards,
Nora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2018 via mobile

Great restaurant! Excellent service and delicious food! We will be back soon! Secret Garden was a treat - bar and food!

Thank heathcliffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nodor, Owner at selFish, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Thank you very much for your review, hope to see you again soon

Nora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed selFish also viewed

Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Pointe Aux Piments, Pamplemousses District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 

Been to selFish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing