We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
22
78
122
43
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
78
122
43
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews large key hotel staff international hotel group tour pool area city centre will stay there again breakfast buffet rooms are big bottled water long flight africa codes foyer plugs lock desert
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 297 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2017 via mobile

Reminds me if the motel Bruce Willis holes up in in the film pulp fiction. 1960's style road trip motel rooms with curtains to match. Tv works on cathode ray technology and headboard has a built in radio that doesn't work. Wifi rationed with little tokens of 500mb at a time, staff moderately interested in your welbeing. Clean enough and novel, but pretty impersonal you're probably better off in a bnb.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariHotels, Manager at Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2017

Dear Anthony B

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments which we have taken note of. Renovations and upgrading is an ongoing process at Safari Hotels with certain items taking precedence over others. We are aware of the speed of the internet and we are in the process of upgrading to a new and faster internet package with our service provider.

We look forward to having you as our guest again so that we can improve on the issues that made your stay with us less pleasant.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2017

Safari Hotel is a nice 3 Star hotel in a 5 Star Hotel environment. The hotel is equipped with nice facilities but the rooms must be improved upon. It should be upgraded with modern electronics such flat screen TV or Plasma TV, Refrigerator and good furniture.

Nice restaurant and bar, the staffs are wonderful.

I will always want to return back to the this place.

Room tip: would prefer the executive suite
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank simsid2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariHotels, Manager at Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2017

Dear simsid2014

We would like to thank you for writing a review on our establishment and for all your comments. I have shared your words with the team who are very grateful. I would like to mention that our renovations program is an ongoing one. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meals, as well as experiencing our true hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2017

The hotel is really run down and the rooms need refurbishing and maintenance. Taps were dirty and the hot water tap for the washbasin did not work. Floor tiles cracked all over the room, and the walls can do with some painting and crack fixing. The aircon in the breakfast room did not work, and therefore it was uncomfortable hot.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
2  Thank 123fredd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariHotels, Manager at Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2017

Dear 123fredd

We would like to thank you for taking a few minutes to review our establishment. We do however apologize for the aircon in the restaurant that was not working. With the heavy rains that we were blessed with in January, the aircon started to leak, but it was fixed as soon as we were aware of the issue. We would also like to inform you that our renovations project at the hotel is still ongoing. It is unfortunate that we were not aware of the problems you had in your room when you were still checked in, as we would have immediately sorted it our for you.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future, after which you will leave pleasantly surprised after experiencing our amazing hospitality.

Kindest Regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2017

We would probably only give this hotel a Poor rating, or at best an Average rating expect for the fact that they really helped out when we needed them. We had checked into our room early afternoon on a Thursday, and already returned our hire vehicle, since we were joining a Nomad Africa Overland Tour departing from the hotel early the following morning. Thus we were without our own, private transport, when mid-afternoon my wife suddenly and unexpectedly required rapid medical attention. We immediately went to the hotel reception, who quickly arranged for their shuttle-bus driver, Silas, to drive us to a private hospital, where my wife was able to consult a doctor and be prescribed appropriate medication - thus allowing us to continue with our holiday uninterrupted. Silas also provided us with his mobile phone number so that we were able to call him when we were finished, for him to drive us back to our hotel. Silas was very kind and helpful, as were all the staff at the hotel reception - and we were not even charged for the shuttle bus drive to and from the hospital. Thank you very much Silas and Safari Hotel - we really appreciate your help when we most needed it.

As for the rest - well the hotel is very dated (think early 1970s at latest) and our room was exceedingly run down. The desk was broken and the refrigerator did not work. There was a large opening in the middle of the head board of the bed, which clearly used to contain a built-in radio - the radio was no longer there but the hole was, as were the wires that used to connect to the radio. On the morning we left, we discovered that (despite running the hot water a very long time) there was no hot water, so had to take a cold shower (no time to call reception and ask them to attend to the problem).

Dinner at hotel restaurant consisted of a self-service menu of not particularly exciting or tasty dishes, usually lukewarm at best; likewise for the breakfast buffet.

Also note that the hotel is situated right next to the main take-off runway for the local airport (not to be confused with Windhoek International Airport which is located far out of town). Because of this, one can hear the noise of all the small planes as they taxi to the end of the runway, before accelerating for take-off.

Personally, we would not choose this hotel again if we had an alternative, but note that they DO help you quickly and efficiently should you be unfortunate enough to need to see a doctor.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WorldwideAtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariHotels, Manager at Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2017

Dear WorldwideAtraveller

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our establishment. I have shared your comments with Management and team who are all extremely glad that we could assist you and your wife when she required urgent medical attention. We do however apologize for the concerns you had with your room. It is unfortunate that we only hear of these concerns after you have checked out of our Hotel, as we would have immediately assisted you on site. I just need to mention that the refrigerators are all in working condition, they just need to be switched on. We have removed the radios from the bed-side tables, as we have all the channels on our Television sets.

We really do hope that you would visit us again in the near future so that we can continue to show you our true hospitality.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2016

We got a big family room with four beds next to each other, fridge and air conditioner. We got a welcome drink and had complimentary water in the room. TV (working badly), free wifi, which worked in the room, laundry service. Pool, free pool towels and plenty of sun deck chairs. Kids were very happy. Would have liked to spend more than one night and visit Windhoek and relax/unwind here instead of traveling to the Okavango Delta the next day. We had dinner at the restaurant of the Safari Court and breakfast at the Safari Hotel. The dinner was a lovely buffet for 290 Namibian dollars, including dessert. The breakfast buffet is great with a lot of variety, including crêpes, pancakes, cereal, bread and rolls, hot dishes, fruit salad and much more.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Schnueseli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SafariHotels, Manager at Safari Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2017

Dear Schnueseli

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for Hotel Safari ***. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed staying in one of our Family Rooms with 4 beds and that you enjoyed making use of our pool area. We are also glad that our scrumptious breakfast and dinner were to your satisfaction. It is indeed unfortunate that you could only spend 1 night with us, but we look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Safari Hotels Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews