We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor...but not as bad as I'd expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Abuja Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Ranked #5 of 79 Hotels in Abuja
Carnforth, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor...but not as bad as I'd expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Many of the things said in other reviews are true...I changed rooms three times to find one with working aircon, a decent shower, a door that locked and a safe. But the beds were comfortable and mine was very clean, with immaculate fresh bed linen and towels every day. Staff were largely helpful and although things were slow they were pleasant. Pool bar is fine. However, take real care with food. Don't touch ice or raw food. I was really sick for three days and am told this is very common in this hotel.

Room Tip: Just keep asking, until you get a decent room. Check balcony doors lock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carnforth_UKAnnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanji T, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
“Thank you for your generally positive feedback concerning your stay. I was disturbed to read that you were unwell during your stay. If you would wish to share more information with me on this matter I would be delighted to hear from you (chris.newman@starwoodhotels.com) I trust that you are feeling much better as of now. Kind regards – Chris Newman General Manager”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    118
    108
    88
    62
See reviews for
9
11
32
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Worst Hotel experience in Africa and one of the worst experiences globally. Besides air con that works intermittently, the rooms are noisy, disgusting, moldy, with broken tiles, and fully equipped with spiders and cockroaches. All this in a standard room can be yours for the modest rip-off price of approx $315 at the corporate rate!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cbm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanji T, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
I read your review with grave concern. Having very recently taken up the assignment as General Manager of the property, my principle objective is to initiate the full renovation of the Hotel. With regards to the hygiene elements pertaining to your room, I will of course be carrying out a full investigation to the allegations made. I would however like to assure you that we have regular hygiene and safety audits carried out by both local and international companies, local government and indeed we also engage independent hygiene and safety consultants, to endeavor to ensure, such situations highlighted, do not occur. Please do contact me directly at the Hotel if you think I could assist further with this matter.

Kind Regards,

Chris Newman – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Abuja hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Lethbridge
Level Contributor
72 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

The hotel is dirty and run down, there is nothing more to say. The rooms are filthy and falling apart-there are holes in the furniture, the lamps do not have light bulbs, and prepared to be itchy after getting out of bed-it might only be in your mind because you have just slept in the filthiest bed in the world.
The food is nothing to write home about, if you can leave the hotel to eat somewhere else. The hotel is full of hookers, as a women, you better not step into the Elephant Bar after 8pm, or the hookers look at you like you are stepping on their territory. Although if you are brave sit there grab a drink and watch the cultural dance of hookers and expats-a cultural show like no other-weaves, glitter, heels oh my!
The staff is touch and go, some are helpful and friendly most are bitter and jaded and do not want to help. The internet-works for about 30 minutes a day, so pick your time carefully. I found out the best way to get anything-iron, hair dryer, etc. Is call down a half hour before you want it, call back 15 minutes later; then go down to reception and stand there until they get it for you, asking every five minutes for 30-45 minutes-tip for the travelers out there!
The Hilton is apparently much better, but it was being threatened to be bombed the week that I was there, so I opted for the Sheraton-bombings vs. filth??
It seems to be one of the few hotels in Abuja, be patient, set your expectations low (really low) and just suck it up if you have to stay there.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not over the night club or you will be listening to hip-hop remixes until 6 am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanji T, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for posting your recent experience of the Sheraton Abuja Hotel. I in fact arrived as the new General Manager for the Hotel just over one week ago, with the priority objective of initiating a complete renovation of the Hotel and an up-grade of all services to the standards to which you would expect from Sheraton and Starwood Hotels & Resorts around the world. I therefore fully empathize with the frustration and embarrassment experienced. It would be naive and unrealistic for me to attempt any ‘quick fix’ response to the underlying issue of the Hotel’s Condition, that said, some of the smaller, yet equally frustrating matters pertaining to certain facilities, service and attitude will be of top priority for me. Whilst of course never pleasant, your feedback does assist me in seeing through the eyes of the guest at this early stage of my assignment here and establish immediate opportunity to implement change where possible.

Assuring you of my best attention at all times.

Chris Newman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I read the TA reviews and was very apprehensive for my 11 night stay. I must admit the hotel is not great. but not as bad as TA reviews led me to believe. The service in the lobby, bars and restaurant are slow, however from my experience from dealing with other services in Abuja it ain't that bad. At least the staff mean well, although they may appear incompetent compared to other hotels around the world. Breakfast at the main restaurant is vast, although some items such as the juice and coffee could be better quality. I have eaten at the steak house most nights and every meal has been excellent. The room rate and restaurant prices appear high, but after going to a supermarket I have discovered food prices to be high, so in this context the food bills are probably reasonable. There is quite a lot of security at the hotel car park entrance, lobby entrance and by the lifts which obviously adds to the hotel costs. I believe I got a superior room, it is large, clean and the air condition works well, however the bathroom is rather dated but is at least clean.

I visited the Hilton Hotel and must say if the communal areas are anything to go by, it is certainly superior to the Sheraton, but I had no choice of hotel as it was booked by our client.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BevAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

If you're expecting Sheraton standards, find somewhere else to stay. This hotel is run down and overpriced (even acknowledging the high Nigerian prices). Price to value ratio would easily make this a "terrible" option but I'm not sure anything in Abuja is good value. The service is not good (we wanted to check in a few hours early after an overnight flight and they tried twice to charge us the full rate for the previous night). The rooms are run down, amenities are low quality from the soap to the TV. Mini bar is empty - reminds me of a cheap motel always where they're worried you'll steal the items!! Bathroom is totally run down - tiles are cracked, toilet seat broken, shower doesn't drain.

This after an upgrade!!! You don't get what you pay for here. Settle for less and pay less.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an upgrade. Having a Starwood card helps with this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SODA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

The hotel is very delapidated, we initially booked into the standard rooms which smelt of mould and the wall fittings were falling off. We kicked up a fuss and were upgraded to the "preferred floor" (!). the rooms were still fairly simple but adequate, but hardly worth the price!

the service was very average - I asked for a hair dryer which arrived 2 hours later (anyone that has been to Abuja will know that one's hair cannot stay wet for more than a few minutes really in the incredible heat!) and the same story went for the late delivery of the iron. Staff were not particularly friendly for the most part.

Worst of all the courtyard/Elephant Bar doubles as some sort of nightclub during the evenings with booming music that blares out late into the night!

The good points are the lovely pool and delicious food available at the range of restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AfricaBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanji T, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Abuja Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Abuja. I have just arrived as the new General Manager for the property with the principle objective of carrying out a complete renovation and up-grade of the Hotel. Whilst I do not have a ‘quick fix’ response to the overall condition of the Hotel, there are a number of issues, including what you have mentioned which can actually be addressed quite quickly and easily. Thank you however for the positive feedback related to the food. I assure you that all feedback is shared with the team here at the Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Chris Newman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

This hotel need renovation: it reminds me of the 80's, I feel like I just took a trip back in time. For almost 300 usd I expect a nice room with a flat screen tv and a complimentary bottle of water at least. The restaurant buffet is not bad but the staff didn't even greet us or take drink orders till we asked, the front desk staff are friendly though. The water wasn't that hot either.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShallyWaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abuja hotels
1.7 km away
Transcorp Hilton Abuja
5.5 km away
Sandralia Hotel
Sandralia Hotel
#13 of 79 in Abuja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
5.4 km away
3J's Hotels
3J's Hotels
#11 of 79 in Abuja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Reiz Continental Hotel
Reiz Continental Hotel
#10 of 79 in Abuja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
3.6 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Abuja
1.0 km away
Stonehedge Hotel
Stonehedge Hotel
#16 of 79 in Abuja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Abuja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Abuja Hotel

Property: Sheraton Abuja Hotel
Address: Ladi Kwali Way, Maitama, Abuja PMB143, Nigeria
Region: Nigeria > Abuja State > Abuja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Abuja
#5 Best Value Hotel in Abuja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Abuja Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Abuja is one of the hospitality pioneers in Abuja. It is a social and vibrant landmark in Nigeria's capital, located just 40 kilometers away from the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport and in proximity to the International Conference Center and the Federal secretariat. Sheraton Abuja Hotel is the focal point for events and networking opportunities. Discover one of the best foods in the city at any of our restaurants and bars or enjoy having your successful business meetings here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Starwood EMEA so you can book your Sheraton Abuja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Abuja
Abuja Sheraton
Sheraton Hotel Abuja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing