We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmmm”
Review of The Lawns

The Lawns
Ranked #12 of 352 Restaurants in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Lawns blends the urban landscape & Golf course views with lush green tropical garden, offering with food selected all across continent and fused with local ingredients to create fusion delights. We want to make you feel warm and welcome while you enjoy our special preparations of wide varieties of meat options including wild game entrees. We invite you to relax, enjoy, and let our gardens, décor, food & wine take you to the country side!
Reviewed January 14, 2018

Love love love the Lawns restaurant. One of the only places in town to get game meat. Try ostrich steak and springbok! Lots of seating, very nice grounds, fantastic service. Very fast, so you aren't waiting 60 minutes to get your order (oh, you know what I mean if you've been to Ugandan restaurants). Large variety of dishes that aren't game meat, too. Lots of chicken and beef dishes, as well as vegetarian.

Thank cpl1775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Lawns_Restaurant, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2018

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed our food, service, ambience and overall experience at The Lawns.
We hope to seeing you more often at The Lawns.

Meena,
MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 112 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2018

We dropped in here for lunch. A lovely restaurant with views over the adjoining golf club. The service was very good and the food was lovely. A fine dining experience at a reasonable price. Quite quiet for lunch time but I would expect it busy at night but with minimal parking available. I would certainly return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank t0m1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Lawns_Restaurant, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed service, food, ambience and overall experience at The Lawns. Hope to see you more often.

Meena,
MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2018 via mobile

We were a group of friends from Europe who wanted to enjoy the last evening with game meet. The meat quality and selection was awesome and we enjoyed the great service

Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Lawns_Restaurant, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed food at The Lawns. We are planning to add few more Game dishes sometime soon, after the hunting season this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2017

We had a company product launch and the team was over the moon about having it at The Lawns (Personally my head was out of it).

D-Day and we were all on time!. the welcoming cocktails had our theme color for the evening, the setting was awesome and the whole experience was amazing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Etyang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Lawns_Restaurant, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Thank you Sir for your excellent review. I am glad that you and your team members enjoyed Dinner function at The Lawns. We hope to receive you more often.

Meena,
MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 1, 2017

I wanted to go to this place, just for trying the game meat, crocodile, bles bok, ostrich, spring bok, and it is definitively worthy. Meat it is nice, I enjoyed crocodile and ostrich, the most, but overall, the meat was really nice. Ambience is also attractive, surrounded by nature. They do offer two different seating areas, both nice.

service was also good, actually I had ordered medium cooked and some of the meat was already well done, and they changed the whole plate.

It is rather expensive....

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CarolC4264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Lawns_Restaurant, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2017

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the Game meat selection from our Menu. Next time, do try out 'Hunter's Sabre' - the most popular dish on our Menu, a combination of three game meat selection, wrapped with bacon, grilled and served on steel skewer - just like hunters used to grill their meat on skewers.
Hope to see you more often.
Regards,
Meena,
MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lawns also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to The Lawns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing