We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
86
52
13
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
52
13
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews belgian restaurant wine shop stayed in a junior suite la patisserie complimentary beer place to stay town centre amazing room included breakfast nice clean rooms bustling city tea and coffee busy road stayed here for one night wifi connection nice pool swimming pool
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 159 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2016

This is a very lovely place, with some rooms beautifully appointed-- especially rooms on the second level. (We looked at a room on the first level which was larger, with a kitchen and living area, but I thought it was ugly and since it had just been sprayed, uninhabitable). Our room was number 10 which has a great shower, a beautiful bed, wonderful outdoor space. BUT, it is near the back of the property and can be very noisy. There seems to be a disco on the other side which was loud all night, there were calls to prayers form a mosque, about ten dogs barked for ten minutes at 3:00 am in the morning, and then some guy started hammering away at 3:30 am. So that is a real problem!!!

There are also a number of little things that make the hotel less than top notch-- all little, but detractions. Such as there is no shampoo and conditioner. That the television is impossible to operate-- and we're in the business!!! And it's not like they give that information in a book or anything!!! In addition, the second night we were there there were four power outages. The other nights less, but the outages mess up the television system!

The toilet offers ver little privacy, the sink was barely attached to the wall, so it was lucky that we didn't lean on it too hard.

There were some examples of superior service-such as the first day, even though it was Sunday, a lovely woman came for my clothes which desperately needed laundering. She brought them back in three hours, and then when I didn't have Ugandan shillings, I gave her $20 (thinking that was the cost of the cleaning) and she came back an hour later with change. She had gone to a bank, had the $20 converted and then brought the money back to me!

But the staff in the front area seemed very inexperienced and not very helpful.

Restaurant is very good and the service is lovely- especially Angela.

All in all, an adequate place with a unique style in the middle of Kampala-- but needs a major uptick in the little things for it to be a really first class boutique hotel.

Room tip: Do not take a room near the back unless you don't care about sleeping. The first two rooms everyone can see into.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank DrDebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefkam, Owner at Hotel Le Petit Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having stayed with us at Le Petit Village Kampala and for your feedback online.

We are pleased to hear that your overall experience was to your satisfaction especially the superior service you received from one of our staff. Our team will truly be delighted to learn about your kind words.

I am sorry that we have failed to provide you with a flawless stay experience and please accept my most sincere apologies for what you refer to as small disturbances you have experienced and the inconvenience caused.

Your comments have been addressed immediately to ensure these glitches will not transpire again in the future.

I’m also delighted to confirm that the noise problem has been addressed with the authorities and is now a thing of the past.

Once again thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.

Kind regards,

James Rattos
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2016

Inside the grounds it almost feels like you are far away from the hustle and bustle of Kampala. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the rooms are excellent. There is both a restaurant and bakery on the property. I recommend buying bread if you are heading off for any period of time in Uganda as you will not find this quality anywhere else easily.

Date of stay: September 2015
1  Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefkam, Owner at Hotel Le Petit Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments and it is truly rewarding to know that you had an enjoyable stay at Le Petit Village.

Your review is proof of the standards we commit to our guests

We hope to see you again soon for an even better experience.

Kind regards,

James Rattos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2016

We really enjoyed our stay in the beautiful oasis in the middle of the caothic Kampala! We had the incredible beautiful suite, with its beautiful decoration! Breakfast was also really good and the service also really efficient!

Date of stay: December 2015
1  Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefkam, Owner at Hotel Le Petit Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Le Petit Village for your stay in Kampala and also for sharing your feedback.

I am pleased that you had an excellent stay with us. I am also delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast as well as the service and I will make sure that the staff will be praised for their jobs well done.

We look forward to welcome you again soon.

Regards,

James Rattos
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

Loved the setting. It is actually quite good a place to stay even if not on business. The rooms/villas are self contained with a lounge area cum kitchenettes that can host a self cook out meals. The villas are very clean and well lit. I loved the walkways to the villas, they give you a sense of being in the wild and a safari feel to it. It can be romantic.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank muthoniNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefkam, Owner at Hotel Le Petit Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments and it is truly rewarding to know that you had an enjoyable stay at Le Petit Village.

Your review is proof of the standards we commit to our guests

We hope to see you again soon for an even better experience.

Kind regards,
James Rattos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 16, 2015

Cozy, calm setting, good service, good food in the nearby restaurant! Conveniently located, with good access to business districts of town and nearby US Embassy. Easily reached when coming into town from airport.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Clemens F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefkam, Owner at Hotel Le Petit Village, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments and it is truly rewarding to know that you had an enjoyable stay at Le Petit Village.
Your review is proof of the standards we commit to our guests
We hope to see you again soon for an even better experience.

Kind regards,

James Rattos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews