We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aponye Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Cassia Lodge(Kampala)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Speke Hotel(Kampala)
US$189
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tristar Hotel(Kampala)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
10
19
16
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
19
16
7
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 61 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2010

I decided to stay at this hotel after reading good reviews, I arrived about 10pm the road was quite but there were piles of rubbish everywhere. The taxi driver was good to me as he helped me with my bag up the steps lots and lots and lots of steps, and that was only to the reception I still had another four flights to get to my room. The hotel was home for prostitutes and their pimps if you refuse a prostitute then be prepared for abuse from her pimp and he will get very nasty. This is not the place for single females or families to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cann186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2010

i staid here twice in Oct 2010. the first time i had a room with no fly screens on the windows and no mozzie net. i forgot to shut the windows on the first night and spent the next 2 nights with very little sleep as mozzies used my ears as a landing strip.
the second time i booked a room in advance, with a mozzie net. when i arrived they told me the people in my room decided they wanted to stay another night, so i could not have a double. can't see the point of booking! tried to explain this to the receptionist but was met with a blank stare like 'why are you telling me your problem!'.
on both occassions the lift did not work, no hot water because it was cloudy and they have a small solar hot water system. on occassion the electricity cut off around midnight and was not back on until 7am, so in a room where you can't have windows open cause there are no fly screens with no fan.
the location is central and easy to walk everywhere, but its a rough area where they don't have much respect for the westerners. if you get in their way while they are working, they will knock you around a bit and have a laugh about it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pel579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Rooms were clean but sparse. Louvered upper windows can't be closed and are open to whatever noise is nearby. The room we had reserved was given to someone else with no attempt at making it right. Manager was unavailable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HOMEAGAIN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2010

I agree with the previous reviews of this place. It's all true. I just wanted to let people know that the high standard continues.

Rooms are still USD15 for a single, USD20 for a fan double and USD25 for an a/c double.

Tip: Check out Antonio’s restaurant just around the corner for breakfast and lunch - great value.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chester-Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Aponye is in a crazily busy part of Nakasero. It's convenient (close to the bus park, taxi parks, and all the services/shops/banks of Kampala road) but it can also be intimidating. The hotel itself is clean and pleasant. Rooms are basic (mine was $19/night with no A/C, but with a good fan so didn't need it) but there's Wifi throughout the hotel, which was great. I've stayed at other places in Nakasero and not been able to sleep because of the street noise, which goes all night, but my room in Aponye had windows facing into the hotel, which has a big open atrium in the middle. I thought this was odd at first, but it turned out to be great. The restaurant staff are very nice and the food is good.

One thing -- the front desk staff are not the friendliest, but if you have questions, be sure to ask them, as a lot of the written information is incorrect. (For example, the website says they take credit cards; they don't. Signs in the room say checkout time is at noon; it is really at 10:30.)

As a woman traveling alone, I'm really concerned with safety, and Aponye felt very secure. There are guards at the entrances and stationed at each floor. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachftgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews