We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
64
62
16
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
62
16
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews inner courtyard via telephone city blue new wing restaurants within walking distance excellent option pay cash the hotel's restaurant mini bar reliable wifi water pressure is airport pick would highly recommend this hotel great shower after midnight spent one night swimming pool
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 149 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2016 via mobile

I stayed for 5 nights and I really enjoyed the hotel. The restaurant is nice, and staff is friendly. Wifi in the rooms or restaurant is too slow, but at the reception it is working well. So maybe invest in a couple of repeaters....The only thing I really missed in a nice hotel like this, is a good cup of coffee!! I wouldnt mind having to pay extra for that with breakfast.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank DaanZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2016

The hotel is a 25 minutes' walk from downtown Kampala.
The rooms were big, modern furnished, very clean and comfortable.
The pool area is very nice, the personal was helpful and the breakfast was very good.

One point was not so good, as we found:
We ate in the restaurant and billed the price for the food on the room. When we payed the price at check-out time, we found out, that they had charged us more than the original price for the food. When we complained about that, they told us, that there was a billing charge of 5 US$, when you bill something from the restaurant on the room. For us as Westerners, this sounds very greedy.

Room tip: Check your bills. Don't bill anything on the room, as they have a so-called billing-charge.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravellerSuedDeutsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2016

I stayed here previously when this was MambaPoint. My room this time in the new wing was truly impressive - large, with a comfortable bed, floor to ceiling glass windows, a balcony with two cozy seats, a phenomenally large shower head. The swimming pool is excellent and staff are friendly and helpful. As other reviewers warned, there IS a lot of construction going on, and 7:30 on a Saturday morning is a bit early to start - especially when, awakened by the construction, I went down to the restaurant and found there was no "real coffee" (only Nescafe) available until 8:15! If you're going to wake people up, at least have good coffee ready for them. The breakfast buffet was also lacking "pastries and Danishes" that were promised on the menu: the waiter said they were coming, but when I left breakfast close to 8:30, they still had not materialized. And the juice was packaged, not fresh squeezed. However, my poached eggs and potatoes were excellent. If Urban could improve the breakfast fare and hold off on the construction until 9 or so, I'd definitely give it a 5.

Room tip: New block facing the pool is great!
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nairobijoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2016

The room size was impressive and the room was very clean and comfortable. The shower was great as well! The divan of the bed (base) needs a cover as is still in the factory material which doesn't look that great! Even though it was a non-smoking room with a balcony, it had a strong smoke smell.
Did not have time to sample the breakfast as I was in a hurry but I would definitely be back!
Only major complaint was that there was construction right next door (the property is increasing its size so it was very noisy at night - please use double glazing, sound proof windows so that the little time one gets to sleep at the hotel, can be peaceful! Or jus don't carry out building work at night!!

Room tip: quiet room!!
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodie121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urban_Kampala, Sales and Marketing Manager at Urban by CityBlue, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2016

Dear guest,
Happy New Year from the management and staff of CityBlue Hotels.

Thank you very much for sharing your honest feedback on this platform. We have taken note of your advice and areas of improvement that we are working hard to fix.

The inconveniences suffered during the expansion next door is temporary but the results are permanent 21 World Class rooms and bigger conference facilities.

Whilst it is very hard to cook at omelette without breaking the egg, we have agreed with the contractors to manage the inconveniences to in house guests.

Regards,
Paul MUTANGA
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 15, 2015 via mobile

The hotel is expanding and despite having great stays here previously, they are building an extension and he noise goes on all day from breakfast to 11.50pm!! Completely ridiculous. This is compounded by low availability of items on the menu such as their juices, and canned tuna and worst of all their coffee machine in broken. Avoid at least until they have completed their building works....

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank gavinareid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urban_Kampala, Sales and Marketing Manager at Urban by CityBlue, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2016

Dear guest,
Happy New Year from the management and staff of CityBlue Hotels.

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on this platform. We sincerely offer you our deepest apologies for all inconveniences suffered during your last stay.

“To pave a good road takes time” an Africa saying. The inconveniences from the construction are temporary but the result is going to be permanent. That said, we have agreed to commence construction at 10am and break off for lunch at 12:30pm. Afternoon work resumes at 2:30pm and ends at 5:00pm. We are chasing time to complete the 21 new World Class rooms by end of 2016 and we reckon that all major noise and dust related civil works will be completed by end of Jan 2016. Unfortunately, it has proven so hard to eat our cake and have it all the time.

A new breakfast menu has been introduced with a wider selection of items for your fill. This is in line with our plan to introduce a new food menu by Feb 2016. Our coffee machine could not have broken down at a worse time but I assure you that a permanent solution was already approved to handle the increased capacity with the 21 new rooms. We will expedite the solution and I can assure you that a complimentary fresh cup of coffee on us will be waiting for you on your next visit.

We wish you a successful 2016 and I welcome you to try out the new rooms by end of 2016 if you surely won’t come back after Feb when all the major civil works will be completed.

Regards,
Paul MUTANGA
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews