We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Indian food”

The Great Indian Dhaba
Ranked #17 of 355 Restaurants in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Description: The Great Indian Dhaba gives you cuisines from all over India. We serve North Indian, South Indian and Street Foods of India. Designed to look like a 'dhaba': a roadside restaurant on the highways of India frequented by truck drivers and travelers. The decor and ambiance will transport you to India both in taste and setting.
Restaurant details
Description: The Great Indian Dhaba gives you cuisines from all over India. We serve North Indian, South Indian and Street Foods of India. Designed to look like a 'dhaba': a roadside restaurant on the highways of India frequented by truck drivers and travelers. The decor and ambiance will transport you to India both in taste and setting.
Reviewed May 18, 2017 via mobile

It's always a pleasure to dine at Indian dhaba, the ambience reminds you of things which you would typically notice in India. Food is quite authentic unlike other upscale Indian restaurants in town which cater for European taste buds. Their butter chicken of lately has improved a lot and is to die for. If you prefer your naan to be spicy then chili garlic naan is just yum. I also prefer their biryani chicken/mutton, and you can ask the chef to sauté some fresh mint leaves in it to get a bit of twist. They have a fair bit of South Indian dishes as well, but masala dosa stands out in all of them which is all time fav for the better half. Well and incase if you wanna enjoy a feast try out their Sunday Brunch... which has an excellent value for money. Service is generally good.
Above all a great place to have AUTHENTIC INDIAN food in Kampala. Keep it up.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank 852Kev1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akshay A, Owner at The Great Indian Dhaba, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2017

Thank you so much for your review Kevin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 95 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2017

The menu was extensive and everythign we ordered was great. Service was good and the atmosphere was pleasant. Proces were reasonable.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akshay A, Owner at The Great Indian Dhaba, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2017

Thank you so much for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2017

I was there with my family, Food quality & taste was good, We really enjoyed the service & atmosphere of the Restaurant. Hoping to go back soon.........

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hardeep Singh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akshay A, Owner at The Great Indian Dhaba, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2017

Thank you so much for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2017

Not the best Indian restaurant in town, it was actually rather average for the price. We ended up here by default, as our intended restaurant was closed and this one was close and could accommodate our large party.

Stay away from the Aloo Gobi, it was nothing like expected, I suspect old left over potatoes are used in this dish, with lots of onions and tomatos to mask the fact that they are not fresh. Not worth the price. Tandoori chicken was not bad.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akshay A, Owner at The Great Indian Dhaba, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2017

Hi Barb, we are so sorry you had a bad experience at the Dhaba. We hope you can give us another chance and in case the food is not to your standard please feel free to return it at no cost to you. We will make sure we do a better job!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2017

We ordered daal and a south indian vegetarian dish. Though we ordered medium, pretty far on the spicy scale, we found the food to be fairly bland. The daal wasn't smokey or well spiced. I think that there are much better options in Kampala.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wodaabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akshay A, Owner at The Great Indian Dhaba, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2017

Hello,

We are sorry you had a bad experience at the Dhaba. We hope you can give us another shot. In case the food is too spicy we will freely change it for you! Our Chefs are always available to hear exactly how you want your food done.

Akshay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Great Indian Dhaba also viewed

 
Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to The Great Indian Dhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing