We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
17
52
50
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
52
50
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course clean hotel busy road within seconds hotel service pleasant stay stayed here for nights hot water kololo greenery usd
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 138 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2017

This is an average, but functional hotel. If you are visiting Kampala for business in town and thereafter want to visit some restaurants and bars in the evening, then its location is perfect. The hotel in itself is tired, and needs an overall upgrade. The restaurant (Thai and general) is well below even reasonable expectations.
The positives are the location, good size airy and clean rooms at a reasonable price in a quiet leafy surroundings.
The tips from some previous reviewers regards avoiding rooms facing the road side was very useful. I could not have stayed in those rooms with the traffic sound, and I realize what they meant. Also the Gym is really a bad excuse, and not suitable for travelers booking this hotel with the expectation of working out when time permits.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DiscoverySS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mufaddal M, Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Metropole Hotel Kampala!
We would like to thank you very much for taking your time to provide valuable feedback regarding aspects of our rooms, Location and service delivery. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and worth reading and learning from. We will definitely look into the services which you mentioned and your feedback will be discussed across the departments.
We were more than happy to be your residence away from home.
Kindest Regards,
Metropole Hotel Kampala.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2017

Not a bad place to stay. It was one of the few places that had more than 2 to a room is why we chose it. In a earlier day the hotel was probably pretty fancy but where we stayed it could use some upgrades. It did look like there was some construction going on on part of the hotel. Our room was a little dated but worked OK. The breakfast area was very nice and the breakfast was good. A little hard to find but that's Kampala.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GJLeChem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2017

Stayed here twice, evidently used to be fairly posh but is badly in need of major renovation. Having said that I found it sparkling clean and management and staff super healthy. It is clear that management is doing their very best with a property that needs some work. Internet slow but worked, restaurant very good but LONG waits for food. CRITICAL TIP - the even number rooms face out over the golf course and are relatively quiet, odd number rooms face out over elevated roadway and night club, deafening noise all night long and no double glazing

Room Tip: as above, go for a room with an even number (golf club side)
Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank omegendorph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2017

Travelled in July 2017 and stayed here for 3 nights. Pretty decent place. Walking distance to some good bars and restaurants.. Slightly expensive to what they have to offer.
I'm told that the hotel is mainly used for conferences etc.. not many people stayed during my stay.
Wi-fi pretty good.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the main road
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metropole K K, Front Office Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. Our main priority is to be able to offer a very well-maintained and comfortable atmosphere to all our beloved guests.
For the issue concerning our rates; all our rates have been revised and we are offering special discounts to all our valued clients up to the end of this year. We believe it is one way of saying thank you for being such a valued customer.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2017

I spent 4 days in the hotel, staff were amazing. Food was great, Wifi was strong, great view of the Golf course. My room was clean.The Bel boys Ibra and David were very helpful. Agatha the taxi manager was great,strong wifi was provided in the car and also a bottle of water (bonus to that). I will definitely recommend Metropole Hotel to my collegues.Great Hotel, amazing service.Thank you for making my stay quite comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the golf course are quieter
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agatha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metropole K K, Front Office Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Dear Guest
Greetings from Metropole Hotel Kampala
Your feedback was extremely valuable to us. It means a lot to us to hear when we have had a success. All comments were worth reading and learning from.
We were more than happy to be your residence away from home, and we look forward to welcoming you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews