We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the view, the atmosphere and the excellent treatment”
Review of Cassia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cassia Lodge
Ranked #4 of 107 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We stayed here the first two nights after arriving in Uganda. It's a great place to get used to the rhythm of the city, with very nicely decorated rooms, a great view over lake Victoria, an excellent restaurant, a beautiful swimming pool and excellent service.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jorisfalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2017

We were offered a reduced price because we wanted our rooms for 5 nights. From arrival to departure we received very friendly and accommodations service, even with our early morning departure at 6am. The rooms were spacious and had all we needed. Note that the single rooms are upstairs and have a fan rather than air on but this was adequate. The buffet breakfast was fine though nothing spectacular and the meals in the resuarant were very good, with a very varied menu.
If we were to return to Kampala we would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Air con on ground floor rooms only but the upstairs rooms have fans. All rooms face the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

A very nice hotel in the suburbs of Kamapla, thus some means of transportation is required to go to the various sights and attranctions in Kamaple.. Very quiet and with a wonderfull view over Lake Victoria. The restaurant is good with tasty food and fine service.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank SoerenSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We stayed at Cassia Lodge at the beginning and the end of our trip through Uganda. The hotel had large, comfortable rooms, all with terraces and none higher than the first floor. Everywhere, from your room to the bar, the restaurant, the garden and the swimming pool, you can enjoy the splendid panorama over Kampala and Lake Victoria, a breathtaking view. It is quiet at night, the staff is helpful and efficient, and you can find there all information on further travel inside Uganda. We really enjoyed it, and it is and ideal 'base-camp' or a staying-ground for a longer vacation.

Room Tip: The remarkable thing is that all rooms are situated on the side of the splendid view on Kampala and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rolffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Cassia Lodge was our Kampala base at the beginning, middle and end of our Uganda trip. It's located on a hill close to Lake Victoria. Wether you are at the reception, in your spacious room or in the swimming pool, you always have a nice view on the lake. But the most astonishing view, is from your table on the terrace, where the welcoming Cassia Lodge heart beats: quiet at breakfast, cosy at lunch time, buzzing hotel guests as well as locals around sunset and dinner time and open till late at night. All staff were super friendly and helpful. The food is great and there is a vast choice of drinks available, from freshly squeezed juices, beers and wine to cocktails and spirits. One of the sundowners I discovered is the Uganda Gin and Tonic and I loved it. If you are looking for a place to relax and yet not too far from the city center, Cassia Lodge is the perfect choice.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Renilde K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Of the 8 different lodges/hotels we stayed in on our Rwanda/Uganda adventure, Cassia Lodge was the only disappointment.

Don't me wrong—the hotel is perfectly nice & has a lovely view—especially at night—and we enjoyed a meal in the restaurant, where our service was excellent. Our visit, however, was shadowed by unfriendly service upon check-in, the indifference to questions we had at the front desk re:restaurant, and the fact that, in the morning, despite letting the desk know that we needed to depart at 7 am, we actually had to go looking for someone to let us out--no one at desk for at least 10 minutes. We had previously found service in Uganda so friendly & hospitable everywhere else, that we were surprised.

Other than that, it was a perfectly adequate stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

We spent our first night of 12 in Uganda at the Cassia Lodge,it was a welcome oasis following the long journey from the U.K.The room was clean and spacious with a lovely balcony overlooking the pool and Lake Victoria.The service was a little slow,it took about 20 minutes to get a drink round the pool but it is Africa and it was a lovely place to sit a so a few minutes here or there weren't important.We had dinner on the elevated terrace outside the dining room which was spectacular,the food was unremarkable and not particularly cheap but the menu was extensive so maybe we just made a poor choice.We found all over Uganda that the meat was a bit tough for western tastes.We had to leave early the next morning and although it was supposed to be ready from 7am there was no sign of it at that time,however it only took a little while to prepare and we had very tasty freshly cooked eggs.All in all Cassia Lodge was a lovely place to start our holiday in Uganda.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms face the lake so there isn't much difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
8 km away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 107 in Kampala
689 reviews
7.8 km away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#9 of 107 in Kampala
345 reviews
10.8 km away
Kabira Country Club
Kabira Country Club
#10 of 107 in Kampala
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 km away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#5 of 107 in Kampala
786 reviews
8.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
6.6 km away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Lodge

Address: 15 Plot | Buziga Hill, Kampala 23623, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kampala
#7 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
Price Range: C$175 - C$337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cassia Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cassia Lodge is located on Buziga Hill, one of the highest hills of Kampala close to Lake Victoria. The environment is cool, with few mosquitoes, and an astonishing view on the lake as well as the city. Excellent international cuisine in a serene environment, conference facilities, business centre, wireless connection, large swimming pool, luxurious rooms with satellite television, bar and balcony overlooking the lake. It's a 4 star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cassia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing