We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice hotel but the rooms disappoint” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Sun Ridgeway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southern Sun Ridgeway
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Lusaka
Certificate of Excellence
Naij
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but the rooms disappoint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I had read many a reviews about this hotel before visiting Lusaka recently and I was certain that this was the place to stay. The Location is ideal not too far away from anything really but the rooms are definately much smaller than I expected and the bathrooms are even smaller. It would be a cozy space for two people to share but if they have a lover's tiff then the space will be too too small to contain two people cos they would literarily be in each other's face.

Having said this, I really liked the staff as they were all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The hotel is on three floors, so get the highest floor possible and the rooms that are overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasmina9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    173
    47
    7
    2
See reviews for
11
29
17
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Spent many happy an hour down by the pool, attentive and caring staff, beautiful suite overlooking croc pond. Made many friends and shared a lovely year there in my teens. Happy days!

Room Tip: The suite rooms are fab as they look over croc pond by Rancho restaraunt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaShale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

The Sun is my favorite hotel in Lusaka, hands down. It just feels like home. The atmosphere is friendly, and the staff are attentive without being overbearing. The public areas are lovely. In some Lusaka hotels, you feel guilty for cluttering up the luxurious lobby. At the Sun, you feel welcome and part of the family.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bethebarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

People usually say third time lucky. On my third trip to Lusaka in September 2011, I took a chance staying at the Protea Arcades. On previous trips, I braved the InterContinental Lusaka and the Taj Pamodzi - the former being a total disaster, the latter being only a marginal improvement. The Protea was a massive step up, but in March 2012 I went out on a limb and booked myself and two colleagues into the Southern Sun Ridgeway. This was, without doubt, a case of fourth time lucky.

We had just finished an exhausting trip to Kenya and landed in Lusaka to be greeted by a professional, neat, polite Southern Sun officer, stationed at the airport for our pre-booked shuttle collection. She was the meet-and-greet person, and the driver himself was of the same high calibre (if a little hasty on the return to the airport three days later – but who enjoys being late for a flight anyway?).

We arrived at the Southern Sun, a delightful garden-set hotel, where we encountered a technical fault with the credit card system at check-in. Not their fault and not to worry – they sent us straight to our rooms saying it could be dealt with later. The rooms were a little drab and basic, with loud and old air conditioning systems, but who spends all day in there anyway? The bed was comfortable and the old-fashioned touch of a really nice chocolate on your pillow at night, and some free biscuits on the tea tray went a long way.

The service downstairs in the bar and restaurant is head and shoulders above that offered elsewhere in Lusaka. The hotel is neat and tidy, the staff are attentive and efficient, and the crocodile pond over which diners can look is a lovely feature. The manager holds a guests cocktail party on Wednesday evenings, where drinks are free for an hour or so and the company is pleasant. The manager was most friendly and personable, and his staff are of an international standard.

I would strongly recommend this over the other options in Lusaka. It is an oasis of bliss compared to the alternatives.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any with new AC systems installed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zimbo_in_Limbo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Went up to Lusaka for the weekend and stayed at the Southern Sun. The rooms are adequately equipped, clean and comfortable.

The main selling point for this hotel is the service. The bar and restaurant staff are excellent. They are personable, attentive, and well trained. We enjoyed spending time around the crocodile pond....the atmosphere and service made for a very pleasant experience.

The food is also VERY good. The menu (from the bar) is fairly limited, but everything we had was great. The breakfast is absolutely incredible. The number of items you have to choose from is mind boggling. Choices ranged from an omelet bar to salad...and everything in-between. The dinner was the same....meats cooked to order and a full spread of desserts.

While there are not a lot of extravagant amenities, the service, cleanliness, food, and managements attention to detail make it an excellent choice to a place to stay while in Lusaka.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jklancke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Spend about a week both times I was there last year - we had a conference as well and everything was working well. the rooms are ok - nothing special but I love the crocodile pond and it was a great place for your meal or just a drink with colleagues. I had a " dehli-belly" (not from the hotel though) and the manager insisted that the hotel nurse should take care of me and i got better in one day - the manager is very good and looks after his clients - the Wednesday cocktails is a good idea to meet other business travellers. I would stay there again when I'm in Lusaka.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikaelbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I really did not have too many expectations of this hotel in Lusaka, but everything from the efficient collection at the airport, checkin, the room, restaurant and checkout, were all excellent. My room was one of the refurbished ones, and everything was working and spick and span, with beautiful new, clean linen, choice of pillows, fold down service with not just a little chocolate, but a large one! The wi-fi in the hotel is free, even around the pool restaurant which was packed with guests, and two crocodiles! The breakfast choice was good and very efficient. Staff were well turned out in smart uniforms, and were quite friendly. The hotel is quite central, and taxi's are readilly available. Would definitely stay here again on next trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownCobraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
0.3 km away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#1 of 30 in Lusaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
3.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Lusaka
0.8 km away
InterContinental Lusaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka Tower
2.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lusaka Grand Hotel
5.4 km away
Cresta Golfview
Cresta Golfview
#9 of 30 in Lusaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Ridgeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Ridgeway

Property: Southern Sun Ridgeway
Address: Corner Church Road and Independence Avenue | Avenue, Lusaka 10101, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lusaka
#2 Business Hotel in Lusaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Ridgeway 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Lusaka's business district, close to embassies and government offices and only 27km from the airport. The hotel is set in attractive landscaped gardens and offers business and leisure travellers a welcoming atmosphere, for which Southern Sun is so renowned. The guest rooms are tastefully furnished and offer every modern facility, including free wireless internet access, which is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Southern Sun Ridgeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Ridgeway Lusaka Hotel Lusaka
Holiday Inn Lusaka
Lusaka Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing