We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Homely feel with”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Shakespeare Court

Edward leads our housekeeping team which regularly gets outstanding feedback from satisfied guests.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Edward leads our housekeeping team which regularly gets outstanding feedback from satisfied guests.
You will value good landscaping & quiet gardens. Everyone enjoys a good nights sleep in comfortable surroundings.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Edward leads our housekeeping team which regularly gets outstanding feedback from satisfied guests.
You will value good landscaping & quiet gardens.
Everyone enjoys a good nights sleep in comfortable surroundings.
You can expect to find everything you need for a relaxing stay in Lusaka. All in one place.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lusaka, Lusaka Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ZuluBrist...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Homely feel with”
Reviewed February 21, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Great location and it was just perfect for us. Its is close to a shopping centre (crossroads) and the service that we received was perfect. The apartments are amazing and the staff members are professional and catered to any requests that we made. What I loved most about the place was that it gave you the homely feel which you cant get in hotels and the private garden patio is a great place to have friends over and sit in the sun. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Lusaka for any length of time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2015
Thank your for choosing to stay at Shakespeare Court Apartments. We greatly appreciate your wonderful feedback and your willingness to recommend us to would be clients. We are always aiming high to keep our clients happy and so this feedback was really helpful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willkuria
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air on the outskirts of Lusaka”
Reviewed January 12, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We met up with some friends from Tanzania at the Shakespeare Court for a 1 week family getaway in December 2014. Our email enquiry on room availability was responded to timeously, which was one of the reasons we ended up there. Some of the other venues we had enquired with did not respond to our emails or took too long to get back to us.

We really enjoyed our stay there. The rooms were clean and air conditioned (along with a ceiling fan also included, just in case, air conditioning was not your cup of tea), the compound was well maintained and clean as well, the pool was extremely clean and very blue! The staff were courteous throughout our stay and they did a good job cleaning up every day. We were pleasantly surprised to learn that laundry was included in our rental fee. Our clothes were collected, and returned cleaned and pressed, on Saturday and Wednesday. We even got our cars washed by the staff members for a minimal fee.

Our 4 boys enjoyed playing soccer in the courtyard as the adults sat around catching up and when it got too hot, they took a dip in pool. The location is ideal for walking to the shops and back. In the evenings driving out for dinner and coming back always felt very safe as well.

All in all, Shakespeare Court is a great place to stay with family or friends and they offer what they advertise. It is indeed a breath of fresh air on the outskirts of Lusaka and we shall definitely check in again when in Zambia next.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location is not too far from town and right next door to a shopping complex.
Liked least: Internet connectivity was slow and the main bedroom in unit 5 had a slight smell every now and then, but that was only our room as our friends did not experience the same. Some of the mosquito mesh on windows and sliding doors needs fixing.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking time to a review of your stay. We are indeed pleased to note that you had a wonderful time and stay at Shakespeare Court. We endeavour to make our clients' stay memorable. It was a pity that internet connectivity was not all that good, we do get a few challenges once in a while especially during the rainy season (December). Generally internet connectivity is beginning to improve in Zambia. Regarding the odour in the room, whatever caused it must have been removed or cleaned as the smell is no-longer there. Thank you for your valuable contribution to our business. Looking forward to having you at Shakespeare Court again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William Z
Hoover, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lusaka Rental”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Spent two weeks in a two-bedroom unit while visiting family members in Lusaka, very nice! Good location, beautiful landscaping, nice clean place with great services. Located inside a walled compound with attentive gate keeper. Walking distance (5 minutes) from shopping center with supermarket and restaurant. Wi-fi was provided but service was very weak and non-existent at times. This appears to be typical of Lusaka and not necessarily a fault of the apartment management. Towels but no facecloths provided as often found in Europe as well. A knife sharpener, cutting board and coffee press would be helpful in the kitchen. Overall exceeded our expectations, would definitely stay there again on our next trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, condition of apartment
Liked least: Poor wi-fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2014
Thank you for your candid review. I am so pleased that you found my staff to be attentive - we work very hard at honouring high standards from our faithful team.

INTERNET - as you know we are in the Heart of Africa. Internet connection is hugely expensive and not very reliable. Internet connection has been my top challenge since opening Shakespeare Court. Reliability, price and international expectations are a difficult problem to solve. Price of internet is 700 times the price of the UK. No exaggeration or typo.

We offer a free service and a pay as you go service. The pay as you go service is about 5mbps (which is quite fast) and pretty reliable. If you watch a lot of movies - it is expensive - but if you just want decent browsing at an acceptable price - then this is the best way to go.

Thank you for your other comments - we will take the advice on board and raise our game.

Kindest regards
Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing