We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value guesthouse”
Review of Acme Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Acme Guest House
Ranked #45 of 458 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Ive just returned from my 3rd stay at this excellent guesthouse in the heart of Thamel. The garden is a delight and an oasis away from the chaos of the Kathmandu streets. The location is central and a perfect base for sightseeing and entertainment. The owner and staff couldnt be better with friendly service and great advice on trekking. The owner Chaabi also speaks an amazing 14 languages fluently !!! I would recommend this guesthouse to anyone looking for a place to stay in Kathmandu.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms facing the garden are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim_Ince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2011

stayed here for 2 night when we first arrived in Kathmandu, room was fine but it was quite quiet as we were backing onto a small court yard so we were quite lucky with noise. one window didn't shut properly so when water pored from some part of the building it would hit the window and come in the room, down the wall, carpet etc.

we were SUPPOSED to stay 5 nights at the end of our stay but only managed 2. after our first night of the local dog barking all night and then the building work literally right beside the guest house started at 3.30am we moved to another room, again the dog and still the building work. shame. as the staff were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darloandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I was really happy to stay here in one of the most comfortable beds in India. The rooms were clean with working television, ample light and constant electricity. However, the hot water in the shared bathroom was non-existent and even though it's perfectly located in the heart of Thamel, I don't think there is a noisier spot as my room backed out onto a construction site and the local bar which plays live cheesy Western music up until about 10pm every night. Would recommend for a day or two :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden courtyard as these rooms would be much more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatinaMout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

rooms were ok, nice garden and breakfast and in a good location. They organized whole tour for us, and we were mostly satisfaid. we paid everything in advance and i had feeling they didn't care later so much. For example Bus to Pokhara was really bad, when we returned back they wanted to give us worse room than the one we agreed etc. But overall they were quite helpfull. If you go for trekking ask for Sambhu. He was excellent guide!!

Room Tip: ask for rooms facing garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank el32Zagreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

First of all, the location of this hotel was excellent. It's right in the center of Thamel so we literally could walk around the corner to find food, shopping, a fun bar, etc.. that was a huge plus.

The downside of that was that it was pretty loud at night- there were usually dogs barking and 2 out of 3 nights we could hear loud live music being played (we were going to bed pretty early). I brought earplugs and I was fine.

The room had nice beds, free wifi, and a TV, although we never tried to watch so I don't know if it worked. The bathroom was basic but did have a western toilet. The shower was my main issue- it had very low pressure and the water just went onto the bathroom floor (there was no separate shower stall) so it would get the toilet and the floor pretty wet.

Overall it was good for 3 nights, I'm not sure if I would stay much longer because I didn't feel very clean using the shower. But otherwise definitely a great deal and besides the issues I mentioned I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlatte18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Everything worked brilliantly from the airport pickup to our final drop off. Kathmandu is always subject to power cuts during the day but the generator was kept going so that inconvenience was kept to the minimum possible. Rooms are spacious and clean, as are bathrooms. We had a room at the back of the hotel which Lonely Planet warns may be dark, but we didn't notice that. There is a great garden area in front of the hotel which is a little oasis of calm in the middle of the bustle of the city.

Chhabi, the owner, can arrange most things including tours and changing money into Indian rupees at the end of your stay. His cousin runs the Zaika restaurant (100 yards from the front gate) which is great for those wanting to experience dining while sat cross legged at a low table is like - the food there is recommended, but do not drink the water unless you are sure the seal of the bottle has not been broken - we saw staff filling water bottles from the tap.

Staff at the Acme are really friendly and the food we had there (mainly breakfasts) was very good. The only issue is the availability of beer which occasionally runs out. Having said that there are so many other places in Kathmandu to buy a beer it doesn't really matter.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed_Hellings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

This guest house is tucked away from the road and hustle and bustle of Thamel. In this part of the city where green space is scarcet the garden is a bonus and great to have breakfast in. The location is good being very close to shops, cafes and bars. The rooms are large and the en-suite bathrooms were clean. There was some form of electricity most of the day either generator or mains. The TV in the room goes off at 10pm. and may not work during the day due to low power. The only problem were the pillows on the beds which are like rocks for my delicate European head. The rooms at the back of the hotel can be nosiy due to a generator. Ask for a room overlooking the garden. they are more expensive, but if you negotiate you may be lucky and be given one for the same price as a rear room.

The staff are very helpful and managed my various bookings for long distant buses and taxis.

Not the cheapest guesthouse to stay in in Thamel, but value for money with the garden, central location, friendly staff and good security.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking garden - quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anngnosalluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 km away
Kathmandu City Hotel
Kathmandu City Hotel
#39 of 207 in Kathmandu
233 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#10 of 207 in Kathmandu
337 reviews
0.1 km away
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
Kathmandu Eco Hotel
#9 of 207 in Kathmandu
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Tasi Dhargey Inn
Tasi Dhargey Inn
#57 of 458 in Kathmandu
126 reviews
0.1 km away
Zen Bed and Breakfast
Zen Bed and Breakfast
#37 of 458 in Kathmandu
192 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Amaryllis
Hotel Amaryllis
#1 of 458 in Kathmandu
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acme Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acme Guest House

Address: Thamel | PO Box 10506, Kathmandu 10506, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 458 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range: $14 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acme Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acme Guest House is in the green environment of central and has quite large rooms with an open lawn area .We have been in the tourism business since more than 20 years and Several clients have returned regularly over the years to stay with us and have become good friends.Best part of our Guest House is its location and Green garden which no other hotels can beat in Thamel.Banking, eating, shopping and nightlife are possible within easy reach of 2 minutes on foot. Its peaceful and relaxing environment lures anyone for pleasant stay being out of hustle and bustle of the touristic town. We offer a variety of attractive and reasonably priced rooms from Economy, Standard and Deluxe with air condition,Seasonal Pool, balcony and garden facing, shared or private baths, cold and hot shower, heating system, fan and cable LED TV. Other facilities include restaurant and bar, Internet access, Free WI-FI etc. One can enjoy a leisurely breakfast in our quiet and relaxing garden while sunbathing.Rooms are newly renovated in 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Acme Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acme Guest House Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing