We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like home in Kathmandu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Khangsar Guest House
Ranked #11 of 439 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Feel like home in Kathmandu”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

During my stay in Kathmandu, Khangsar was my only choice. Even when I came back from Pokhara, I chose to stay here again.

The place is worth for your money, reasonable price, clean. All staffs are nice, friendly and helpful. Raj, the owner is cool. He takes good care of every guest. The location is good, not too far from local market or attraction places.

If you are looking for a place that makes you feel like home, "Khangsar" is your choice. :)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ailadearr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    115
    37
    21
    16
See reviews for
18
96
156
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I stayed here two nights in October and it was good. The staff there were extremely helpful and friendly and even waited at the airport when my flight was about 2 hours delayed! the rooms are what you expect for the price, nothing fancy, but fine to sleep in if you're on a budget. It's located in a great spot and i would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Recently I stayed at Khangsar for the first time. Over many years I have stayed at numerous hotels in Kathmandu. Given that this is a budget hotel you cannot expect to get 5 star accommodation. I found Khangsar to be very good value for money. Raj, the owner, is without a doubt one of the nicest, sincerest, obliging owner operators that I have encountered anywhere in my travels. The staff were efficient, courteous & friendly. However,as I am a lousy sleeper I found the location a little noisy, but if a little noise does not disturb you then this won't be a problem.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank pinkfloydCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We picked this hotel because other reviews suggested they were good at organising treks and tours and we were not disappointed - the staff went out of their way to help us tailor a trip exactly for our needs to the Annapurna Base Camp. I would definitely recommend utilising their services for any budget tours or trips that you'd like. The welcome cups of tea were great and they helped with the numerous questions we had - a very enjoyable stay. Thank you

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor - it was up at least 4 flights of stairs - helped to keep us fit and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Guys,
there are many places to stay in Thamel, and if your schedule allows you to spend days in a hotel without venturing out, there are lots of other options here, but if you're looking for a place that puts you in the center of Thamel, free wifi and barely touches your pocketbook in the process, this is your place. The helpful, always present staff catered to my needs immediately, from getting the right power adaptor for my US netbook to an ever full cup of tea. This is more than just a inexpensive roost, this is a base-camp.

Room Tip: try to get on the 2nd floor, less stairs but further from rooftop
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenya
Level Contributor
296 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The staff at Khangsar is golden; they're willing to do anything to help -- they even picked up my hiking boots (which I mailed to Kathmandu ahead of time) from the post office for me! They set up plane tickets and a porter for my trekking trip. Breakfast is included and the price is good; however, the rooms are really dirty. I saw cockroaches in my room both days I stayed there, and the water coming from the tap and in the toilet was brown. The location is good and there are hot water showers -- luckily not brown water.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We loved about this hostel is close enough to get anywhere on foot. Being even in one of the world's crowdest city, experienced less traffic noise inside the room and got chance to see 'life' around . The staff was extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. We were especially thrilled with the man who runs the travel desk as he had fantastic suggestions on places to see and ways to get the most out of your visit.
We were able to see so much more because of him. We had a room on the top floor and enjoyed the roof garden as well as ever-lasting hot water. The main lounge with tibeten style was a great place to use the wifi and meet other guests. I would most definitely stay here the next time I am in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Rosemerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.2 km away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#14 of 198 in Kathmandu
626 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Family Home
Hotel Family Home
#6 of 198 in Kathmandu
526 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 198 in Kathmandu
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#20 of 198 in Kathmandu
583 reviews
0.6 km away
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#7 of 198 in Kathmandu
414 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#45 of 198 in Kathmandu
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khangsar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khangsar Guest House

Property: Khangsar Guest House
Address: PO Box 20976, Thamel | Chhetrapati, Kathmandu 25451, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Khangsar Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Thamel in a quiet area, rooftop garden restaurant, 24 hr hot & cold showers, friendly staff. You will find good hospitality and accommodation at a very affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Khangsar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khangsar Guest House Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing