We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (741)
Filter reviews
741 results
Traveller rating
494
199
31
14
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
494
199
31
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelhome away from homelounge areahot waterthe hustle and bustlecentral thamelan oasislocation is greatrooms are cleaninternet connectionpeaceful placesmall hotelkathmandu guest houseno liftdeluxe roomtourist areaagh
Filter
Updating list...
464 - 469 of 741 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2011

we got a luxurious room, which faces south (faces the street, good point is sunshine, bad point is noise--a few disco, bars nearby, if you are light sleeper, please choose the other side, anyhow, during our 3 nights stay, outside becomes quieter after 11:00pm. ).

it is a small and modern hotel,room is big, bathroom is in very good condition, LCD TV, DVD machine (they even put some DVD moves in the rooms) , a small fridge, AC, a nice welcome gift which include fruit and mineral water( fruit is expensive in nepal, they sold piece by piece--except banana- for example, Local RS 50 for one orange!), generally speaking, it is a professional hotel.

Breakfast is good, have different choices, need order (is not buffet-- which I think it is good), our room rate includes breakfast, which equal RS 350/person.

owner is very kind and honest as well.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vionashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and didn't want to leave! It was right in the heart of Thamel and the staff were very friendly. I didn't really like the breakfast but I'm a fussy eater. I'd recommend this to people of all ages. It has a beautiful and peaceful courtyard

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faith2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Had a nice two night stay here. The entire staff I dealt with were very helpful and always courteous. The room was one of their smaller ones but was quite comfortable and wasn't cramped at all. Like the rest of the hotel, it was in very good condition and everything worked and worked well.

As others have noted, having a room facing the courtyard blocks out much of the noise from the hectic streets outside. I was there during Tihar and wasn't bothered by the clamor at all.

The food, including the free basic breakfast, was good. The laundry service was great.

If you're interested, the photos on their website give you an accurate look at the place.

I'd stay there again with no hesitation. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: For less noise, get a room facing the courtyard.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeadGuyKai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Ambassador Garden Hotel is an absolute gem in the heart of Thamel, the tourist area of Kathmandu. Surrounded by the bustle of a vibrant city, yet once inside you have a peace and quiet hard to find in Kathmandu. Rooms were lovely and clean. Staff courteous, courtyard where breakfast is held, was a lovely area to sit. This is a small boutique hotel, with Nepali charm. Yet all the mod cons us Westermers seem to need. Perfectly positioned in Thamel, close to everything, this Hotel also gave me a quiet haven to escape to read and rest. I will stay here again. Only negative - check the rates. The price I was quoted, was less than i had to pay. Tax was added, and other extras. So ask for a quote including everything!

Room Tip: Ask for courtyard view, much quieter
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy12045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This hotel blew us away, it was everything it advertised it's self to be. We found ourselves at home straight away and the staff where like a big family you just didn't know who was employee and who was owner. It was excellent value for money and the food was amazing. The hotel was very clean and we where given fresh towels every day. It was situated in the heart of Thamel and very easy to walk to a lot of sights. If i was to ever go back to Kathmandu there is no other hotel i would stay in!!! lOVED IT

Room Tip: We stayed on floors 1 & 3 both we had no problems with
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colleen35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews