We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and friendly.”
Review of Hotel Marshyangdi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Marshyangdi
Ranked #96 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Two nights in room 101, where the bathroom was very poor. Two nights in suite 302, after our tour, was such a difference. Extra large bed, ensuite with sunken bath, settee and chairs. So much room. Renovations are taking place top downwards which is why our second room was so much better
A large selection of meals, at reasonable prices.
We were travelling as part of a wildlife tour with Ornitholidays.

Room Tip: A recently renovated room 302.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charlie-Fans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

The Hotel Marshyangdi is wonderful in every way. I great location in Kathmandu with a beautiful lobby, reception area, rooms, bar, dining room and -my favorite place-the outdoor terrace dining area. I am particularly impressed with the well informed, helpful, attentive and genuinely friendly staff. I stayed 4 days and by the end the front desk, bell staff and restaurant staff knew my name and would greet me every day. The complimentary breakfast is delicious with an omelette station and the evening menu and service are excellent as well. I highly highly recommend this hotel and found the rooms to be very quaint and well appointed and would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank MaryLeeSharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed in Hotel Marshyangdi for 2 nights. Bright and colourful flowers greeted me at the entrance of the hotel. It's a lovely sight. The hotel is about 45-60 mins away from the airport, depending on the traffic.

I felt pretty safe as the hotel is being protected by guards 24/7. Well it's the Land of the Gurkhas, right...

The hotel lobby have comfortable sofas and they are pretty cosy. Check in was also a breeze.

The room is pretty spacious and the bed is quite comfortable. I had 2 goods nights of sleep to recover from my 13 days of trek at Annapurna. The bathroom was simple and enough.

The hotel is walking distance to Kathmandu's shopping district. If you love to shop, you'll definitely love the location of this hotel. It's very very convenient.

Breakfast was good. However the restaurant staff need to learn how to smile. I'm sure they choose the job and not being force to the job.

The hotel have good wifi coverage but the signal is the strongest at the lobby area and the signal was not so strong in the hotel room.

Overall, it was a good stay at Hotel Marshyangdi. I will definitely come back to hotel, if ever I'm back at Kathmandu.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank MarsZali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Rooms are a little cosy but nice and comfortable. The location plays a great role in selecting a good hotel at destination which gives it a full marks and the rest will be done by the prompt service and friendly nature of staff and food they offer.

Room Tip: all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jitendra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Quiet and very central. The rooms are clean and spacious, everyone is very kind and ready to help. Try the kitchen for dinner, especially the buffet with local and Indian food, very tasty. Unfortunately, Wi-Fi doesn't work properly everywhere (I moved to another room for this reason) but I was there twice and last time the situation was a bit better. They can manage a car from/to airport for 10USD, quite a cushy service.

Room Tip: give a look to the room once there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alessandro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Located at the start of Thamel area thus very central location. First impression fro the outside-looks good. Then when you enter the lobby-shabby and dated. Then up to the room-OMG! its a total disaster with its run down bathroom with a very unsightly long bath with the window located next to the bath area was so translucent that we had to bath with the lights out and the toilet seat was so small that it does not cover the base. We booked a Junior Suite which was really cheap thinking it was a suite thus should be good. It turned out to be a nightmare. Bedsheets were a little dirty and the bath towels smelled like mothballs with the cotton falling out from the towel as you try to wipe dry. BTW be prepared for lots of noisy pigeons from the outside of the windows. Breakfast was OK but understaffed and WiFi was unstable at times. Seriously I will not be back if I have to be in Kathmandu as a view out the window shows some newer hotels around.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee_family_219053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Located in busy Thamel, known as Backpackers Central, the hotel is clean, has friendly staff and all the services you need if you are preparing for trekking in the himalayas.

It might not be the delightful oasis of Kathmandu Guest House but it is much more reasonably priced and has all you need.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Manang
Hotel Manang
#66 of 210 in Kathmandu
428 reviews
0 km away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#8 of 210 in Kathmandu
780 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Thamel
Hotel Thamel
#51 of 210 in Kathmandu
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#35 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,328 reviews
0.4 km away
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
#47 of 210 in Kathmandu
192 reviews
0.1 km away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 210 in Kathmandu
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marshyangdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marshyangdi

Address: | Chaksibari Marg, Thamel, Kathmandu 13321, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: C$42 - C$95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marshyangdi 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marshyangdi has been providing quality services to travelers and adventurers since 1990. The hotel has rooms ranging from the standard to Deluxe, Junior suites and Suites. Hotel Marshyangdi has its roots in Manang, a remote district nestled in the western mountains of Nepal. Manang is well known among trekkers and travelers for its challenging trekking routes and unrivaled natural beauty. The name of the hotel is derived from the Marshyangdi river that flows through the mountains of Manang. Marshyangdi means "raging river" in Manangi dialect. Marshyangdi rivers is also one of the most sought after white water rafting runs in Nepal. Hotel Marshyangdi has served thousands of satisfied clients in its long and glorious history of 24 years. Hotel has groomed up a lot and gained widespread fame in the 24 years of its service. The hotel now has 3 Suites, 3 Junior Suites, 65 Deluxe besides the regular 24 standard rooms. The hotel is famous for its services and the state of the art facilities. We welcome you to our hotel situated in the heart of Thamel and look forward to serving you in the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marshyangdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshyangdi Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing