We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Shanker(Kathmandu)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$63/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$41
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Shree Tibet Family Guest House(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
US$8
US$7
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$49
US$32
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$62
US$53
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Shambala(Kathmandu)
US$77
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$74/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$151
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
32
108
70
28
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
108
70
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsannex buildingomelette stationstaff was friendly and helpfulshopping districtfront gateseparate occasionsthe upper floorstourist shopswifi signalmoney exchangechaotic citysecurity guardbreakfast was excellentthird flooreverest base camp trekthe air conditioningindian food
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 255 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2017

Stayed here in two different rooms. Second room was very modern and a bit nicer than the first. Free wifi and great staff. Breakfast was excellent and hearty with options for cereal, toast, fruits, and bacon/sausage.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydObanion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2017

My family of for spent a night here before our trek and a few nights after. The location is great for those wishing to take in the sights of Thamel and do some shopping as well. There is a fabulous coffee shop that serves a good flat white 5 minutes walk away. Our rooms were always comfortable. There are certainly different standards of rooms. On our last night before we left Nepal my husband and I were given the Annapurna II suite which felt very luxurious. The breakfast buffet was very good - with excellent freshly made omlettes. The staff at the front desk were always very helpful and accommodating. The front gate is protected by a security guard around the clock and locked late at night. The wifi signal can vary according to the floor you are on.

Room Tip: Choose lower floors for better wifi.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2017

For the money one pays to stay at the Marshyangdi at Thamel, which is rather "budget" in common standard elsewhere in the world - one would not expect much, and in deed the hotel does not offer much, but frankly good enough, more than the value of the dollars paid.
It is situated in the heart of Thamel, Kathmandu, it is not a climber's hotel but it is a perfect trekker's hotel offers those who arrives Kathmandu to begin the trekking adventure - the Thamel is the district where most kinds of trekking gears and gadget at all kind of prices - cheaper ones are without question brandname knock-offs, but it seemed everyone knows and nobody cares - but there are authentic gears - not cheap, but still a bit cheaper than they are in most countries. And of course, all the things famous in Nepal can be found around here, and the people on the streets of Thamel is from every corners of earth, just fun to watch.
Breakfast is decent, with real egg station, relatively reasonable selection for the money paid.
Only drawback is Marshyangdi is situated at a popular spot - for those who look for a very quiet night may not be ideal, there seemed to be non-stop activities on the street, not too bothering to me, but could be a small issue for those who is difficult to get deep sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kaisern C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2017

The price we paid was very fair for the service they offer.That's why i I give this place 4 stars. Room was kinda small but beds were comfortable, everything was clean and TV worked well. Wi-Fi is not so good.
Breakfast is very nice but lacks fresh juice. Recepcionist are very kind and helpfull accordingly to international standarts. F&B staff could be nicer.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank senhordomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2017

Two nights in room 101, where the bathroom was very poor. Two nights in suite 302, after our tour, was such a difference. Extra large bed, ensuite with sunken bath, settee and chairs. So much room. Renovations are taking place top downwards which is why our second room was so much better
A large selection of meals, at reasonable prices.
We were travelling as part of a wildlife tour with Ornitholidays.

Room Tip: A recently renovated room 302.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charlie-Fans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews