We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel to stay in Thamel”
Review of Hotel Marshyangdi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Marshyangdi
Ranked #97 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel has become our first choice to stay in Thamel for over a year.. Nice and cozy rooms.. Adequate choices in Breakfast Buffet..
The staffs are attentive and polite.
I would like to recommend this hotel to those who want to stay in Thamel..

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2017

We had a meeting there. The staffs are really helpful and always ready to serve you with a pleasant smile.Very warm hospitality. The food was really good along with the ambiance. Surely would love to visit there soon.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pragya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Really friendly staff! Amazing support from everyone and the junior suite room was amazing.. No. 1 place to stay in Kathmandu.. The staff helped us organise our trips and guided us. My wife and I are really happy with their services..

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Clyde Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

The location is perfectly convenient, easily connect to everywhere within Tamel downtown. Staffs are friendly to serve tenants. But the money is not really valuable due to no hairdryer per room. And I feel unwell when I walk around the corridor to the lift, the air is humid and smelly. Even the toilet water is not really clean. Please fix all the problem and improve facilities.
I appreciate they allowed me to change booking date at last minute for free, I was really surprised.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank GOATSTATS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

I stayed in 2 different rooms at this hotel; one on the second floor overlooking the courtyard and a suite on the third floor facing the the street. The first room was dark and needs to be updated. Although it overlooks the dining area, it was very quiet. The suite has been modernized and is large and appealing. The shower is in the sunken bathtub and difficult to negotiate getting in and out of for an older person like me.

The main problem with the suite is the pigeon roost right outside the bedroom window. The pigeons' constant cooing is extremely annoying and disturbing. Breakfast is good and other meals at the hotel were fine as well. The last day I stayed the person preparing eggs was not there for breakfast which was disappointing.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms with pigeons roosting outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCLoftdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

Stayed here in April 2017 before and after an REI Everest Base Camp trek.
We found this Hotel to be very nice, offering a quite respite from the Chaos that is Kathmandu and the Thamel district. the Lobby is nice, and has good internet.
The secluded outdoor patio/dining area was our favorite place to hang out, very relaxing. They do seen to cater to large groups and international travelers.

The buffet breakfast was o.k., although you could get nice omelet's on weekdays.
We ate at the Hotel several times, as the food and prices were excellent. (the beers and the entrees all average around 500 rupees each)

Pre trek had rooms 307 and 309 which are at the back of the hotel. 309 is a corner room and has windows on 2 sides for nice light. Post trek moved up a floor to 407 and 409, same locations but these had recently been renovated and were quite nice!

Front desk was very helpful, they exchanged money right there, which was great.
You can call down to front desk to have the hairdryer delivered to your room.

The air conditioning worked well in all rooms, (the renovated ones were quitter) Bring your ear plugs, as the barking dogs can keep you up all night!

Go up to the top floor roof decks, keep climbing the ladders and you will be rewarded with wonderful views over all of Kathmandu!

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 409 and 410, located in the rear of the Hotel - these had recently been renovated and were qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ricksteveswannabe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

Stayed here in two different rooms. Second room was very modern and a bit nicer than the first. Free wifi and great staff. Breakfast was excellent and hearty with options for cereal, toast, fruits, and bacon/sausage.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydObanion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Manang
Hotel Manang
#67 of 210 in Kathmandu
428 reviews
0 km away
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
Kathmandu Grand Hotel
#8 of 210 in Kathmandu
779 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Thamel
Hotel Thamel
#52 of 210 in Kathmandu
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#34 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,328 reviews
0.4 km away
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
The Address Kathmandu Hotel
#47 of 210 in Kathmandu
192 reviews
0.1 km away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 210 in Kathmandu
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marshyangdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marshyangdi

Address: | Chaksibari Marg, Thamel, Kathmandu 13321, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range: $42 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marshyangdi 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marshyangdi has been providing quality services to travelers and adventurers since 1990. The hotel has rooms ranging from the standard to Deluxe, Junior suites and Suites. Hotel Marshyangdi has its roots in Manang, a remote district nestled in the western mountains of Nepal. Manang is well known among trekkers and travelers for its challenging trekking routes and unrivaled natural beauty. The name of the hotel is derived from the Marshyangdi river that flows through the mountains of Manang. Marshyangdi means "raging river" in Manangi dialect. Marshyangdi rivers is also one of the most sought after white water rafting runs in Nepal. Hotel Marshyangdi has served thousands of satisfied clients in its long and glorious history of 24 years. Hotel has groomed up a lot and gained widespread fame in the 24 years of its service. The hotel now has 3 Suites, 3 Junior Suites, 65 Deluxe besides the regular 24 standard rooms. The hotel is famous for its services and the state of the art facilities. We welcome you to our hotel situated in the heart of Thamel and look forward to serving you in the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marshyangdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshyangdi Hotel Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing