We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Shanker(Kathmandu)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$61/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$27
US$24
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$62
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Yala Peak(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$13
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$45
US$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kathmandu Boutique Hotel(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$17
US$11
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$157
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Yak & Yeti(Kathmandu)
US$200
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (527)
Filter reviews
527 results
Traveller rating
437
73
12
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
437
73
12
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboudha stupasinging bowltibetan stylean oasisapproach roadminute walkwalking distancequiet gardenthe general managerpacked breakfastdeluxe roomchaotic citythalishort staythe hotel staffa wonderful staywonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 527 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2017

The hotel itself is first class. Warm welcome and very efficient. Comfortable rooms. Great staff. Super restaurant, with wide selection. Given the difficulties in Kathmandu this was a superb choice. Convenient for the airport. Just be aware that there is a short stretch of bone crunching road to negotiate, before arriving.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gastronaut_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jigme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and highly recommending us. As you can imagine, it is always important for us to have feedback from our guests.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the comfort of the room and received a warm welcome and found our staff to be very efficient.
I am glad that you had the opportunity to dine in our restaurant and had a wonderful experience.
Our priority is to always make our guest’s stay smooth and relaxing in a convivial ambiance, this is indeed the essence of our hotel.
Be assured that your kind words have been relayed to our staff and we are very much looking forward to greeting you again at Shambaling Boutique Hotel in near future.

Warmest regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon / Mrs.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2017

We have stayed at this wonderful hotel many times. It is peaceful and beautiful and near the Stupa. The staff is loving and totally available to meet our every need. They have a peaceful reading room with all sorts of books, and actually allowed us to take one of the books that we were in the middle of for a week until we came back. The food is delicious. I was not able to sign our bills on Saturday for religious reasons and they were totally respectful and accommodating.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dubar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jigme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Shambaling once again for your stay in Kathmandu. It was indeed our pleasure to have you with us. Your positive feedback is highly appreciated. As you can imagine, it is always important for us to have feedback from our guests.
I am please to know that you were able to complete the book. We have some nice collection of books which you may choose from on your next visit as well.
Our Executive Chef, and his team are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience at our Lungta restaurant.
It is such a pleasure to hear that our staffs were incredibly friendly and respectful. Our priority is to always make our guest’s stay smooth and relaxing in a convivial ambiance, this is indeed the essence of our hotel.
Be assured that your kind words have been relayed to our staff and we are very much looking forward to greeting you again at Shambaling Boutique Hotel in near future.

Warmest regards,
Jigme Phuntsok chodon / Mrs.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2017

After 2015 we returned to Shambaling in October 2017, this time for 10+ days. In a very hectic and noisy city, the hotel has been our retreat that calmed us down. Lots of key staff was still on board and service levels were again impeccable. We particularly appreciated that hotel management was very flexible in catering for our travel planning adjustments. Since we interrupted our Katmandu stay twice for trips to Jiri and Annapurna, it was helpful that we could shift resevation dates.

Room Tip: For longer stays, the Deluxe rooms facing the garden are a good pick.
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andreas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jigme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Shambaling Boutique Hotel and for having taken the time to share your feedback. It was our pleasure to have you back at Shambaling. I am delighted to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us once again and to learn that our services and standard were impeccable.
Our focus is always on making your stay comfortable and enjoy your holiday in Nepal. We are glad to be be able to assist you with the changes in your reservation. Your appreciation means a lot to us.
We are constantly working on delivering and maintaining our standard and services to the highest level possible and it gives us immense pleasure to know that we have been able to achieve it.

Rest assured that your kind words have been happily shared with our entire team.

We look forward to having you back in near future in our beautiful country and serving you at Shambaling.

Warmest regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon / Mrs.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 25, 2017

Exceptional, Tibetan style boutique hotel, lovely, charming, clean, quiet.
Staff are the best ever; helpful, cheerful, accommodating, caring and we felt like family.
we stayed 5 nights, adding an extra night because they were so wonderful. we were sad to leave. They upgraded us to a suite which I recommend.
Incredible location 5 minute walk to Boudha Stupa. Best location in town.
Beautiful garden courtyard and exquisite food, no other restaurant compared to their Lungta restaurant.
I would stay again and can't imagine staying anyplace else in Kathmandu.

Room Tip: I enjoyed our suite very much. A garden view is nice but not necessary. You can hear the monks chanting pleasantly in the morning.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mamalana2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jigme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Shambaling Boutique Hotel and for having taken the time to share your feedback. I am delighted to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and to learn that our services and standard were as per what you have read from the various reviews. We are constantly working on delivering and maintaining our standard and services to the highest level possible and it gives us immense pleasure to know that we have been able to achieve it.
I am pleased to read that you had a great experience dining with exquisite food in our peaceful garden courtyard.

Rest assured that your kind words have been happily shared with our entire team.

We look forward to having you back once again in our beautiful country and serving you at Shambaling.

Warmest regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon / Mrs.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2017 via mobile

I have been many times in Shambaling. It use to be one of the best option around Stupa. It is still good opinion, but the quality has gone down. Service is not as it used to be and food quality also I would rate average.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jouni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jigme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and choosing Shambaling for the second time, for your stay in Kathmandu. We were surprised to see that you felt the quality has gone down since your visit last year. Please accept our sincere apologies if we have made your stay less comfortable than on your first visit.

Having said that we recently upgraded all our linens in the rooms and added more varieties in our restaurant menu for which most of our revisit guests have appreciated. I am really sad that you did not feel the same. I do hope that on your future visit you will once again find Shambaling the best option in Boudhanath area.

Guest satisfaction being the topmost priority for us, I checked to see the reason why you felt the service was inferior. Please note that, unlike in many European countries, passport copy of all guest are mandatory prior to check in as per the law in Nepal and it is a normal practice to request for the identification.

However, we are pleased that you still have a good opinion.

At Shambaling most of our guest are regular guest who like to revisit us after a good experience. Therefore we are constantly working on maintaining and delivering our standard and services to the highest level possible.

Thank you once again for your feedback and my sincere apologies for any inconvenience or misunderstanding caused unintentionally.

Warmest regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon / Mrs.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews