We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveller rating
449
75
12
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
449
75
12
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boudha stupa an oasis tibetan style approach road walking distance minute walk quiet garden packed breakfast the general manager deluxe room chaotic city short stay the hotel staff a wonderful stay wonderful hotel the hustle and bustle rooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 541 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2017 via mobile

I have stayed in Shambaling a couple of times over the years. Each time I felt I’m staying in a home, rather than a hotel. Jigme and her team are wonderful! The staff are all courteous and attentive. The owners are always helpful and offer valuable advice, not commercialised advice as some other hotels would do. They pay attention to details.

The rooms are warm and cosy. The beds are firm enough. The warm shower, with constant running warm water, is a great welcome during winter.

There is a garden in the courtyard. The flowers are pretty. Perfect place for al-fresco dining.

Food is also good. They serve Tibetan Thukpa and momo. Even simple dish such as clear vegetable soup is tasty and warming for the stomach. No MSG.

Best of all, it’s only less than 10 minutes’ walk to the great Boudhanath Stupa, walking along the inner lane to the Stupa.

The road leading to Shambaling is now perfect, construction works for that road is now completed.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank sharonyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jigme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2017

Dear Guest,

It is such a pleasure to have you at Shambaling once again.
On behalf of the entire Shambaling team, I thank you very much for taking time to share your kind opinion of your stay with us. I am delighted to read that you found our hospitality very welcoming, enough so that it felt like your home in Kathmandu. This is exactly what we strive to accomplish.
We appreciate your detailed description of our room, restaurant, garden and our location being close to the Boudhanath Stupa.
Be assured that your warm review has been relayed to our staff who is always thrilled to hear thoughtful feedback from our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you at Shambaling again in near future!
Warmest regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon / Mrs.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2017

The hotel itself is first class. Warm welcome and very efficient. Comfortable rooms. Great staff. Super restaurant, with wide selection. Given the difficulties in Kathmandu this was a superb choice. Convenient for the airport. Just be aware that there is a short stretch of bone crunching road to negotiate, before arriving.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gastronaut_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jigme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and highly recommending us. As you can imagine, it is always important for us to have feedback from our guests.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the comfort of the room and received a warm welcome and found our staff to be very efficient.
I am glad that you had the opportunity to dine in our restaurant and had a wonderful experience.
Our priority is to always make our guest’s stay smooth and relaxing in a convivial ambiance, this is indeed the essence of our hotel.
Be assured that your kind words have been relayed to our staff and we are very much looking forward to greeting you again at Shambaling Boutique Hotel in near future.

Warmest regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon / Mrs.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2017

We have stayed at this wonderful hotel many times. It is peaceful and beautiful and near the Stupa. The staff is loving and totally available to meet our every need. They have a peaceful reading room with all sorts of books, and actually allowed us to take one of the books that we were in the middle of for a week until we came back. The food is delicious. I was not able to sign our bills on Saturday for religious reasons and they were totally respectful and accommodating.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dubar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jigme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Shambaling once again for your stay in Kathmandu. It was indeed our pleasure to have you with us. Your positive feedback is highly appreciated. As you can imagine, it is always important for us to have feedback from our guests.
I am please to know that you were able to complete the book. We have some nice collection of books which you may choose from on your next visit as well.
Our Executive Chef, and his team are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience at our Lungta restaurant.
It is such a pleasure to hear that our staffs were incredibly friendly and respectful. Our priority is to always make our guest’s stay smooth and relaxing in a convivial ambiance, this is indeed the essence of our hotel.
Be assured that your kind words have been relayed to our staff and we are very much looking forward to greeting you again at Shambaling Boutique Hotel in near future.

Warmest regards,
Jigme Phuntsok chodon / Mrs.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2017

After 2015 we returned to Shambaling in October 2017, this time for 10+ days. In a very hectic and noisy city, the hotel has been our retreat that calmed us down. Lots of key staff was still on board and service levels were again impeccable. We particularly appreciated that hotel management was very flexible in catering for our travel planning adjustments. Since we interrupted our Katmandu stay twice for trips to Jiri and Annapurna, it was helpful that we could shift resevation dates.

Room Tip: For longer stays, the Deluxe rooms facing the garden are a good pick.
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andreas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jigme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Shambaling Boutique Hotel and for having taken the time to share your feedback. It was our pleasure to have you back at Shambaling. I am delighted to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us once again and to learn that our services and standard were impeccable.
Our focus is always on making your stay comfortable and enjoy your holiday in Nepal. We are glad to be be able to assist you with the changes in your reservation. Your appreciation means a lot to us.
We are constantly working on delivering and maintaining our standard and services to the highest level possible and it gives us immense pleasure to know that we have been able to achieve it.

Rest assured that your kind words have been happily shared with our entire team.

We look forward to having you back in near future in our beautiful country and serving you at Shambaling.

Warmest regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon / Mrs.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 25, 2017

Exceptional, Tibetan style boutique hotel, lovely, charming, clean, quiet.
Staff are the best ever; helpful, cheerful, accommodating, caring and we felt like family.
we stayed 5 nights, adding an extra night because they were so wonderful. we were sad to leave. They upgraded us to a suite which I recommend.
Incredible location 5 minute walk to Boudha Stupa. Best location in town.
Beautiful garden courtyard and exquisite food, no other restaurant compared to their Lungta restaurant.
I would stay again and can't imagine staying anyplace else in Kathmandu.

Room Tip: I enjoyed our suite very much. A garden view is nice but not necessary. You can hear the monks chanting pleasantly in the morning.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mamalana2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jigme Phuntsok C, General Manager at Shambaling Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Shambaling Boutique Hotel and for having taken the time to share your feedback. I am delighted to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and to learn that our services and standard were as per what you have read from the various reviews. We are constantly working on delivering and maintaining our standard and services to the highest level possible and it gives us immense pleasure to know that we have been able to achieve it.
I am pleased to read that you had a great experience dining with exquisite food in our peaceful garden courtyard.

Rest assured that your kind words have been happily shared with our entire team.

We look forward to having you back once again in our beautiful country and serving you at Shambaling.

Warmest regards,
Jigme Phuntsok Chodon / Mrs.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews