We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
232
89
25
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
89
25
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mr tarun hot water basic facilities durbar square nice rooftop terrace nice guesthouse wi fi recommend this hotel place to stay pleasant stay walking distance thamel area travel agent clean rooms great hospitality location is great travel desk
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 350 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2017 via mobile

Madhuban is only around 10minutes north of Katmandu Durbar Square via one straight road. and very close to Thamel.

Me and my friend booked for a twin room and were upgraded to a double+single room. Rooftop has a well-maintained garden and offers great view. The rooms have spacious bathroom too.

Breakfast was great and the staff was attentive. Love the omelette and potatoes.

There's also public bathroom for shower even after we have checked out. Madhuban is very kind to lend us towels too which is superb!

One thing i noticed is that when we paid using USD, different exchange rate was used to calculate the price and the change we should get - i saw how the manager pressed the calculator - not big difference e.g 103 vs 102 but not a very nice thing to do secretly.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Wei Jian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laxman A, Owner at Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback and highly recommending us. It is such a pleasure to hear that our staffs were friendly and helpful. Looking forward to greeting you again at Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House.
Warmest regards,
Laxman Aryal Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2017

Hotel is at outer area of Thamel and for the price, it is a good stay. We were there as a big group and the hotel staff did what they could to manage our stay. For example, as a group, we didn't have breakfast at the same time as the plates came in one at a time. Admittedly, the night crew was a friendlier bunch than the day desk persons. They smiled more and addressed our questions better. Our room was spacey and had a balcony. There was a lot of natural light and running hot and cold water. It could be a homey kind of guest house if the service was consistently friendly. The hotel has gates to the compound, so that was good for security. It is also a quiet place for a good quiet sleep. I would rate it higher if service was consistently friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KapayapaanEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2017 via mobile

Kathmandu madhban Guest House is great place to stay for backpackers . Especially staff there is nice and really helpful. It's not far from Thamel center beds are comfy, good breakfast which was included on the room price. Laxman (Guest House owner) hepped us also to organize tour of chitwan and pokhara . I totally recommend this place !

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank anish_singh1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laxman A, Owner at Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback and highly recommending us. It is such a pleasure to hear that our staffs were friendly and helpful. Looking forward to greeting you again at Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House.
Warmest regards,
Laxman Aryal Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2017 via mobile

‌We stayed at the Kathmandu Madhuban Guest House for 5 nights before starting our the Annapurna circuit treks and after the flight back to home. Our room was big clean and Comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and the Internet connection works good.
The guest house is in a good location as well as it is on the outskirts of Thamel backpackers hub, only a short walk from all the main shops and restaurants.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Takana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2017

For a solo traveler its good money value, in the city which makes it easy to move around, nice terrace I had a large private Comfortable room. Good simple breakfast , Staff were helpful organizing tour of Kathmandu city and Airport transport when I had to leave for an early flight.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taruka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews