We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay”
Review of Hotel Blue Horizon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Blue Horizon
Ranked #84 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I believe it depends on the category of room booked. I booked the lowest, being a very budget traveller. In the 2 nights I stayed, I had to change the room 3 times because the on the first time I was given a triple room which was sold next day. the room I was moved to had a broken handle on the main door.

The main plus point is the garden outside and the location of the hotel which is just off the main and bust street leading up to Thamel so it is quieter. Breakfast was good especially the pancakes. They also picked me from the airport free of charge. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoizRashid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    138
    74
    27
    27
See reviews for
66
93
115
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KOLKATA,INDIA
Level Contributor
182 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I fixed this hotel seeing reviews in Tripadvisor and I can say that I was not disappointed.The hotel was booked over phone and neither they asked for my credit card details nor for advance deposit.Flight from Janakpur to Kathmandu was before schedule and when we landed,I phoned them.They immediately arranged a taxi from the airport as it would have taken considerable time to send their vehicle from the hotel.The room was quite large,bathroom was good and service along with vegetarian food was also very good.Their senior man Mr. Devendra was very friendly and helpful.The vehicle that we took from them was of the hotel and was reasonably priced.Absolutely nothing against them.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the annexe.Rooms are large and very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKOJHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Blue Horizon was a wonderful surprise. Although it was so conveniently located next to Thamel, it felt as if it was completely secluded away from the busyness of the city. The rooms were clean with plush towels (a personal favorite) and a great mattress (another key feature). The momos were AMAZING. Just being in the garden was a peaceful way to spend the afternoon. The staff was super helpful with any information on what to do while in Kathmandu. Ask for Tika for any info on day trips and trekking. He's the best!

Room Tip: G1 and G2 are perfect rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SohmerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We all love this hotel and its services. The reason is their location and its people. They are nice people with helpful attitude and professional manner. The food was great. Do not forget to have Momo. It took us some time to prepare but it was yummy. Great place to hang around. Night life is very nearby. We had our tour program through the Adventure Mountain Explore official tour desk of the hotel that was wonderful. We got lovely driver and guide as well as good accommodation in Pokhara and Chitwan. We should highly recommend to our friends to go to Nepal and use services of this hotel

Thanks & Regards.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subash R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

hotel is very nice, near to thamel & darbar but no noice & silent, service is very good. staff is very cooprative . i am thankful to Mr. devendra & Mr. Ram for taking all care & help to me.
room of the new building as nice & specious.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjay1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The hotel is located in the thamel district which is actually in the center of everything in Kathmandu. Our room was a bit on the dingy side and was probably updated 20 years or so ago, but it was clean and about what we expected. The outdoor eating area was our favorite place at the hotel. We ate breakfast there every morning without complaint. The staff was really the highlight of the hotel. Ready and willing to make arrangements for private day trips to neighboring villages, locating various sites and assisting with the currency exchange. The wi-fi in our room was good if I held my iPod against the wall above the mirror in the bathroom. Other than that it was the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R Ramey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crete, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

It is in thamel, close to everything somebody will need.
Very good service from friendly and caring personel.
You can meet there mr Ram, a travel manager that can help
you and guide you in what to do in Nepal, he is the best.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eliastsi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 km away
Adventure Home
Adventure Home
#99 of 198 in Kathmandu
30 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#69 of 198 in Kathmandu
173 reviews
0.3 km away
Kathmandu Resort Hotel
Kathmandu Resort Hotel
#112 of 198 in Kathmandu
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Discovery Inn
Hotel Discovery Inn
#114 of 198 in Kathmandu
160 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#19 of 198 in Kathmandu
423 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Nepalaya
Hotel Nepalaya
#44 of 198 in Kathmandu
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Horizon

Property: Hotel Blue Horizon
Address: Thamel | Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 198 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue Horizon 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the heart of the popular Thamel area, but secluded enough to escape the noise, the Blue Horizon Hotel is the perfect place to unwind and take a break from the maddening crowds. The Blue Horizon is conveniently located near Thamel's famed shopping center, two major banks, an international library, a taxi stand, and the tourist bus depot -- the starting point for many Nepal adventures. Our rooftop garden and dining area offer enchanting views of the Mountains while blooming flowers surround you with their beauty. Need some relaxation? Come to the Blue Horizon's rooftop and enjoy a panoramic view of Kathmandu and mountain scenery. Our rooftop garden has been thoughtfully designed for your comfort and pleasure, whether you are dining or just relaxing. From here you can enjoy unobstructed views of monasteries in the valley and the surrounding hills, as well as the majestic Himalayas to the north while you wine and dine in natural splendor. Our friendly staff is here to assist you in arranging all of your holiday adventures. Just ask! Hotel Blue Horizon is located very close to the main Thamel area but enough to escape the noise of night life, bars and discos. It is located in peaceful residential area with Buddhist community around. Everything is very nearby such as all major Banks, ATM machine, popular restaurants and trekking equipment stores. Hotel Blue Horizon is located very nearby Green line Tourist bus station and Standard tourist bus stand which is only 4 to 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The roof of the hotel has very nice views of surroundings and some snow peaked mountains on the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Blue Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing