We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best Value for the Money”
Review of Green Tara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Green Tara Hotel
Ranked #54 of 105 Hotels in Pokhara
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“best Value for the Money”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We have made a break during our backpacking India/Nepal in Pokhara and stayed in Green Tara,
Great place with great Annapurna View from the room/terrace.
Friendly stuff and place we want to get back in future. no swimming pool/fitnes centre available.
No electricity during the days but this is Nepal standard.
Hot shower available 24hrs.
no internnet at the time of our stay - they reported temporarily service issue - we got discount on that.

Room Tip: Roof top room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Filip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    41
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
16
35
34
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed here for about a week in December 2011 - and had a great time - the owners are absolutely lovely and could not have done more for us. The best time for showers is in the afternoon and they are so powerful - lovely after trekking the Manaslu circuit and a week in Besisahr visiting friends! I would definitely recommend this hotel. The location is great it only takes 5 mins to walk to the lakeside and from there you can enjoy all the great cafes and places to eat!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent four nights at the green tara and were somewhat dissapointed by the relatively high rating it obtained from Tripadvisor. The hotel is located in a good location, which means close to Lakeside. Yet, during most of the day there was no electricity in the hotel. The rooms were ok, nothing special, they were not cleaned everyday and the breakfast (we took it only once) was of low quality. The staff was very polite but if someone looks for a hotel where he/she wishes to spend more than just the night, green tara is not recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I have stayed at Green Tara Hotel several times over the last five years. Last time I stayed at the hotel was March 2011. Major reasons for my repeated stay at the hotel include 1) its superior location in the middle of Pokhara, 2) roomy and spotlessly clean rooms, 3) very friendly staff, especially manager Giri, who is always willing to help out his guests. Also, they have a rather large solar system in place, hence a better chance of taking a hot shower during the day. I never had a problem with a cold shower at this hotel.

I highly recommend this hotel to my colleague travelers in Pokhara.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view where you can see Mt. Machapuchure and Annapurna Range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaewon_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limbo
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

If Nepali women were emancipated enough to provide a Sybil then the cast would be in place for a remake of the famous 70's comedy show. It was a fascinating insight into the Nepali hospitality industry. The other reason to stay here is from some of the top floor rooms on the left of the building you can watch the sun rise over the Annapurna range of the Himalayas from the comfort of your bed!

It also has wide cool plant lined corridors which add a great feel and must bring some coolness in the summer season. However they also provide a reason not to stay here out of season. Mainly for European tourists who haven't developed the South Asian virtue of tolerance when woken at all hours while people talk loudly on their mobiles which echo down the same corridors, slam doors, etc.etc..

I usually sleep on the floor but made an exception for the mattresses. However the view, the quirky kindness of the staff, the all but constant hot water, daily cleanliness (the fixtures and fittings are a little worn) at such a reasonable rates (do negotiate) honestly outweigh the noise at weekends. As you're also on a side road towards Dam-side you don't step out into a sea of toursit touts.

The staff are great and I'd love to have stayed as a fly on the wall. Any reasonable request or problem is sorted out swiftly. I can't say for sure if I'd stay again, I'd have a look round first. I'd advise the same If you can't get a mountain view room, but if you can - you could do a lot worse. You might even find yourself whistling a famous theme tune as you leave...

Room Tip: Top floor left hand side for the HImalayas but local noise at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bardo_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We booked two rooms here on short notice after freezing at another hotel. We stayed with our two kids, 10 and 13. Girl was amazing and very helpful. Rooms are large and well equipped with endless hot water and our rooms were heated with tv. The view of the mountains was incredible from the roof. Pillows were very soft, but beds were rock hard. The southern facing rooms were much brighter with sun and are the pick. Quite location, but still close to the action. Food was good and exchange rates were as good as from any vendor n the street. Giri also arrange a almost new Corolla to transport us to Chitwan for 6000 ruppes. Took four hours in luxury! Great family location and family size rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed there for couple of weeks and really had niece time, rooms were clean but beds could have been better !!!
Liked the location but Internet was slow,hopefully these would be sorted out if we happen to stay there when we go next time..
Overall we had niece time

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pravi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Tara
Hotel Tara
#40 of 105 in Pokhara
166 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel View Point
Hotel View Point
#33 of 105 in Pokhara
284 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Bishram
Hotel Bishram
#62 of 105 in Pokhara
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Trekkers Inn
Hotel Trekkers Inn
#22 of 105 in Pokhara
528 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Peace Plaza
Hotel Peace Plaza
#43 of 105 in Pokhara
152 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Royal Image
Hotel Royal Image
#92 of 105 in Pokhara
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Tara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Tara Hotel

Property: Green Tara Hotel
Address: Lakeside 6 Gaurighat Ratanamandir | Lakeside, Pokhara 33411, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 105 Hotels in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Green Tara Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Tara Hotel is situated in natural environment with green trees around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Green Tara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing