We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, Reasonable But No Frills”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Trek-O-Tel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trek-O-Tel
Ranked #68 of 101 Hotels in Pokhara
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Basic, Reasonable But No Frills”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Reasonable rooms - basic but OK. The service and food was acceptable until the tours arrived, at which point the quality of breakfasts and service deteriorated markedly. The service at the restaurant was usually quite good but getting wi fi arranged at the reception seemed to be incredibly time consuming.

Reasonable location - 10 minutes from the centre - convenient but reasonably quiet - not a bad choice but not great choice.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    64
    29
    12
    7
See reviews for
24
53
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

After a few rough nights in "The Taj" - another Pokhara Hotel (stay away!!) - we converted to the Trek-O-Tel. Great move. While it's quite westernised and perhaps lacks the unique charm of other independent Nepalese guest houses, it is clean and functional - and exactly what you need if you've been on the road for a while, or have just returned from a hard trek in Annapurna. It is right opposite the lake as well, which is lovely to wake up to, and close by to all the shops. Book!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah_Sarah_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AceHotelsNepal, Owner at Trek-O-Tel, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
We are delighted to know that you had a positive experience at out hotel. The hotel is a cute, comfortable place and we are glad you enjoyed it.

Hope to serve you in the future again.

Sincerely,

Pam Sakya
On behalf of the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Trek-O-Tel is a perfect example of a lovely property gone to the dumps due to a bunch of lethargic staffers insensitive to the call of their profession.

We had travelled by road from Kathmandu and had checked into the hotel around 2 in the afternoon. It seemed a lovely place to stay at, a quiet cottage like building, all covered in shades of flowering bushes and over-hanging creepers, and a small but well-maintained garden in the front. "Nice and quiet" was our first reaction. Just what we wanted to be close yet away from the hustle of the lakefront-road.

The family voted to sample some of the seemingly endless pubs and eateries along the lakeside, so we left at about 5 and returned as planned at about 9pm. To our utmost surprise the beds had not been turned for the night. We called up the house-keeping and after some 15 minutes a thoroughly disgruntled attendant showed up and gave what at best could be called a questioning stare. Instead of removing the bed-covers and turning the beds, he fired his first salvo at us : "When You Check-In ? Today ?" Before I could explain what I had disturbed him for, the second salvo came : "I make this bed in the morning. You come today. Today no problem. You sleep. I come in the morning to clean room. You remove bed-cover and put in the almirah. Ok. Good Night." And he was gone. The gall of the man left us too stunned to do anything but what he had suggested.

I shrugged off the incident in the morning, well advised by my wife to forget it and not to spoil the mood of the holiday.

Breakfast in the restaurant was a tame affair. We were handed grubby little cards titled "FIXED MENU BREAKFAST FOR HOUSE GUESTS" which gave us a choice of either a continental (Juice, toast, muffin, two eggs and tea) or a nepalese (juice, puri bhaji and tea) breakfast. The title and the content of the card clearly indicated that "house-guests" were considered to be second class citizens and should really be thankful for what was being doled out to them by the hotel. Having little choice in the matter and still trying hard to keep our cool, we ordered one portion of the continental and two of the nepalese course. We sat and waited for nearly twenty minutes, trying hard to keep our cool and ignore the fact that the table had not been laid, the cutlery dumped unceremoniously in the centre, no napkins and no drinking water.

The food arrived after some 20 minutes, the two pieces of toast were cold and the butter melted. The nepalese fare was in no better condition. We were stuck with the situation so braved it. There was no attendant waiting so one of us had to go up to the service counter to please provide some more bread at the table. The waiter showed up in a few minutes to inform us that more bread could not be served because he had gone and closed the kitchen for the day. We cordially pointed out that it ws only 9.40 and the displayed timing for breakfast was from 7am-10am. The man went away only to return with a fresh reason : "this was a fixed-menu breakfast which consisted of two pieces of bread only. More bread, juice or tea could not be provided. House rules" he proudly said.

Really, the attitude of the staff was getting to be a bit too much. I asked to see the restaurant manager. "I am the restaurant manager" was the pat reply. So it was the restaurant manager doubling up as a waiter or the waiter masqrading as the manager. The waiter stood his ground, staring belligerantly at us, refusing even to bring in paper napkins so that we could leave the table.

The situation was getting near impossible and by now I had really exhausted my reserve of patience. So, without even wiping my hands, we went up to the hotel reception to seek an explanation for this ridiculous situation. True to the system, here once again the reception clerk was doubling up as the manager. The whole scenario was straight out of a Peter Sellers film.

Krishna, the clerk-manager pulled out a copy of the same menu and insisted that the waiter-manager was right in refusing to serve us as that was the hotel rule. So much so that he was more than willing to give us the same in writing with his signatures. He was right, his colleagues were right, it was the guest who was wrong to expect a turned bed at night, a properly laid table, a tissue or a glass of water, not to mention a decent breakfast. Asking (or even expecting) the staff to work was an unpardonable sin. No apologies were offered and no attempt made to ease out the situation.

Having already paid for this mess through our agent there was little we could do to correct the situation and these people knew it. The twinkle in their eyes said it all. We had to bide our time, skip the meals we had paid for because we could not go through the same torture again, and leave the hotel ahead of schedule.

As I was in Kathmandu for several days after returning from Pokhra, I took some time out to research this hotel. Trek-O-Tel belongs to the ACE Hotels & Resorts Group, which also owns Club Himalaya and Tea House Inn in Nagarkot, and Marcopolo Business Hotel and Hotel Ambassador in Kathmandu. For three days I tried to contact Mrs.Bindu Sakya, the Managing Director of this chain or one of her senior officers to find out if she/they were actually aware of the ground reality or if that was the way they intended to function in the first place. But I was stone-walled by the telephone operator doubling up as the reservation manager, and the customer care manager as the personal assistant to Mrs.Sakya. Same names given, same voices, but different designations each tiome I called. Looked like the boys back at Pokhra were only following their corporate culture. However, Mrs Sakya never returned my calls, nor did any of her subordinates no matter what the reality of their designations be.

God help anybody who chooses to stay at any of their so-called hotels or resorts.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Skanda-Delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AceHotelsNepal, Owner at Trek-O-Tel, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
I am Bindu Sakya's daughter ( Managing Director) daughter and I am writing on behalf of her and the entire team at Trek-O-Tel. We are deeply sorry for your bad experience at the hotel. When you tried to contact my mother, she was out of town. She has asked me to personally convey her regrets.

Having said that, we appreciate your thorough report. Please believe us when we say we have taken proper disciplinary action against all parties mentioned by you.

We are very thankful for your feedback and assure you and everybody who'd like to stay with us that this DOES NOT happen in any of our properties ever and never will again. A lapse in judgement of one staff does not represent the attitude of the entire organization.

Thank you once again and our sincere apologies.

Sincerely,

Pam Sakya
On behalf of the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Very clean and nicely decorated rooms. Breakfast that was included was great. Staff is friendly and helpful. A nice place to rest after your long trek!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kokonuts1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

Stayed for 2 nights. Had a terrible experience. The staff are incompetent. All lack basic English skills. I asked for a haircut and the lady simply refused to serve me. I asked for Internet and the one man who had the key to a drawer with the Internet cards had left,and I waited 45 min in The lobby before they told me their was no solution. Lastly on my last meal I was served an inedible fillet of fish, cut incorrectly with around 30-40 bones in small 7x7cm grilled fish. The other nights the food was also mediocre to bad. The manager was curt and inhospitable. That said it was cheap, the rooms were fairly clean and there was one waiter who was really nice to us. Does not take american express. Does not have tv without static. My room could be seen into by a small slum located directly outside the window. To summarize: find a different hotel in pokhara.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here, especially not 208.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SRC025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AceHotelsNepal, Owner at Trek-O-Tel, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We hope to continuously improve ourselves with such feedback. While we believe that most of our staff speak basic English, it is sometimes intimidating for some to communicate with confidence.

We will make sure that adequate training is given to boos their confidence level.

Once again thank you for taking the time to help us improve.

Best,

Pam Sakya
On behalf of the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

Modern, well designed, clean and quiet, just outside the bustle of the main Lakeside strip. Good rooms (although the ones at the front have much the best position) with a well kept garden where we had breakfast every day. Staff were very efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Northerner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

Ok hotel, fairly clean and nice location. Basic breakfast is ok, pleasant staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ****
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokhara hotels
0.1 km away
Lake View Resort
Lake View Resort
#38 of 101 in Pokhara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Splendid View & Spa
Hotel Splendid View & Spa
#8 of 101 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Raniban Arcade
Hotel Raniban Arcade
#31 of 101 in Pokhara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Dahlia Boutique Hotel Pokhara
0.5 km away
Hotel Snowland
Hotel Snowland
#41 of 101 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#10 of 101 in Pokhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trek-O-Tel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trek-O-Tel

Property: Trek-O-Tel
Address: Gauri Ghat, Lakeside, P.O. Box 2769, Pokhara 977-61, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 101 Hotels in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Trek-O-Tel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Phewa Lake with the Annapurna range of the back droop. Trek-O-Tel is so near, yet away from the hustle & bustle of the lake side bazaar. This gives the hotel an advantage in its location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trek-O-Tel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trek-o-Tel Hotel Pokhara
Trek o Tel Pokhara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing