We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy rooms and grand bathrooms”
Review of Regent Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Regent Taipei
Ranked #20 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
shanghai
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Classy rooms and grand bathrooms”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The Regent Taipei is a great hotel in Taipei's Zhongshan District, a perfect choice for all types of travelers: business, leisure, couples or family.
While the hotel has not remodeled to account for tech upgrades (they still offer LAN or wireless internet, but you have to pay for each mobile device you connect), the rooms are still spacious and classic, and guests will be treated to great service, and an excellent stay.
The hotel is very close to major tourist destinations like the National Palace Museum and the former US Embassy and some of the best shopping in the city is located in the basement of the hotel. Additionally, guests wanting to travel a bit around Taipei can hop on the subway, which is only a three minute walk from the Regent.
The hotel also has great health and recreational facilities, but the only problem is that you have to walk through the rather busy lobby in order to switch elevators.
Back to the guest rooms though, the hotel provides a nice desk / work station for business travelers and a comfortable chair / ottoman for relaxing. Also the bathrooms are huge, especially the extra-deep bathtubs, that are perfect for unwinding after a busy and hectic day.
Business travelers can also access the Tai Pan program, where the hotel provides personal butlers and a whole bunch of other services for executive types.
Anyway, I plan on returning to Taipei at some point, and the Regent Taipei will be my choice again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dir_Of_Rms-CLiao, Director of Rooms at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Guest:

Warmest greetings from Regent Taipei! Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Taipei. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your valuable comments at the same time. Your feedback will be shared and reviewed with the team.

Sincerely we look forward to serving you again soon. Should you require any other assistance, please do let me know. I can be reached at: charlotteliao@grandformosa.com.tw

Warm regards,

Charlotte Liao
Director of Rooms
Regent Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,246
    490
    99
    25
    24
See reviews for
573
348
117
488
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greece
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Do not let the 4* rating fool you, the Regent Taipei is one of the most classy stays in Taipei. Only one or two other can match the style and class this hotel provides, and none of them are in the very heart of the city.
The Regent is well positioned, in the middle of a high end shopping street. Many city attractions are within walking distance. The rooms are spacey and clean, the beds comfortable, breakfast is great and service excellent. There is a shopping mall in the hotel itself!
Only few problems spotted:
- WiFi does not come for free. Well, it is a business hotel, network connection is essential! So if you plan to stay there, please count the additional daily connection fee to your expenses.
- Coffee: somehow, the quality of coffee served during breakfast but also in the room was really poor.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler3149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dir_Of_Rms-CLiao, Director of Rooms at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Guest:

Warmest greetings from Regent Taipei! Thank you for taking your time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate the feedbacks and they will be reviewed and shared with the team.

As a 5-star luxury hotel in the heart of Taipei, we continuously strive to improve upon our existing facilities and services. We are always upgrading our accommodations to create the perfect travel experience, so we hope that on your next stay with us, you may see the improvements we have made.

Sincerely we look forward to serving you again soon. Should you require any other assistance, please do let me know. I can be reached at: charlotteliao@grandformosa.com.tw

Warm regards,

Charlotte Liao
Director of Rooms
Regent Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

A very good stay and would definitely recommend to both business and tourist travellers alike. Will be back!

Bedroom: an Executive (i.e.Tai Pan) Room was worth the extra cost for access to the Lounge and free wi-fi. The bedroom was a little dated but the ample space (especially for Asia), good facilities and attentive housekeeping more than made up for it. We found the bed and pillows comfortable over the 3 nights. The only negatives for us was poor lighting, especially in the hallway area, and the use of actual room keys which is not very good for security (the room number is printed on them).

Executive Lounge: service was excellent. Unusually food and beverages always seemed available. It was also quiet and thus conducive to working/reading.

Service: very good throughout the hotel. Especially pleasing as they were in-between "General Managers". Well done to all the staff!

Food: of a consistently high standard. We particularly enjoyed the Teppan restaurant "Robin's" (although we did have difficulty getting in). The breakfast selection in the main restaurant was extensive, my only gripe being the loud music, but they did turn it down when I complained. Why do hotels do this? Many people are trying to do business, or gently wake up! In the Tai Pan Lounge the selection was better than in most other ones, however the chefs did struggle to understand egg orders requested in English.

Location: accessibility to tourist destinations was easy as taxis were frequent, cheap and metered. The hotel is located inside an upmarket shopping arcade and surrounded by a "safe" and interesting shopping/eating area.

Spa: didn't use as the massages were more expensive than the surroundings commanded (could be obtained at a 1/4 of the price a 10-min walk away)

Pool: on the rooftop. Didn't use as the weather was drizzly and the pool was closed a whole day for maintenance

Hotel limo service: used on the return journey. Excellent, though twice the normal taxi price

Ano: our only other complaint was being woken by fireworks on a Monday evening (Lunar New Year celebrations were over) though there's not much the hotel can do about that!

Room Tip: Book an Executive "Tai Pan" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank By_She_Travel_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dir_Of_Rms-CLiao, Director of Rooms at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Guest:

Warmest greetings from Regent Taipei! Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Taipei. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your valuable comments at the same time. Your feedback will be shared and reviewed with the team.

Sincerely we look forward to serving you again soon. Extra lighting in the room can also be arranged for your future visits. Should you require any other assistance, please do let me know. I can be reached at: charlotteliao@grandformosa.com.tw

Warm regards,

Charlotte Liao
Director of Rooms
Regent Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I travelled with my wife to Taipei. Me on business, her to sightsee.
The Hotel is excellent for both business and leisure. The check in, the room, the Exec Lounge, the choice of restaurants, the location, all excellent.
I really appreciate good customer service and this hotel has it in heaps, well done.

Room Tip: The 19th floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dir_Of_Rms-CLiao, Director of Rooms at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Natt:

Warmest greetings from Regent Taipei! Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Taipei. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback will be shared with the team.

As a 5-star luxury hotel in the heart of Taipei, we pride ourselves in our superior service and continuously strive to improve upon our existing facilities and services. We are always upgrading our accommodations to create the perfect travel experience, so we hope that on your next stay with us, you may see the improvements we have made.

Again, thank you for your praise, and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Warm regards,

Charlotte Liao
Director of Rooms
Regent Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Convenient location. Spacious rooms. Variety of food choices nearby. Not up to the Four Seasons standard though. Hotel security is a concern due to the high foot traffic in and out of the building.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santonle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dir_Of_Rms-CLiao, Director Of Rooms at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Dear Guest:

Warmest greetings from Regent Taipei! Thank you for taking your time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and they will be reviewed and shared with the team.

As a 5-star luxury hotel in the heart of Taipei, we pride ourselves in our superior service and continuously strive to improve upon our existing facilities and services. We are always upgrading our accommodations to create the perfect travel experience, so we hope that on your next stay with us, you may see the improvements we have made. Please also rest assured, we take every possible precautionary action to ensure the safety and security of all of our guests.


Sincerely we look forward to serving you again soon. Should you require any other assistance, please do let me know. I can be reached at: charlotteliao@grandformosa.com.tw

Warm regards,

Charlotte Liao
Director of Rooms
Regent Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Had arranged to spend the New Year celebrations in Taipei and picked the Regent Hotel based on the aggregate reviews and room availiability. Generally, the comments here are fairly accurate to say that the service standard is high, although the rooms (large) and the hotel itself are dated and beginning to show their age.

Location wise, it is near the Zhong Shan MRT Station, so moving around the city is straight-forward, although it is slightly off the Zhong Xiao arterial road where the trendier shopping outlets are found. What you do get within the Regent Galleria is higher-end shopping, which is more likely to appeal to its target audience - the well-heeled locals and Japanese clientele.

Breakfast at the Brasserie is excellent and provides a very good spread of Asian and Western food items. Gym/spa facilities are fine for a hotel, although the basement location requires a separate access via another lift. You are also likely to be sharing the machines and sauna with the public - albeit the same well-heeled local business men.

I do have a major issue with the hotel though - the beds/mattresses are way too soft and provide poor lumbar support. I can understand that there are travellers who like them that way, but both my partner and I had stiff backs after a few nights' stay there. They should take a cue from some of their competitors who actually market the quality of the beds/sleep as a plus point!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank positivity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dir_Of_Rms-CLiao, Director of Rooms at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Positivity:

Thank you for taking your time to post the kind comments about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and it will be shared with the team.

I am concerned to read your feedback relating to the bed mattress in your room which we do have other mattress options, and we will be more than happy to replace it for your future visits.

As an important guest, we hope to provide you with all the necessities you would require so that Regent Taipei becomes your home away from home.

Sincerely look forward to your return visit soon and should you require any assistance, please do let me know and I will be at your disposal. I can be contacted at: charlotteliao@grandformosa.com.tw

Warm regards,

Charlotte Liao
Director of Rooms
Regent Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I have read many of the reviews here before I booked this hotel for the rest of my friends. For the price we are paying, this hotel is value for money.

The non-issues about this hotel are:-
1. It has a large and grand lobby whereas many hotels in Taipei don't have;
2. The buffet breakfast selection was quite extensive while the quality of the food was pretty good by Taipei standards. I have stayed in San Want Hotel and the buffet breakfast restaurant cannot match here;
3. The housekeeping service for Deluxe rooms and above are very speedy and polite;
4. The deluxe rooms were equally spacious as expected of a 5 star hotel;
5. There are a handful of branded shops like Gucci, Louis Vuitton, Hermes, Prada, Chanel, Bvlgari nearby and heaps of up class luxury retailers like Graff, Mikimoto. This can be handy for shoppers who want to purchase and put their purchases in the hotel room before going somewhere else;
6. There are plenty of taxis coming to the hotel so there were no shortage of taxis to go anywhere;
7. There are rarely any rowdy tourists from mainlanders here;
8. The hotel is just next to the Zhongshan North Road, in the vicinity of night entertainment.

The issues for this hotel are:-

1. The internet wifi for non Taipan rooms are NT780 per day. There is free wifi in only the galleria section of the lobby;
2. The renovations are a bit dated and the beds have a separate memory foam to keep up with the trend;
3. The Hotel is located on a hill and tour buses are not allowed to go to the lobby entrance. This can be an issue if it was raining and indeed it rained;
4. The rooms are only accessible by a key and there are only 2 keys available for each room. Don't loose your key or you'll have to pay for it.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are more value for money. Most of the complaints are in respect to the superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kingdavid88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dir_Of_Rms-CLiao, Director Of Rooms at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Dear Guest:

Warmest greetings from Regent Taipei! Thank you for taking your time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate the feedbacks and they will be reviewed and discussed with the team.

As a 5-star luxury hotel in the heart of Taipei, we continuously strive to improve upon our existing facilities and services. We are always upgrading our accommodations to create the perfect travel experience, so we hope that on your next stay with us, you may see the improvements we have made.

Sincerely we look forward to serving you again soon. Should you require any other assistance, please do let me know. I can be reached at: charlotteliao@grandformosa.com.tw

Warm regards,

Charlotte Liao
Director of Rooms
Regent Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W Taipei
#10 of 571 in Taipei
2,330 reviews
Palais de Chine Hotel
#44 of 571 in Taipei
1,504 reviews
Xinyi District
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Grand Hyatt Taipei
#31 of 571 in Taipei
2,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Taipei

Property: Regent Taipei
Address: No.3, Lane 39, Section 2, Chungshan North Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan (Formerly The Regent Taipei)
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#7 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#7 Business Hotel in Taipei
#13 Family Hotel in Taipei
#21 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 538
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regent Taipei has 538 of the most spacious and attractively designed rooms in Taiwan. Standard amenities include the pressure relieving Wellspring Bed, a pillow menu, feather duvet, large marbled bathroom with deep soaking tub and separate shower, 24-hour room service, complimentary wireless Internet, satellite TV, stereo, in-room safe, and mini-bar. On the top floors of Regent Taipei is TAI PAN Residence & Club, an all-butler hotel that coalesces the traditional Oriental milieu with contemporary comfort, where one can Experience Modern Chinese Lifestyle. Also found in the hotel are the Wellspring Spa urban resort, the state-of-the-art Health Club & Sauna, complete meeting and banqueting facilities, a rooftop pool, the Regent Galleria that provides a world-class shopping venue to cater to the needs of global luxury travelers, and eight world-class restaurants that offer traditional and innovative cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Regent Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Taipei Hotel Taipei
Taipei Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing